captaincoby 0 Report post Posted August 18, 2010 (edited) Hi, I’ve been an avid reader of renotalk for quite a while now. Manage to learn and apply a lot of information and knowledge from fellow forumers here, so I feel it only rite that I share my renovation process with you guys also. For selection of ID, it’s kind of a bit headache, so I decided to shortlist 3 of them (from recommendation of fellow forumers), but only one really came on top. To be honest, when selecting for ID, I feel the chemistry with the individual ID is more important than the company itself. Also keep a look out for IDs who promise you the world before signing on the dotted line, caused I believe, there is no such things as a “freebie”. After much deliberation, I decided to engage Peter from Ideal House. Why I chose Peter is because he came across as someone who is open, confident and knows what he is talking about, unlike few IDs that I met. To-date, my renovation is nearly 80% complete. Will try to post more pics as time goes by. For question like cost of renovation, I hope you guys will understand if I refer you directly to Peter, as I feel it is not very ethical to reveal prices in an open forum. Moving on, as only right, the first pic should of my floorplan. So here you go. Further, since fellow loves to see pics, I also attached the before pictures first. Edited August 18, 2010 by captaincoby Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hippobb 0 Report post Posted August 18, 2010 Welcome to RT! wish u a smooth reno journey ahead... Looking forward to more pics!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
captaincoby 0 Report post Posted August 18, 2010 Welcome to RT! wish u a smooth reno journey ahead... Looking forward to more pics!! Thanks hippobb! will definitely put in more pics Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
leechaorui 2 Report post Posted August 18, 2010 Wish you a smooth reno journey. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
captaincoby 0 Report post Posted August 19, 2010 Wish you a smooth reno journey. Thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
captaincoby 0 Report post Posted August 19, 2010 In the beginning , was quite confused on what kind of theme that we want for our new place. Basically, if you can see from the pics, the resale flat that we buy need a total makeover since we bought frm the first owners themselves. Not sure if you can see it through the pictures, but the whole house is basically painted in rockstone, even the ceiling! But after much deliberation, we decided not name any theme and just let our ID suggest some ideas based on our likings. Will try to put up some pics of the 3D soon. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hippobb 0 Report post Posted August 19, 2010 In the beginning , was quite confused on what kind of theme that we want for our new place. Basically, if you can see from the pics, the resale flat that we buy need a total makeover since we bought frm the first owners themselves. Not sure if you can see it through the pictures, but the whole house is basically painted in rockstone, even the ceiling! But after much deliberation, we decided not name any theme and just let our ID suggest some ideas based on our likings. Will try to put up some pics of the 3D soon. ah ... my whole house was also painted in rockstone including the ceiling, toilet ceiling .... it was plastered over for the whole hse to smoothen out the walls and ceiling... now it is swee liao.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bangbang 0 Report post Posted August 19, 2010 In the beginning , was quite confused on what kind of theme that we want for our new place. Basically, if you can see from the pics, the resale flat that we buy need a total makeover since we bought frm the first owners themselves. Not sure if you can see it through the pictures, but the whole house is basically painted in rockstone, even the ceiling! But after much deliberation, we decided not name any theme and just let our ID suggest some ideas based on our likings. Will try to put up some pics of the 3D soon. Mine previously also rockstone when we bought it..CMI..i gt no regret after plastering.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
captaincoby 0 Report post Posted August 19, 2010 Yup, dats what I did too, plaster the whole house including ceiling. The result turn out to be good too! But do you think plastering will show cracklines after a while? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hippobb 0 Report post Posted August 19, 2010 Yup, dats what I did too, plaster the whole house including ceiling. The result turn out to be good too! But do you think plastering will show cracklines after a while? guess at one point of time, rockstone spraying was the trend eh? so far on the normal walls no cracklines... but my contractor did mention that on the walls that are newly built up ... will be more prone to hairline cracks especially on old flats.. and if there are any he will send his guys to do touch up... anyway we just found a very tiny hairline crack on one of our newly build up wall which used to be a door way... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
captaincoby 0 Report post Posted August 19, 2010 yes, it was indeed a trend at some point in time for rockstone design. Aniwae glad to hear that plastering will not caused carck lines. As for my reno, I just demolish some walls and never erect new walls, so I guess no worries for crack lines. Thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
captaincoby 0 Report post Posted August 23, 2010 As promised, here are the 3D design. Just hope that everything will turn out well My living room Dining Area Kitchen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
captaincoby 0 Report post Posted August 23, 2010 MBR WIW Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
captaincoby 0 Report post Posted August 23, 2010 shoe cabinet Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
black shadow 0 Report post Posted August 27, 2010 hi captaincoby, wow your 3D drawings swee swee... wishing u luck in your reno. Care to pm me how much for such whole-house reno ? My resale new HDB oso need to do up whole house.... Thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites