neubie

Revamp Of A 40yo 3rm Pigeonhole...

:good: then easier for me to go admiralty than kranji. Thank you so much for the tips.

My next worry is the opennet installation. :unsure:

that one.... you can try calling them to coincide as far as possible with ur reno, so u can ask them to run the conduits hidden in the false ceiling/partition, etc, such that u won't see them messing up ur place post-handover..... i was lucky to have called them 1 month in advance before i start my reno, so they completed the installation just before i install my cabinets to conceal all the data/power points (see this post for details....) :)

Hi Neubie, do u mind telling how much did u spend on the reno? does it include the wiring, etc. for everything...

and the contractor u engaged?

Here

that one.... you can try calling them to coincide as far as possible with ur reno, so u can ask them to run the conduits hidden in the false ceiling/partition, etc, such that u won't see them messing up ur place post-handover..... i was lucky to have called them 1 month in advance before i start my reno, so they completed the installation just before i install my cabinets to conceal all the data/power points (see this post for details....) :)

Yup, read your post then went to see the website for opennet. After reading still don't really understand. Hehe... I am still blur on that. :P

ok, basically, OpenNet installation is just a termination point (TP) connected to the optic-fibre backbone in your block. What is required is OpenNet's subcon will either install this FOC (if u accept their first offer) or paid (for some reason u declined the first offer and changed ur mind after that).

their scope of works is to run the necessary fiber cable into your premises and install the TP at a location where there is spare 13A power supply. The power supply is used not to power the TP, but the Optical Network Terminal (ONT) and Residential Gateway (RG). These 2 pieces of ONT & RG will be provided by Retail Service Providers (RSP) like SingTel, StarHub or M1.

for now u only need to coincide their TP installation with ur reno as far as possible. nobody likes them to start drilling your walls and cutting thru your false ceiling after ur reno completed.

hope that clarifies.

Here is my LAN setup....a very simple setup that pales in comparison to RimBlock's uber high-bandwidth setup....

LAN.png

Two network attached storage devices (NAS) keep all my movie/audio/photo files which can be readily shared/accessed/streamed & played back on all wired/wireless devices. Idea is to get rid of all the multi-format disc-based players and keep clutter down....so it is now able to select & play movies on my TV w/o getting off the couch.... :D

the TV supports both 100mbps wired connection or wireless-N connection using their optional (but expensive) WIS09ABGN Wireless LAN adapter dongle... so at the moment use wired first....wait till prices drop more then consider.

RimBlock has a concise explanation of the bandwidth required for video streaming. Click here for details.

Now for Wifi there are 3 common standards;

802.11b - 11Mbps

802.11g - 54Mbps

802.11n - 150Mbps

802.11n - 300Mbps (usually two wireless n streams 2.9GHz and 5GHz). Sometimes referred to as n+ by manufacturers.

802.11n - 450Mbps (usually three wireless n streams 2.9GHz and 5GHz). Sometimes referred to as n+ by manufacturers.

802.11n - 600Mbps (usually four wireless n streams 2.9GHz and 5GHz). Sometimes referred to as n+ by manufacturers.

The ones in bold are not usually available to the general public yet.

These speeds are the raw data rate max for the connections. In Reality they are quite a bit slower

Taken from Wikipedia (IEEE 802.11g-2003) highlited text applied by me.

802.11g is the third modulation standard for wireless LANs. It works in the 2.4 GHz band (like 802.11b) but operates at a maximum raw data rate of 54 Mbit/s, or about 19 Mbit/s net throughput

Max throughput on 11n is estimated at around 50Mb/s and 100Mb/s on N+ but you need compatible equipment on both sides of the connection and a lot of N+ equipment lets you use one or the other channel so only gives 150Mbps rather than joining both channels for 300Mbps.

Taken From Wikipedia (BluRay)

BD Video movies have a maximum data transfer rate of 54 Mbit/s, a maximum AV bitrate of 48 Mbit/s (for both audio and video data), and a maximum video bit rate of 40 Mbit/s

So BluRay also can require 54Mb/s or 6.75MB/s. 54b Wifi is not fast enough for a single stream and neither is 150n (50Mbps) as you will see frame drops or the movie will just hang every now and then. Wireless n+ should be fine with one HD video stream if you do not have any of the issues Neubie stated.

Wired networks come in two mainstream sizes, 100Mbit (12.5MB/s) or 1Gigabit (125MB/s). It is not unusual to be able to get over 100MB/s on a Gbit network connection. So to put it all together in one place (net values not theoretical maximums used);

Bluray max = 54Mbps (6.75MB/s)

Wifi 11g = 19Mbps (2.375MB/s)

Wifi 11n = 50Mbps (6.25MB/s)

Wifi 11n+ = 100Mbps (12.5MB/s)

Wired 100Mb = around 85Mbps (10.625MB/s)

Wired 1Gb = around 880Mb/s (110MB/s)

So to stream one BluRay stream from a PC to a player (ie the Western Digital live TV for example) you would need to be looking at Wireless N+ or 100Mb wired as a minimum but would probably get stutters depending on anything else going on with the network. Gbit Lan is the best bet.

Just as an aside, HDTV (i.e. MIO TV etc) usually runs at around 8-15Mbps average and up to 20Mbps peek (up to 2.37MB/s). This is why the home plugs can work for it rather than requiring a dedicated lan connection.

This is with all things equal. I have a DNS-323 NAS box at the moment and it has a Gb network interface but can only get up to 15->18MB/s. I also have an AC Ryan media player which can play HD content but only has a 100Mb network interface. So easy to get tripped up out there.

Note,, the Bluray figures are quoted for playing a Bluray ISO from disk over the network and not for playing an avi rip of a Bluray rip (or MKV or WMA). These have been compressed and have a lower bitrate.

A high-powered router (bought at a steal from recent Sitex @ Expo :D ) is able to provide strong coverage to my backyard/utility room, even with the cabinet doors shut....

the good thing about wireless media players, one can remotely control via iPhone, so that each player can either play different MP3 songs in different zones or simultaneously play the same track...

as of now, my OpenNet connection is not commissioned yet, so unable to subscribe to any fibre services, so have to fall back on iPhone tethering for access.... :(

Edited by neubie

hhm..... i checked on opennet website, my block will only start installation in Q3 of 2011. So i think i need to ask them whether they can install it while i am doing renovation even though my reno is in apr 2011?

I will try to email and ask them about this. Thanks, neubie.

hhm..... i checked on opennet website, my block will only start installation in Q3 of 2011. So i think i need to ask them whether they can install it while i am doing renovation even though my reno is in apr 2011?

I will try to email and ask them about this. Thanks, neubie.

Chances are slim they can do at ur request if their scheduled installation is April next year. So in that case, just make provisions for the location to install the TP lor.

Bro,

I have exactly the same layout as you. Can pm me your contractor...my just bought resale flat is at blk 203 TPN

Click on the links on my signature below for his email n hp…

Edited by neubie

Neubie, is there any specifications we should look for in a HDMI cable? Understand there are different quality?

apologies for the super late response, hope u got the correct cables.... :unsure:

anyway, yes, there are specs to comply for HDMI cables... check out this link to compare the differences in version...

basically the current v1.3 (and their sub-variants or minor revisions) supports full HD with the DVD-audio, DeepColor, DolbyHD and all those techno-babble :D; only 3D is not supported (only v1.4 supports)....

the contentious issue of quality of signal cables (given the same version) is always there one, some believe it's not worth paying $25 for a cable while some pay $2500 for a similar cable.

for me, i belong to the first category..... :D cos as technology evolves, these stuffs get outdated real fast. a $5 HDMI cable doesn't hurt me when it's time to upgrade to a v2.0 cable (if there really is such version :D ) compared to a silver multistrand uber chio snakeskin cable with bling bling 24k silver connectors....

as long the cable plug in, the TV is able to display what it's supposed to display, with no artifacts (blockiness, frozen images, blank-out screen, dropped frames, disrupted audio, etc), good enuf. after all, my TV does not know nor appreciate if it has been inserted with a $2500 cable (that cost more than itself!!!) in its socket.... :P :P :P

Edited by neubie

Chances are slim they can do at ur request if their scheduled installation is April next year. So in that case, just make provisions for the location to install the TP lor.

Yup, you are right. they will not be doing early installation for me. So, have to ask the electrician to make special provision for the cables while doing the renovation. Since its wifi, i can put it anywhere, right? not necessay to be next to my tv console, isn't it? These IT kind of stuff really confusing for me. :unsure:

:idea: given the blackout blinds, next time can ceiling-mount one projector and convert the CR into home cinema.... :D :D :D :D

Now can really sleep in complete darkness liao.... :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Haha, that's a brilliant idea, then your rotating TV will be your secondary AV systems liaoz.

Blum also carries soft-closing hinges, cost about $3+ per piece (if i remember correctly), also available at the hardware shops.

Just to share; if brand doesn't matter, users could simply purchase an Ikea Damper, think it's 3 for $7 or $7.9

Works just as good.

Just got my hands on a self-leveling laser meter, takes the hardwork and guesswork out of mounting stuffs like picture frames, clocks, racks, shelves, etc.... all will be perfectly mounted.... hehehe

e8888527.jpg

Comes supplied with tripod stand oso...

556bd58b.jpg

ba5ab9df.jpg

Wah bro, you are really PRO siah!! :bow:

Must learn more from you! :good:

That's sound fantastic. I have to make a trip there also getting to kranji rd seem like a bit difficult.

Hi neubie, will the hardware stores at kranji sell cheper than BLUM (@Ubi) itself?

I am looking at the Tadem 30kg Full Extension 560H (without BLUMOTION), including locking devices for 500mm (560H50000C) at S$29.79.

This is the typical set you guys will get?

Hi neubie, will the hardware stores at kranji sell cheper than BLUM (@Ubi) itself?

I am looking at the Tadem 30kg Full Extension 560H (without BLUMOTION), including locking devices for 500mm (560H50000C) at S$29.79.

This is the typical set you guys will get?

I am using the B version with blumotion, not the C version. you can check with the shops for availability of C version.

Refer to the details here.

Edited by neubie