Ely

How Many Signed Otp Last Week?

A slightly better understanding of your situation. I thought you were aust citizen and Spore PR.

Since you suggest your brother is studying there. Personally don't think it make sense to sell as he would then have to fork out money to rent. Perhaps after he has finished his education would it be wiser to sell since your family will save money on the rental he would thus have to pay.

If u can afford it, perhaps buying private would be a better idea. Another alternative you can consider should be selling the property once you have no use for it (if your bro finished his education and not staying there anymore). Buy HDB using ur CPF and then wait 5 years before investing in private in Singapore.

As for you not renting out your place in Aust, you gotta understand that the Govt doesn't care...as far as they are concern, they can't let it be a case of people buying overseas (renting out for income). And then taking the rent money from overseas to pay for the installment for HDB and thus being able to afford more than they commonly should and jacking the price of HDB in the process. I guess their view also is that if you can afford a "holiday home" then you should not be one of those that need help even though like you stated it was ur parents that paid for it. Bopian. Unless you are willing to part with the home perhaps after your bro is done with his education.

Hi Jansenboy,

My brother still has years to go yet, so it cannot be an issue of waiting for him to complete his studies. So yeah, the spot I am in gets tighter.

If I *could* afford private property, I would not have considered a HDB at all - that is, a private property that is sizable for OH, dog, cat, me and my shoes (and the very likely arrival of a new family member). The ones we saw and liked would weigh very heavily on one person's income, which is why we decided to go for a HDB instead, albeit sacrificing convenience (distance).

Hard decisions to make.

i have raise this thread to the press and feedback.gov.sg.. Cos' its very interesting.. singaporean before pr , pr before foreigner...

let them decide where they categories born singaporean that are pr elsewhere..

hope the government will look into your case. Good luck.

Jgal, I do not believe it was your business to highlight my personal issues to anyone, whether or not the sentiment was for my benefit. I do not wish to be made a case-study. I came here on this forum because I thought I could rely on people's discretion and their helpful opinions. You have effectively taken away that security, and I do not thank you for it.

Hi Jansenboy,

My brother still has years to go yet, so it cannot be an issue of waiting for him to complete his studies. So yeah, the spot I am in gets tighter.

If I *could* afford private property, I would not have considered a HDB at all - that is, a private property that is sizable for OH, dog, cat, me and my shoes (and the very likely arrival of a new family member). The ones we saw and liked would weigh very heavily on one person's income, which is why we decided to go for a HDB instead, albeit sacrificing convenience (distance).

Hard decisions to make.

Most students that do go to Aust usually have to incur additional cost as they have to rent a place to stay. In a way, your brother is slighly fortunate previously as he doesn't have to spend additional money on rental.

From a 3rd person point of view, I would say that you should sell the property and your brother should rent a place while he is studying (esentially that's what all singaporean students do). That will leave u with no problem for whatever you want to buy. In a way, your predictment also stem because you are an Aust PR (something most people can only dream of) so I guess its one of those case whereby you have a problem because you have more decisions to make. Whereas most of young singaporeans do not have to worry about having overseas property.

Personally though, I won't be surprise if this "overseas" policy gets reviewed after a while as alot of details regarding it (like how they will enforce and such) are not revealed yet. It's still early days and this policy could possibly still be adjusted. You might want to wait a while first to see if there are any updates regarding it. Of course how long that will be nobody knows, just my gut feel.

Jgal, I do not believe it was your business to highlight my personal issues to anyone, whether or not the sentiment was for my benefit. I do not wish to be made a case-study. I came here on this forum because I thought I could rely on people's discretion and their helpful opinions. You have effectively taken away that security, and I do not thank you for it.

Woy, don't say like that le, saying this implies that all of us are kpo? The few sentences above make me feel all people's discretion & helpful opinions are just s h i t s to you thought you've expressly said thank you.

Fat hope le, "yr case" has been input into simulator designed by top scholars, processed, result generated and intepreted by these scholars, well before the rule is make in force and known to the world at large.

Must always be appreciative to people/kpo's "disretion and helpful opinions" whether these are in your favour or not. Let me highlight bluntly to you in this way:

The "road" ahead of you still very loooooong for you to walk. You said

-you can't afford condo

-don't want hdb units with "common tiolet" in kitchen

-don't want "shoebox" mickey mouse unit

-you can't afford to wait

-you said you want to keep pet

-you want to rom

-you want to have kids

- what one person's income rule???

To me, you are lost, priorities seriously mixed up with too many "wants" and too many "don't wants" at young age!

The "road" ahead of you still very loooooong for you to walk. You said

-you can't afford condo

-don't want hdb units with "common tiolet" in kitchen

-don't want "shoebox" mickey mouse unit

-you can't afford to wait

-you said you want to keep pet

-you want to rom

-you want to have kids

- what one person's income rule???

To me, you are lost, priorities seriously mixed up with too many "wants" and too many "don't wants" at young age!

for many of us also, started with a lot of wants and requirements, but as time goes by and reality kicks in, expectations will slowly adjust.

To TS: Jiayou and good luck to your house hunting... :) Take your time to plan and open yourself to more options. For all you know, what you considered to be "must have" at first may not be the best choices.

Edited by marshmallow

I am caught in a bad situation.

Seller called and said she wanna cancel the first appt cos of the new ruling! My first appt is on 29th September.

She is in aussie and said she cant buy a new place if she sells hers here. I suspect she wants to invest in the aussie place even when she is back in Singapore.

How can i "threathen" her or i am caught in a deep **** situation?

Can i sue her for damages beyond 5K?

Also, if she now has 2 properties 1 in sg , 1 in aussie, she dun need to sell one of them?

I am caught in a bad situation.

Seller called and said she wanna cancel the first appt cos of the new ruling! My first appt is on 29th September.

She is in aussie and said she cant buy a new place if she sells hers here. I suspect she wants to invest in the aussie place even when she is back in Singapore.

How can i "threathen" her or i am caught in a deep **** situation?

Can i sue her for damages beyond 5K?

Also, if she now has 2 properties 1 in sg , 1 in aussie, she dun need to sell one of them?

The "bad" could turn up be a "good" to you le.

Before 1st appointment, buyer always being put in a "disadvantage" position. Can claim back

1. $5K

2. Valuation report fee

3. Resale application fee

4. Trapnsportation fee

5. Opportunity cost

6. Time loss

Items 1,2& 3 very straight forward. Items 4,5,6 need solicitor to "write first then speak" and "fight" for you. Eventually items 4,5 & 6 all go into solicitor's pocket, and you may have to(very likely) top up some to make his pocket par par, and you lose more time & energy.

"Threathening" is criminal le, SPF is just a call away. Beside 1,2 & 3, ask seller to give you an angbo of any amount for "heng heng". If happens seller too stingy to give, & say to him slowly with smile : "see you again". He'll have nightmare that night and give you a big angbo the next day. If that happen, you need to give me an angbo le. :D

pixie.. singaporean are allowed to invest oversea given that it complies with oversea laws. Only after 30 aug, if she buys another public housing in singapore then she need to dispose of her property in australia.

However, hdb being public housing meant for the gov to provide affordable housing for singaporean or pr only. Thus, hdb flats are "controlled" and subject rules.

The recent rule change in principal stop pr/singaporean to use hdb as a "investment" tool. This may not lower the price rising trend, but it in itself , shows the government determination in making hdb a affordable housing.

It may not be the result that the government is gunning for , but the "impression" that they want to make, in guarding the interest of singaporean in majority.

Edited by Jgal

pixie.. singapore are allowed to invest oversea given that it complies with oversea laws. Only after 30 aug, if she buys another public housing in singapore then she need to dispose of her property in australia.

However, hdb being public housing meant for the gov to provide affordable housing for singaporean or pr only. Thus, hdb flats are "controlled" and subject rules.

The recent rule change in principal stop pr/singaporean to use hdb as a "investment" tool. This may not lower the price rising trend, but it in itself , shows the government determination in making hdb a affordable housing.

It may not be the result that the government is gunning for , but the "impression" that they want to make, in guarding the interest of singaporean in majority.

Yeap i understand and have told her if she cancel i will be suing her for attempt to fraud. but it wont stop her from doing it... =( sighz.......

The "bad" could turn up be a "good" to you le.

Before 1st appointment, buyer always being put in a "disadvantage" position. Can claim back

1. $5K

2. Valuation report fee

3. Resale application fee

4. Trapnsportation fee

5. Opportunity cost

6. Time loss

Items 1,2& 3 very straight forward. Items 4,5,6 need solicitor to "write first then speak" and "fight" for you. Eventually items 4,5 & 6 all go into solicitor's pocket, and you may have to(very likely) top up some to make his pocket par par, and you lose more time & energy.

"Threathening" is criminal le, SPF is just a call away. Beside 1,2 & 3, ask seller to give you an angbo of any amount for "heng heng". If happens seller too stingy to give, & say to him slowly with smile : "see you again". He'll have nightmare that night and give you a big angbo the next day. If that happen, you need to give me an angbo le. :D

Is it possible if i sue her for damages on the the tarnsport, and time i incurred in future? Cos i got here is due to the proximity with in-laws. now this case, if i stay further, i have to travel more etc.

Also, if my future COV is higher, i can ask her to top up rite?

Is it possible if i sue her for damages on the the tarnsport, and time i incurred in future? Cos i got here is due to the proximity with in-laws. now this case, if i stay further, i have to travel more etc.

Also, if my future COV is higher, i can ask her to top up rite?

If OPT has been signed then I believe both parties cannot back out? I may be wrong. If within the cooling off period, then can back off,I believe.

prixies@ anyway, it's dun think you can sue her for fraud and such. Given the situation now, i think the judge will give leeway to such cases.

Jcase@ can backout if mutual agreement. as said.. dun thinkk they will very strict during this messy time.

Haiz... The new measures have caused a lot of headaches to significant no of sellers and buyers, MBT is going to lose some votes over this.

in such cases, it will be a court case, as they are legally binded in a contract.

Once OTP signed, it is legally enforced.

Seller can opt out, but need to compensate the balance should the buyer finds a lower sale/COV and time.

Edited by Always Happy