dinobros 1 Report post Posted September 9, 2010 Hi All, I hear from some people that the Feng Shui of HDB EM is not good generally in Singapore. Is that true? Have you all heard anything about it? I remember reading that the place where most light enter the house may be the mouth of the house. For my case, since the main door and windows along the corridor is always closed, can we say that the mouth of the house is at the balcony/living room side? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bepgof 20 Report post Posted September 9, 2010 (edited) Hi All, I hear from some people that the Feng Shui of HDB EM is not good generally in Singapore. Is that true? Have you all heard anything about it? I remember reading that the place where most light enter the house may be the mouth of the house. For my case, since the main door and windows along the corridor is always closed, can we say that the mouth of the house is at the balcony/living room side? Just my personal views, don't take it too seriously. Have been to a few EM, confirmed , not heard, seen with my own eyes. Flaws: 1. Your has no folyer/"throat". Some Ems (though along common corride door) have a "floyer" area to put shoe rack, etc, before turning into the hall/or dinning area. 2. Natural light not sufficient at 2nd floor, in particularly, the area between before 3 rms' entrance/tiolets' entrance/staircase. Give ppl a "ying" feeling. 3. The ramp of staircase (near store room), ppls tend to hit the head. 4. Natural air ventilation not good, in particular 2nd floor, when 3 doors closed, no natural air movement, lagi "ying". Good: 1. Balcony big enough with 2 entrances. Some EMs with "rectangular" balcony, very small. Have = don't have. Note: Classical : Mouth is where ppl in/out and it is the house's facing. "Modern" FS theory suggests the "biggest area" exposure to "outside" is the "facing" of the house. If this theory holds true, then, most of the HDB units' door is not the facing of the house liao. Confused right? Edited September 9, 2010 by bepgof Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edenstrauss 3 Report post Posted September 9, 2010 Just my personal views, don't take it too seriously. Have been to a few EM, confirmed , not heard, seen with my own eyes. Flaws: 1. Your has no folyer/"throat". Some Ems (though along common corride door) have a "floyer" area to put shoe rack, etc, before turning into the hall/or dinning area. 2. Natural light not sufficient at 2nd floor, in particularly, the area between before 3 rms' entrance/tiolets' entrance/staircase. Give ppl a "ying" feeling. 3. The ramp of staircase (near store room), ppls tend to hit the head. 4. Natural air ventilation not good, in particular 2nd floor, when 3 doors closed, no natural air movement, lagi "ying". Good: 1. Balcony big enough with 2 entrances. Some EMs with "rectangular" balcony, very small. Have = don't have. Note: Classical : Mouth is where ppl in/out and it is the house's facing. "Modern" FS theory suggests the "biggest area" exposure to "outside" is the "facing" of the house. If this theory holds true, then, most of the HDB units' door is not the facing of the house liao. Confused right? Hi Bepgof, ur explanation & depth of understanding on FS is very "cheem" leh... Then got any way to work around it for those staying in EM? 5 room corner unit got such problem or not? My flat's living room is lined with entire rows of windows, altogether 8 windows (4 swing type & 4 sliding type)... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dinobros 1 Report post Posted September 9, 2010 Just my personal views, don't take it too seriously. Have been to a few EM, confirmed , not heard, seen with my own eyes. Flaws: 1. Your has no folyer/"throat". Some Ems (though along common corride door) have a "floyer" area to put shoe rack, etc, before turning into the hall/or dinning area. 2. Natural light not sufficient at 2nd floor, in particularly, the area between before 3 rms' entrance/tiolets' entrance/staircase. Give ppl a "ying" feeling. 3. The ramp of staircase (near store room), ppls tend to hit the head. 4. Natural air ventilation not good, in particular 2nd floor, when 3 doors closed, no natural air movement, lagi "ying". Good: 1. Balcony big enough with 2 entrances. Some EMs with "rectangular" balcony, very small. Have = don't have. Note: Classical : Mouth is where ppl in/out and it is the house's facing. "Modern" FS theory suggests the "biggest area" exposure to "outside" is the "facing" of the house. If this theory holds true, then, most of the HDB units' door is not the facing of the house liao. Confused right? Hi bepgof, Thanks for your analysis, but that leads to more questions 1) that is the throat/foyer for in terms of feng shui? 2) agree 3) agree 4) agree but i once read that bedroom should be ying rather then too yang yeah, its confusing especially when diff feng shui master seem to say different things..... Trying to understand more about it myself. hi edenstrauss You wanna show your floor plan? I learn something about the centre of the house and a toilet should not be there. But many new "condo" layout hdb have 2 toilet at the centre of the house Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CoffeeMan 0 Report post Posted September 9, 2010 The kitchen is directly under the second floor toilet... Dun think it's good. Anyone knows?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bepgof 20 Report post Posted September 9, 2010 (edited) Hi bepgof, Thanks for your analysis, but that leads to more questions 1) that is the throat/foyer for in terms of feng shui? 2) agree 3) agree 4) agree but i once read that bedroom should be ying rather then too yang yeah, its confusing especially when diff feng shui master seem to say different things..... Trying to understand more about it myself. hi edenstrauss You wanna show your floor plan? I learn something about the centre of the house and a toilet should not be there. But many new "condo" layout hdb have 2 toilet at the centre of the house Need not to worry much, those that I mentioned are "architectural problems" of HDB Em, especially the 2nd fl, most of the pte house with 2 fl and above have the similar "problems", but some have window openings (eg 2nd fl, common area)on wall to counter this. Can adopt 采光 techniques to improve, like using light color paint on wall/door/flooring, etc, mirror at dinning, etc. Air ventilation issue can be settled by forced ventilation method by using fans (whether ceiling, wall or standing types). If hot, then aircon comes in. In principle, it is correct that study rm/bed room to be "ying" - mental/physical resting/relaxing. Hall/kitchen tend to be "busy" for ppl communication/interaction, should adopt "yang" approach. Foyer's qi interaction concept is bit "chim" -I must admit. It is believed (how to measure result?)house best comes with "foyer/throat"- where inter(house) and outer qi interact or regulate. Occupiers are best to avoid sitting (long time)near this area (I guess it is like 2 elephants fighting, surrounding grass gives way first), otherwise would have mental unrest and lead to unecessary frequent disputes between members. "modern" fs theroy suggest that qi enter from, beside main door, also from windows and balcony, then "qi interaction" how?need "buffer" space for "openings" ? Edited September 9, 2010 by bepgof Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dinobros 1 Report post Posted September 10, 2010 The kitchen is directly under the second floor toilet... Dun think it's good. Anyone knows?? Hi CoffeeMan, Yeah, kitchen should not be under toilet and also cannot be beside toilet or basin. Thinking of knocking off the wall in the Study room to shift the kitchen nearer to that corner. But at the same time, that will make the 2nd bed room not suitable for staying as sleeping above the stove will make the person moody and hot tempered. Feng Shui is so interesting Share this post Link to post Share on other sites