tweety3334

What If Seller Don't Turn Up For 1st Appointment?

My seller's agent try to delay the appointment dates. The submission was drag to 30 days. When book appt, ask us to allow a weekend. My friend has similar experience and when you agree to a weekend appt, the 1st appt date will be ridiculously late as compared to the earliest appt date available on HDB website. Reason given was weekend appt date difficult to get. We then specify 2 weekends that we want. Seller agent then claim that they want to time the sales for handover at yearend. We refused and finally we settled on a weekday date. My 1st appt will be coming in 2 weeks time. Yesterday seller agent ask my agent to change 1st appt date to late Oct, but we didn't agree to the change. Do you'll know whether seller can don't turn up for 1st appt? If so, what can we do?

if seller didnt turn up on 1st appt. hdb will throw the case and u have to re submit. everything have to settle outside HDB. Is better to compromise with the owner and convince him to attend 1st appt.

It may happen.

No choice, you have to negotiate and agree on the 1st appt date with your seller. The later your seller drags the appointments, the later he will get his sales proceedings.

I think my seller bought a new flat and cannot move in yet. They don't want to find a place to stay. I took bridging loan to allow myself time renovation and then move in. If I allow them to delay, this means that I took bridging loan and yet need to find a place to stay. How ah, so sian.

If they don't turn up, I have to get lawyer to sue them? If I resubmit for first appt, am I caught under the new rule?

I think my seller bought a new flat and cannot move in yet. They don't want to find a place to stay. I took bridging loan to allow myself time renovation and then move in. If I allow them to delay, this means that I took bridging loan and yet need to find a place to stay. How ah, so sian.

If they don't turn up, I have to get lawyer to sue them? If I resubmit for first appt, am I caught under the new rule?

Go and try to negotiate a win-win situation with your seller. Maybe ask him to pay you some rental fee?

It's not advisable to sue the seller, and tear down the bridge so quickly. As your 1st appointment is not done and your resale application has not been approved yet, the seller can just drop out of the deal with you! Won't it jeopardise all your efforts? Sueing will also cost you another 10+K more and few months more.

And technically yes, resubmitting the 1st appointment will land you into new rules. You better call up HDB to double check on this.

Feel so stress now. My agent said the seller already bought a house so they must come for the appt as they also need money for their new hse...so don't worry. Sigh, still got 2 weeks to go.

I threathened my agent, by writing a nasty complaint letter to her agency's big boss as well as to the press after I realised she had not submitted resale application for abt a wk, and to my suprise and her non-disclosure, the seller was "playing" contra with another! 1st delay. I need the house urgently, never mind, during 1st appt, the "another" seller to my seller, "misplaced" the property's title deed! Another delay ! This was like adding oil to the fire!. :furious:

In the end, the 2nd appt date was in my court (another settled td, seller needed money to go Aust to see son)I purposely delayed till exactly 8 weeks by putting the date in the cpf form (-15 days). You can do the same. You hurry, they take their own sweet time, now they hurry, you take your own sweet time lah! Want to "die" right?, all "die" together lor! I very bad hearted hor.

Haha, an eye for an eye...

Anyway my agent is quite ok. It's the seller's agent that is coming out with all the tricks. He claimed that we agree to them doing contra previously. They did mention that they will be looking for smaller house to move to but not about contra. How will I know they expect me to follow all the dates they want? My friend says if they want contra, must ask all parties to sign a contra letter. Never sign such letter before.

Haha, an eye for an eye...

Anyway my agent is quite ok. It's the seller's agent that is coming out with all the tricks. He claimed that we agree to them doing contra previously. They did mention that they will be looking for smaller house to move to but not about contra. How will I know they expect me to follow all the dates they want? My friend says if they want contra, must ask all parties to sign a contra letter. Never sign such letter before.

Most agents like that one le. My agent( seller cum buyer) understand the significance of "non-disclosure" I was hinting to her. I put $5k cheque with her the 1st day I met her (1st viewing)and told her my situations and need to get the unit asap. Same as yr case, she told me the seller would look for a smaller hdb unit, but never mention "contra". I "open my book" during 1st meeting with her, yet she hide this & that...

I gave her a deadline and if resale application not submitted by this deadline, everything void, I would initial series of actions. I told her my actions. Finally, I required no action.

Most agents like that one le. My agent( seller cum buyer) understand the significance of "non-disclosure" I was hinting to her. I put $5k cheque with her the 1st day I met her (1st viewing)and told her my situations and need to get the unit asap. Same as yr case, she told me the seller would look for a smaller hdb unit, but never mention "contra". I "open my book" during 1st meeting with her, yet she hide this & that...

I gave her a deadline and if resale application not submitted by this deadline, everything void, I would initial series of actions. I told her my actions. Finally, I required no action.

So we are in the same situation. You very garang...can handle these pple.

We let the seller agent drag until 30 days then submit and they still want extension.

i think the problem is the process of sale for current hdb.

Seller want to secure sale price before hunting for a new place. However, because handover and completion has to be on the same day. Seller thus, has to "delay" the completion because they cannot find a suitable flat.

Most seller has not done any homework in looking for a new place. They didnt realise that it's very difficult to find a good flat now or is not prepared to pay the cov of the current prices.

E.g. 2 mths back, seller thought units in a given area is going for 300k. Seller took 1 mth to sell their current flat.. then realise that the same area is going for 350k now .. So seller realise they are getting less profit, and want to hunt for house with zero cov because ppl say there is.. 2 mths past, seller cannot find flat.. force agent to delay buyer purchase /ask for more.

i think the problem is the process of sale for current hdb.

Seller want to secure sale price before hunting for a new place. However, because handover and completion has to be on the same day. Seller thus, has to "delay" the completion because they cannot find a suitable flat.

Most seller has not done any homework in looking for a new place. They didnt realise that it's very difficult to find a good flat now or is not prepared to pay the cov of the current prices.

E.g. 2 mths back, seller thought units in a given area is going for 300k. Seller took 1 mth to sell their current flat.. then realise that the same area is going for 350k now .. So seller realise they are getting less profit, and want to hunt for house with zero cov because ppl say there is.. 2 mths past, seller cannot find flat.. force agent to delay buyer purchase /ask for more.

Agree. I think this is the case. They cannot find hse so their agent delay submission until last day. Anyway, I am afraid of such situation so look for house to buy first. When I get an otp, then I immediately start selling my hse but I have to get bridging loan for this whole process.

Having said that, everyone has their own constraint and if seller is the one who delay the process, they should bear the consequences and not hope that we can allow them the extension cos our buyer also expect us to hand over the flat by a certain date.

So we are in the same situation. You very garang...can handle these pple.

We let the seller agent drag until 30 days then submit and they still want extension.

Buy/sell transaction should be a happy-happy event. I also buy first, agar agar the timing then started selling, at least I would not give buyer problem.

I where got so good can handle ppl, the agent was in fact good & kind and the seller also kind enough, I'm softhearted le, alway let ppl "makan", then I "makan" others lor.

Now you share your experience can benefit other pple.

I think hdb should state the submission grace period to be only 7 days and state a period for first appt just like 2nd appt, 6 to 8 weeks. This can stop pple from trying to take advantage. This means that pple who wants to move hse must always find a place to stay unless they can get bridging finances lor. Hehe...maybe govt can have designated blks for this type of short term stay cos it's not easy to find place to rent for short term if those pple have no close relatives that can help.