munny 0 Report post Posted October 1, 2010 How much did u pay for the whole reno? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 1, 2010 Base coat of paint applied to ceiling/walls... second coat to be painted later.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 1, 2010 (edited) First coat completed today, with touch-up done for the rough areas... initially was a bit concerned why painter nv touch up before doing painting. Painter explained the base coat once applied, will cause wall defects to surface easily and facilitates quick location of spots to be plastered & made good... Living room MBR Edited October 1, 2010 by neubie Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 3, 2010 Base and final coat applied on walls was ICI Dulux W&W Dune White which is a new 2010 color (WW 25819) in the 2010 catalog, initially wanted Lily White but comparing with the LR homo tiles which is almost similar, hence opted for a lighter color which is less yellowish... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
davidbslee 1 Report post Posted October 4, 2010 (edited) Bro, the gaps show in the red at the new trunking area actually can use white silicon to cover before painting so if not unsightly to see so many gaps around the house. My contractor used 10 tube of white silicon to cover up all the gaps around the new trunking inside my house before painting Just my advice only. Edited October 4, 2010 by davidbslee Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 4, 2010 (edited) Bro, the gaps show in the red at the new trunking area actually can use white silicon to cover before painting so if not unsightly to see so many gaps around the house. My contractor used 10 tube of white silicon to cover up all the gaps around the new trunking inside my house before painting Just my advice only. Yup, that is under rectification.... that's the problem with HDB design, wall corners are neither straight, cantilever beams neither level oso....grrrr.... especially when the colors are mainly light, any gaps will be very eyesore.... Edited October 4, 2010 by neubie Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 5, 2010 Today is a busy day... electricians came to install lightings, switches, fan, heater, SCV, cat5e patch panels... irongrille guys came to install bifold doors and window & main-gate grilles... Sifu taking string measurements on downlight position... Cutting thru the false ceiling....lotsa dust... Chop chop completed all downlights... Living Room Dining area MBR Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 5, 2010 (edited) Round hook for the 60" KDK Motor assembly with safety wire attached... Done, but the canopy cover is slightly slanted...need to see what can be done.... looks a bit low, can touch the blades with my hands extended.... Edited October 5, 2010 by neubie Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 5, 2010 Meanwhile the iron-grilles were done wrongly, had initially agreed with my con to install casement-type irongrilles, so stopped the installation for windows-grilles while letting them continue with the main gate and bifold doors... Break for lunch.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 5, 2010 Finally I have lights!!! Living Room MBR DB connected and hot... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 6, 2010 (edited) Today is acid cleaning the whole unit... not really to my standard, still gotta DIY to scrub-clean the kitchen walls/floors and cabinet cement base (tomorrow will be carpentry day ) , also the MBR window grilles are reused back and was not cleaned at all, so spend more time in cleaning up the grilles. also, casement windows are still dirty and rough when pushed open/closed, sand stuck inside the friction stays after some intensive area-cleaning, time to test-run the bathroom/WC. as i'm used to my parents' 5-rm toilets, doing my first big biz there feels claustrophobic bathroom was a consolation though, as space is still more than sufficient to pick up soap w/o banging my butt/head onto the taps.... but water pressure seems weak, not as enjoyable as before. ... got to bring a spanner and see if the mains tap is maxed out... if so then time to complain to PUB liao...anyone can advise if PUB will entertain low water pressure??? Kitchen Living room Wooden main doors look ok when closed, but look like sh!t when open... so LLST, gotta get a replacement door... Post-it notes pasted all over the shop indicate areas need to clean/sanded/touchup/sealed Edited October 6, 2010 by neubie Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dexufto 5 Report post Posted October 7, 2010 Very nicely done up neubie. Clean and spacious look. I love it. Just a thought that I would have almost the identical lighting layout+ ceiling fan as your hall. (noticed that you have 4 PLC each sides on the front portion of the hall, is it a bit overkill? I planned to have only two) but then, you will be done up and move in even when i commence my renovation. Keep the pictures comming! Kitchen Living room Wooden main doors look ok when closed, but look like sh!t when open... so LLST, gotta get a replacement door... Post-it notes pasted all over the shop indicate areas need to clean/sanded/touchup/sealed Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 7, 2010 (edited) Very nicely done up neubie. Clean and spacious look. I love it. Just a thought that I would have almost the identical lighting layout+ ceiling fan as your hall. (noticed that you have 4 PLC each sides on the front portion of the hall, is it a bit overkill? I planned to have only two) but then, you will be done up and move in even when i commence my renovation. Keep the pictures comming! ya, you are not the only one saying downlight overkill in the living area... initially i was oso having second thoughts on this, 3-a-side would be sufficient, rearranging the remaining 2 at the shorter side of both ends, but electrician said the conduits run was too short and can't extend that far, so carry on with the 4-a-side downlights lor.... but ok la, since there's no light in between, so the illumination is slightly above average... but the brightness still lose out to my 2 bedrooms!!! 4 cove lights + 5 DL turned on is even brighter than daytime natural lighting just a note, some of the 3rm have a floor-to-ceiling height of 95" (2.4m), so mounting ceiling fans is best directly bolted to the ceiling, not any false ceiling... Edited October 7, 2010 by neubie Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 7, 2010 Carpenter arrived today... New protection paper rolled out... Barang laid out.... Laminated board Shoe cabinet Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted October 7, 2010 (edited) Drawer basket.... no soft-closing ones... This 4 drawers are got Blum-ed... End caps of the drawer.. Shelving to box up the U-trap Carpenter remarked that some areas in the kitchen are not perpendicular, eg kitchen wall not 90deg to low-wall, so got to cut away some timber to accomodate this... Dexufto please take note, instruct your contractor/ID to tell their tiler to take reference from one datum edge and start building outwards....HDB design is really screwed... Edited October 7, 2010 by neubie Share this post Link to post Share on other sites