neubie 2 Report post Posted January 7, 2011 Apparently Alan din forget moi n sent moi a CNY greeting card… was expecting a Noel hamper instead… :D Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LPG 0 Report post Posted January 13, 2011 neubie, whats the sqm of your renovated 3rm ? it looks so much bigger than mine some how (mine's 60sqm) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted January 13, 2011 neubie, whats the sqm of your renovated 3rm ? it looks so much bigger than mine some how (mine's 60sqm) 67sqm with utility room Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LPG 0 Report post Posted January 14, 2011 67sqm with utility room ahhh.... 67sqm. but your living room and kitchen looks so much bigger anyway, ran thru your thread and i must say it looks AWESOME. i'll give alan a call next week Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted January 14, 2011 ahhh.... 67sqm. but your living room and kitchen looks so much bigger anyway, ran thru your thread and i must say it looks AWESOME. i'll give alan a call next week Thanks for the compliment. The reason why it looks bigger is the use of light and homogeneous colors n using glass as a partition between kitchen n living room. Using darker colors n multiple color scheme will make the flat look claustrophobic n cramped. Plan and design ur layout well n I think u can attain similar outcome. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porkypig 0 Report post Posted January 16, 2011 Just got my hands on a self-leveling laser meter, takes the hardwork and guesswork out of mounting stuffs like picture frames, clocks, racks, shelves, etc.... all will be perfectly mounted.... hehehe Comes supplied with tripod stand oso... So you bought all your stuffs from Excel hardware?? Good job !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted January 16, 2011 So you bought all your stuffs from Excel hardware?? Good job !! nope bro, din patronize Excel hardware at all.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porkypig 0 Report post Posted January 16, 2011 Hey.. Which part of TPY you are staying at? Lor 8?? Me staying at TPY Central... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted January 17, 2011 Hey.. Which part of TPY you are staying at? Lor 8?? Me staying at TPY Central... Northeast of central, where there's the 3 famous noodle stalls, best kopi, economical curry rice, famous cuppage beef noodles, two best western stalls, melben crab, tzechar…… Haaaa Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porkypig 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2011 Northeast of central, where there's the 3 famous noodle stalls, best kopi, economical curry rice, famous cuppage beef noodles, two best western stalls, melben crab, tzechar…… Haaaa best kopi?? Where...where... which KPT? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
erickz 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2011 67sqm with utility room wow.. mine also 67sqm leh (also in TPY hehe) but looks so small and also ceiling very low - only abt 243cm been living in TPY since 2000, just joined the forum few days ago after i stumbled upon this place when searching for some deco tips i tink.. now after seeing so many nice nice home deco, me oso thinking of doing some minor reno for the house but with only limited budget haiz.. will see what i can do.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
erickz 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2011 Ownself supply cat5e. RJ45 wall plates and panels all provided by my electrician…labour all bundled together within 1.9k package. hi neubie, sorry to ask some ques.. i'm thinking of doing the cat5e cabling myself.. is it too difficult? i already have the scv wired to my bedroom in a trunking from the living room. and the scv point is just besides the OpenNet point in the living rm, so i'm thinking of just installing the 2 end points (1 in living rm, 1 in the bedrm) besides the scv points and then use the same scv trunking to lay the cat5e cables. is that okay? will it cause any signal interference? then, i oso have mio tv. so since i am doing the cat5e, i'm oso thinking of using the same trunking to lay a telephone line inside all the way to the bedrm so if in future i need mio tv in bedrm, it will be easier.. meaning a cat5e + scv cable + telephone line in 1 trunking, is that alright? thks.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted January 18, 2011 wow.. mine also 67sqm leh (also in TPY hehe) but looks so small and also ceiling very low - only abt 243cm been living in TPY since 2000, just joined the forum few days ago after i stumbled upon this place when searching for some deco tips i tink.. now after seeing so many nice nice home deco, me oso thinking of doing some minor reno for the house but with only limited budget haiz.. will see what i can do.. it's normal that flats built during that time are low-height ones but room area per se is unmatched by flats built in recent years.... budget is perpetually an issue for reno, so gotta decide what is needed, filter out superfluous stuff from the basic essentials... hi neubie, sorry to ask some ques.. i'm thinking of doing the cat5e cabling myself.. is it too difficult? i already have the scv wired to my bedroom in a trunking from the living room. and the scv point is just besides the OpenNet point in the living rm, so i'm thinking of just installing the 2 end points (1 in living rm, 1 in the bedrm) besides the scv points and then use the same scv trunking to lay the cat5e cables. is that okay? will it cause any signal interference? then, i oso have mio tv. so since i am doing the cat5e, i'm oso thinking of using the same trunking to lay a telephone line inside all the way to the bedrm so if in future i need mio tv in bedrm, it will be easier.. meaning a cat5e + scv cable + telephone line in 1 trunking, is that alright? thks.. when SCV first done up my parents flat, they used 1" trunking to hold the coaxial cable.... shortly after they left, i removed the covers and relaid additional 3 cat5e cables side-by-side to the coax cable and so far i am still getting the the rated speed (up to sustained 78mbps for a 100base-T connection) w/o problems. usually communication signals are low-amplitude signals and with the inherent shielding/screening from the cables, do not cross-interfere with others. for DIY running of cables is possible, but u got to get the required materials (trunking, RJ45 faceplates, and tools. trunkings are best nailed to the walls rather than using doubleside tape to paste onto them. leave generous slack on both ends to allow for mistakes in terminating the connections, observe proper RJ45 wiring color code when punching the cat5e cables and RJ11 wiring color code test with router and pc and telephone to ensure connections are ok. other than that, a little patience and hardwork is all u need. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted January 18, 2011 best kopi?? Where...where... which KPT? block 22 lor 7 hawker centre.... Tan Coffee Stall......i need it now.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
erickz 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2011 it's normal that flats built during that time are low-height ones but room area per se is unmatched by flats built in recent years.... budget is perpetually an issue for reno, so gotta decide what is needed, filter out superfluous stuff from the basic essentials... when SCV first done up my parents flat, they used 1" trunking to hold the coaxial cable.... shortly after they left, i removed the covers and relaid additional 3 cat5e cables side-by-side to the coax cable and so far i am still getting the the rated speed (up to sustained 78mbps for a 100base-T connection) w/o problems. usually communication signals are low-amplitude signals and with the inherent shielding/screening from the cables, do not cross-interfere with others. for DIY running of cables is possible, but u got to get the required materials (trunking, RJ45 faceplates, and tools. trunkings are best nailed to the walls rather than using doubleside tape to paste onto them. leave generous slack on both ends to allow for mistakes in terminating the connections, observe proper RJ45 wiring color code when punching the cat5e cables and RJ11 wiring color code test with router and pc and telephone to ensure connections are ok. other than that, a little patience and hardwork is all u need. thks neubie for the detailed explanation.. i still have some extra trunking left, so no problems on that. but for the cables, RJ45 faceplates, box casings and the connectors etc where can i buy them? sim lim tower/ sim lim square have? or any recommendations? then i saw in your diagram that you use a buffalo wireless router? do i have to buy that or can i use the standard huawei router that comes along with the OpenNet installation? a bit confused here.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites