neubie

Revamp Of A 40yo 3rm Pigeonhole...

Today :paint: came and "chup" touchup areas that need rework, eg, new AC/power trunking, pencil marks on ceiling, inconsistent color patching, doorframe areas, switches/powerpoint areas.... another round of mopping the floor in the afternoon... :(

Last night J&J came to apply frosted film onto the corridor windows.... was surprised they reported work at 7pm and finished everything by 9pm :good:

Taki glass film used.... some jepoon brand... :unsure:

IMG_1451.jpg

Bottom sliding windows frosted....top windows remaining...

IMG_1450.jpg

Installer told me to leave it untouched for at least 3days for the film to completely dry and stick to the glass surface...

Meanwhile bought some songcho stuff for the bathrooms...

IMG_1449.jpg

We were deciding between frosted or reflective (mirrored) films as well.

Decided on the reflective films (DIY) eventually as I still wanna see what's going on outside.

Have you decided on blinds for the windows?

Rooster-brand! Quality stuffs! My colleague swears by it's rust-free material.

Must have cost quite a bit.

Last night J&J came to apply frosted film onto the corridor windows.... was surprised they reported work at 7pm and finished everything by 9pm :good:

Taki glass film used.... some jepoon brand... :unsure:

IMG_1451.jpg

Bottom sliding windows frosted....top windows remaining...

IMG_1450.jpg

Installer told me to leave it untouched for at least 3days for the film to completely dry and stick to the glass surface...

Meanwhile bought some songcho stuff for the bathrooms...

IMG_1449.jpg

We were deciding between frosted or reflective (mirrored) films as well.

Decided on the reflective films (DIY) eventually as I still wanna see what's going on outside.

Have you decided on blinds for the windows?

Rooster-brand! Quality stuffs! My colleague swears by it's rust-free material.

Must have cost quite a bit.

I think i read somewhere in RT from bepgof there is no such thing as perfect one-way films, ie can look outside from within while outside looks like a mirror... not like those used in CID where criminal suspects parade in a room for witnesses to identify.... even if there is, prices may be prohibitively high... so i just make do with sandblasted films, blurs/diffuses the image when viewed thru but still allows natural lighting to go thru.

ya, chicken brand, prefer to have a rust-free bathroom for complete peace of mind....i try not to be penny wise pound foolish with purchases....things that are used everyday need better quality and durability...... some more songcho give with lifetime warranty with purchases exceeding a certain amount....nothing much to lose...

Edited by neubie

I think i read somewhere in RT from bepgof there is no such thing as perfect one-way films, ie can look outside from within while outside looks like a mirror... not like those used in CID where criminal suspects parade in a room for witnesses to identify.... even if there is, prices may be prohibitively high... so i just make do with sandblasted films, blurs/diffuses the image when viewed thru but still allows natural lighting to go thru.

ya, chicken brand, prefer to have a rust-free bathroom for complete peace of mind....i try not to be penny wise pound foolish with purchases....things that are used everyday need better quality and durability...... some more songcho give with lifetime warranty with purchases exceeding a certain amount....nothing much to lose...

Yeah, good that you've pasted the frosted film on the window panes ...Now you can remove the newspapers from the window grills.

Just realised that the grills open inwards into your living room..easier to clean the louvre windows this way. Swee.......

Yeah, good that you've pasted the frosted film on the window panes ...Now you can remove the newspapers from the window grills.

Just realised that the grills open inwards into your living room..easier to clean the louvre windows this way. Swee.......

ya, can remove newspapers liao.... haaaa

speaking of the grilles makes me :furious: .... the same grille supplier visited my flat three times!!! first time, delivered the fixed grille which i told them it's the wrong one as i had communicated to my main con about casement-type grille, then he tried to smoke me by saying fixed grille is better, which i passed the phone (my main con was on the line then) to him, so LLST brought the grilles back...

second time came back with casement grilles, but tried fixing up, but cannot open due to my L-box/pelmet blocking... he said "it's like that one, can't open much" which i rejected and ask him to measure the correct height of the casement opening & redo... if he never measure correctly, then it's no fault but his own... tio bor?

third time come back then make good, albeit face not very happy :angry:

finally done up frosting film on windows...

IMG_3660.jpg

Edited by neubie

J & J Glass Construction came to install the last piece of tempered glass door in the afternoon....

Yo neubie, nice reno you have there! especially the kitchen. the open concept feel. feel so warm and nice!

Anyway, wanna ask you on your following items:

Glass work

Your glass provider also provide free labour to install the glass panel? How's the costs like? I'm also inspired to do my kitchen same way as you did! kekekee.

Carpentry work

Can PM me your carpenter's contact? How's the charges for per foot run for the wardrobe, TV console, feature wall, kitchen cabinet and vanity?

Doors & Windows

Where did you get your veneer doors, main door, wrought iron gate and windows from? How much each?

Edited by steelze

Yo neubie, nice reno you have there! especially the kitchen. the open concept feel. feel so warm and nice!

Anyway, your glass provider also provide free labour to install the glass panel? How's the costs like? I'm also inspired to do my kitchen same way as you did! kekekee

thanks.... yes, definitely, they will take measurements, design, supply & install the glass doors and aluminum tracks... prices are approx 2k, but rem to factor in construction of pelmet to conceal the tracks which cost not more than 300 buxx

thanks for sharing. 2k not cheap worz. probably u did the whole glass sliding door.

how bout carpentry, door n window quotes?

Hi bro,

Need to check with you regarding the Opennet installation.

Was that day suppose to be the actual day of installation for your block?

I've checked with them and they explain that my area is only due bet Dec'10- Feb'11?

Today is a hectic day, many groups of subcon came and work.... plumber, OpenNet, ceiling, doors, grilles, carpentry....

Hi Steelze

Regarding the glass sliding door;

IMHO; $2k is a pretty good price for this length of sliding glass (it's full length from one end to another? should be 2.8m?)

I was previously quoted ~$1.8k for 2.1m from Besglas, eventually I got mine from my contractor at a fraction of the price.

thanks for sharing. 2k not cheap worz. probably u did the whole glass sliding door.

how bout carpentry, door n window quotes?

yes, the entire width of the kitchen uses 1 fixed and 2 movable sliding doors.... i tink market rate is something like 700~800 buxx per glass door....anything that is associated with glass is typically more expensive, prolly cos of the timeless design...

Edited by neubie

Hi bro,

Need to check with you regarding the Opennet installation.

Was that day suppose to be the actual day of installation for your block?

I've checked with them and they explain that my area is only due bet Dec'10- Feb'11?

OpenNet for my block is done sometime back early this year, about the time i OTP the resale...so this is a paid $220 installation. if your block is stipulated end of the year, then just wait for the free installation lor... anyway, it's rather simple and straightforward for them to core one small conduit thru the corridor wall where the original HDB-provided TV/FM point is. just get ur ID/contractor to leave an area there untouched

Anyway, wanna ask you on your following items:

Glass work

Your glass provider also provide free labour to install the glass panel? How's the costs like? I'm also inspired to do my kitchen same way as you did! kekekee.

Carpentry work

Can PM me your carpenter's contact? How's the charges for per foot run for the wardrobe, TV console, feature wall, kitchen cabinet and vanity?

Doors & Windows

Where did you get your veneer doors, main door, wrought iron gate and windows from? How much each?

PMed you

Hey neubie, where is this songcho? I bought my current bathroom stuff from one shop at Geylang.... and not even 3 months already show rusty patches liao... :(