sanntan

4ng Bedok Reservoir Road

Hello sanntann,

Hope I'm not too late to welcome you to RT. Likewise I'm looking forward to the 25th Aug as well, will be collecting my keys then. :rolleyes:

How's your trip to the IDs, I don't have much plesant experience like froggy with ids, walked to one of them in IMM, and turn up that the ID didn't do

anything at all after 2 weeks after our meeting; and purely added the things I requested ontop of their "BASIC 3-room resale reno" package.

Needless to say I didn't continue with them..

Anyway, take your time to do your research; get at least 3 quotes.. it would be easyier siince you have an idea what you want. Once you finalised your desired layout (you may like some ideas from some magazine like home-style; or IDs), then conceptualise and ask them for quote. Henry should be able to get you a rough idea of the market prices; he seem to be a popular contractor here in renotalk. My price ranges about $8000 from the cheapest to the most expensive quote;

Hello everyone!

Been reading RenoTalk for a while now. Getting a 4NG model in Bedok Reservoir Road, estimated 2nd Appt around 20th October. Now waiting for 1st Appt on the 25th August! Been sourcing around for IDs and also furniture window shopping. Realized this is a pretty good time to get things! Courts got sale, Comex is coming, and end of year general sale going on everywhere! Sourcing for furniture is fun, but also very tiring. Can't wait to move into a new place, away from this old, conventional 3NG we have at the moment. Want to upgrade and create a dream home for 4 of us. :)

This is the floorplan I have planned.

floorplan2r.jpg

I got myself a storage bed as well; You are right a (queen) storage bed would cost anywhere from $840. Usually you can get a better deal with purchase of mattress (purchase with purchase they call it). Eventually i bought my Kingkoil Bed+storage devan at just above $2k during the kingkoil sale.

Goodluck with your quotation.

Then... We walked around amongst the many many bed exhibitors looking at storage beds.. And came across Englander. They had a pretty good deal for a storage bed frame. $999! Don't know if it's the best price but we liked how the storage was built. Inside was deeper, and the wood material was good too. The rest were just lining. One had a 5 year guarantee for the hydraulic pump for the lifting frame, but Englander was promoting a better one for 10 years guarantee! We told her we'll walk around but in the end we came back to her because the rest of the beds weren't impressive enough.

The bed. We were not going to buy a mattress because we wanted to use the one we already have, but we changed our mind today, and I'm going to call Sandy (lady who sold us) and ask her if there is a promotion going on for the mattress. Hee.

sbedclosed.jpg

This is how it looks opened up.

sbedopen.jpg

A closer look. See how good the inside is... So shiny!

sbedopencloseup.jpg

Hello sanntann,

Hope I'm not too late to welcome you to RT. Likewise I'm looking forward to the 25th Aug as well, will be collecting my keys then. :rolleyes:

How's your trip to the IDs, I don't have much pleasant experience like froggy with ids, walked to one of them in IMM, and turn up that the ID didn't do

anything at all after 2 weeks after our meeting; and purely added the things I requested on top of their "BASIC 3-room resale reno" package.

Needless to say I didn't continue with them..

oh! what time is your appt? maybe I will bump into you at HDB TPY... :) mine is 0945hrs. but it's only 1st appt... so far away!

wasn't really into hiring an ID for my place... since we have pretty much what we want in mind... just need ideas to maybe improve the layout of how things are arranged. apparently the ID firms at IMM aren't very much to be hoo-ha about. I never entered ANY firms there. only went to some of them at the Expo fair. other than that, the rest of the ideas we got were from RT posters! looking forward to seeing who we will choose in the end. :)

Anyway, take your time to do your research; get at least 3 quotes.. it would be easier since you have an idea what you want. Once you finalized your desired layout (you may like some ideas from some magazine like home-style; or IDs), then conceptualize and ask them for quote. Henry should be able to get you a rough idea of the market prices; he seem to be a popular contractor here in renotalk. My price ranges about $8000 from the cheapest to the most expensive quote;

I got myself a storage bed as well; You are right a (queen) storage bed would cost anywhere from $840. Usually you can get a better deal with purchase of mattress (purchase with purchase they call it). Eventually i bought my Kingkoil Bed+storage divan at just above $2k during the kingkoil sale.

Good luck with your quotation.

I got my first quote from a firm already. $21k. not really taking that seriously, going to see what the upcoming offers are. my favorite magazine so far is Square Rooms! lots of ideas for small spaces. love love.

speaking of which, thanks for the reminder... really need to call Englander tomorrow to see if I can get a mattress along with the purchased bed frame.

update!

1) Sandy from Englander said we should go down to take a look at the mattresses before deciding to get it with the storage bed we purchased. will arrange a day for that.

2) visited Megatex today... many TV promotions but can't choose which one! and don't wanna buy yet... comex and end of year sale! I got my eye on a kenwood mini water boiler but gf said it was too small... :( $32 only! didn't buy.

3) also... spoke to edmund from DX. had a very good impression of him! will arrange for on-site measurements before quote/confirmation.

4) henry did not make it for our appointment today... :( so nothing to say about him.... just will say that had some last minute changes yesterday, and he was unable to adapt to change of timing. understandable for a busy man!

5) patrick from ho bee has not gotten back to me after I have sent him the pictures...

6) got the photocopying done today, all set for 1st appt!

welcome to RT. ur new place condition do really look good. lucky u will spend much lesser on the reno lor. Looking forward to ur renovation posts!

thank you! hope will be shun shun li li... the big challenge is... I only have 1 week to reno, 1 week to move in... :( hope everything can be done... if not most to most live in and do carpentry work lor. better than air-con, plumbing, painting.

Edited by sanntan

new pictures from on site visit! just 2 of us... since agent cannot make it back (cos we got lost riding there) and henry also cannot make it... :dunno:

here is the foyer which I plan to have built in cabinet and settee...

dscn4609a.jpg

dscn4611.jpg

and this is the living room console area! which I also plan to have a built in console cum dvd rack cum book shelf.

dscn4624.jpg

Edited by sanntan

this is the dining area which I won't be changing the cabinets...

(today we found out from the sellers that they are requesting to extract the built in oven and hob and hood... asked my agent about it, he said that by right, we have full right to refuse because we're buying all parts of the flat as ONE... if we want to give them, we have to 1) hunt for new appliances that fit perfectly. 2) reno whole kitchen... which means confirm we will rent a place for a month till reno is done because we refuse to stay in reno.

either ways... I lugi, cos I need to fork out money! so I don't think we will give them... :bleah: )

view from entrance of kitchen

dscn4619.jpg

view of nice pwetty cabinets...

dscn4613j.jpg

view of cut off kitchen (behind short cabinet is dining area)

dscn4614d.jpg

view of hob/oven/hood

dscn4637fk.jpg

dscn4635.jpg

dining area.... I don't like the tiles. very old fashioned and ugly for a dining zone. going to see what ID can do about it!

dscn4621.jpg

dscn4623j.jpg

dscn4622.jpg

and now, bed time in the MBR!

dscn4631.jpg

side for built in wardrobe for 2 people... should be big enough

dscn4632.jpg

mother's bedroom

dscn4626.jpg

built in wardrobe side

dscn4627.jpg

brother's room

dscn4625.jpg

that's about it for now! :yamseng:

meanwhile... need to make appt for another on site measurement - this time for edmund!

Good condition the place. Flooring in hall and bedrooms look good. Toilets I think you must do some work lah. Fastest way w/o hacking is to waterproof and overlay. Same goes with kitchen wall tiles. In fact better to screed over with cement and use lacobel glass or something instead of tiles. Imo only.

As for the seller, tell them cannot extract anything. If they wanted they should have said upfront before OTP and what not exercised. Too bad for them.

Good luck with the reno.

yeah, how can request to take it when u hv bought the flat with the understanding that all comes along. Tell them purchase price is as per valuation which includes with fixtures.

hi sanntan!

I have the exact layout except it's mirror image. starting my reno end of sep. and i am quite near to you in bedok north.

hope to share ideas on reno. envy your place, in really good condition. mine is too, except design not to my liking so basically i will be tearing down the place. hehe...

hi sanntan!

I have the exact layout except it's mirror image. starting my reno end of sep. and i am quite near to you in bedok north.

hope to share ideas on reno. envy your place, in really good condition. mine is too, except design not to my liking so basically i will be tearing down the place. hehe...

I'll tag your t-blog!

I also wish to at least redo the kitchen initially, but as we're doing contra, my agent has forewarned me that I don't have much time to reno.... unless we opt for early reno. but then the seller is NOW asking ME for extended stay at MY new place.... while my buyer is impatient to move in as well... I think they're going to overhaul the whole house cos the state of my current flat is quite... wellll.... old school. so no chance of extending my stay here as well. :bangwall:

yup, let's share reno ideas! though mine is really not... much of a reno, just plus here plus there :)

I wish I have time to reno the whole place!

Today 1st appt day!

First, we had to wait for late Seller AND Agent. Since we are doing Contra, we need all three parties to be present. Our Buyer was already quite annoyed...

Anyway, we were ushered to the counter after a short wait one after another. Took turns to finalize and confirm all our documents. Then, we took turns to go into the interview room to sign many many documents, and confirmation papers. Turns out my mum has actually signed up for Trust, stating that for the sale of this current place, 50% will be returned to her, 25% to me, 25% to my brother. Thus we will have less to pay upfront for the new place, and I will need to use up more of my HLE loan (in fact, ALL $174,000 of it).

We now need my brother down within the next week or so to sign the documents since we didn't know about this Trust thing, and also copies of his I/C and our birth certs and death cert of my father.

After that, we went to Hommage Trading @ Tai Thong Crescent! Got a good deal of an L-shaped sofa (measurements to be confirmed) + 1 extra set of changeable covers for around $1,000.

Next thing on the list... We made a beeline for Baroque D'zign because of the many good reviews I have read on this forum. Met up with Andy and we insta-liked him. Waiting for a quote from him and some negotiations. Meanwhile, he has advised us to start arranging for our delivery for our air-con (need to request for 2 time installation), lights (we went to lightings.com straight after), and sinks. Sofa and Bed can come later... Don't know about TV and etc too, but we will need to decide on our size because we're aiming for an inbuilt console with lots of shelving.

Like I said, we went to lightings.com after that. bought 3 bedroom simple lights, and dining lights, and foyer light. And one simple living room light. We have not decided for the glam light in front of the TV yet cos we need to check the spacing for the ceiling fan.

2nd appt on the 20th October, here we come!