neubie 2 Report post Posted October 13, 2010 Meanwhile, plumber complete the kitchen sink works + mounting of accessories... New bedroom doors arrived... Test-fitting ok... Done for MBR door... 20min later CR door done... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 13, 2010 Ceiling guys working on constructing pelmet to cover the glassdoor tracks... and touching up... Carpenter taking aim at the dishrack telescopic hydraulic extender... while his assistant puttying the nail-holes on the drawer... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 13, 2010 Old main door removed... Test-fitted with new one... Coring of holes... Chiseling recessed area for the deadbolt... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 13, 2010 First coat of varnish on MBR veneer door... Sanding off the basecoat of main nyatoh door... Completion... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 13, 2010 (edited) Rotating TV console arrived... Marking out... on false ceiling... and test-fitting... Coring thru rotating platform... Edited October 13, 2010 by neubie Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 13, 2010 TV console done... Front view Rear view Recap the original draft...some slight changes to the movable console such that it can only turn 180 clockwise and CCW and will not keep turning until the HDMI/VGA/power/coax cables get twisted and damaged .... Test-dropped VGA cable into lobang.... came out of the shelf nicely... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yeo99 0 Report post Posted October 14, 2010 Wow !!! Your renovation is super fast!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hippobb 0 Report post Posted October 14, 2010 nice reno!! cant wait for the final pics! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 14, 2010 nice reno!! cant wait for the final pics! reno is almost completed, nothing really much to post for a 3rm liao, still got to DIY some touchup and hope it will not be back-breaking.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 14, 2010 (edited) Wow !!! Your renovation is super fast!!! is considered slow by my main con's standards liao.... but honestly speaking, he has got a team of efficient subcons working for him for a long time, so his subcons know his standards and character... his record for 70k+ complete teardown of EM flat is one month.... even includes rebuilding glass staircase.... :) Edited October 14, 2010 by neubie Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edward 0 Report post Posted October 15, 2010 neubie, nice reno. You are almost always there to take all the photos.... Envy.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 15, 2010 neubie, nice reno. You are almost always there to take all the photos.... Envy.... Cos I'm quite a hands-on person who is curious about how it's done, at the same time "supervising" n checking the subcon for workmanship, correcting mistakes on the spot n ensure problems dun snowball until beyond economical rework. If dun have the luxury of time, a few milestones are impt to be present, eg, carpentry, plumbing, aircon, electrical wiring. Others need not really be present also nvm. ;p Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dexufto 5 Report post Posted October 16, 2010 Cos I'm quite a hands-on person who is curious about how it's done, at the same time "supervising" n checking the subcon for workmanship, correcting mistakes on the spot n ensure problems dun snowball until beyond economical rework. If dun have the luxury of time, a few milestones are impt to be present, eg, carpentry, plumbing, aircon, electrical wiring. Others need not really be present also nvm. ;p Well said, Sir. And denoting of your Hall extension! I just paid my site a visit, was glad that the subcon consulted me some minor details on the measurements. Happy to see your completion of your apt neubie ( you have an efficient reno team), just need the fittings and you are ready to move in. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 16, 2010 (edited) Well said, Sir. And denoting of your Hall extension! I just paid my site a visit, was glad that the subcon consulted me some minor details on the measurements. Happy to see your completion of your apt neubie ( you have an efficient reno team), just need the fittings and you are ready to move in. Today is DIY day :D got my hands dirty and start puttying the gaps in grout lines of my LR... My tiler was asked by my main con to come do touch up on wednesday... but told me he can't do much as there are so many things being done (see previous posts)... but he gave me some colored cement powder for the LR and white powder for the kitchen, briefed me on how to mix...... One might have thought the tiler should come another day while nobody was working in the flat, but then again, i would prefer to do some minor touchup myself as I can focus on picking out the areas better (rather than leaving it to them)... first time trying this... agar-agar mix one spatula of colored cement powder to few rinse of water, mix well and gotten to a gooey paste, consistency not too thick (can't stick properly and fill the gap) nor too liquid (can't fill gaps), so long the consistency is somewhat like cream cheese at room temperature, should be able to fill the gaps w/o problems.... Actually it's quite fun to DIY this, much like spreading butter or cream cheese..... using a scraper, use the width and putty along the lines... give it few hours to dry and then scrape/wipe off excess dried cement powder, even the door frame gaps are puttied nicely.... Edited October 16, 2010 by neubie Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ignorants 0 Report post Posted October 16, 2010 Today is DIY day :D got my hands dirty and start puttying the gaps in grout lines of my LR... My tiler was asked by my main con to come do touch up on wednesday... but told me he can't do much as there are so many things being done (see previous posts)... but he gave me some colored cement powder for the LR and white powder for the kitchen, briefed me on how to mix...... One might have thought the tiler should come another day while nobody was working in the flat, but then again, i would prefer to do some minor touchup myself as I can focus on picking out the areas better (rather than leaving it to them)... first time trying this... agar-agar mix one spatula of colored cement powder to few rinse of water, mix well and gotten to a gooey paste, consistency not too thick (can't stick properly and fill the gap) nor too liquid (can't fill gaps), so long the consistency is somewhat like cream cheese at room temperature, should be able to fill the gaps w/o problems.... Actually it's quite fun to DIY this, much like spreading butter or cream cheese..... using a scraper, use the width and putty along the lines... give it few hours to dry and then scrape/wipe off excess dried cement powder, even the door frame gaps are puttied nicely.... Hi was very impressed on your renovation, would u mind sharing to me the qoutation and ur ID to me, as we are looking for renovation company to do our 3 room house too.. Thank you so much!!! my email: yioboon@yahoo.com Share this post Link to post Share on other sites