valkilmer 1 Report post Posted August 13, 2010 (edited) Hi guys, we have a 20 year old unit in simei and decided to renovate it in under $18k. won't be major work but cost efficient and hopefully will be nice. We are staying in one of the rooms now to save cost. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mJTwaW5ehrY Edited August 13, 2010 by valkilmer Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
junwei84 0 Report post Posted August 13, 2010 Hi guys, we have a 20 year old unit in simei and decided to renovate it in under $18k. won't be major work but cost efficient and hopefully will be nice. We are staying in one of the rooms now to save cost. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mJTwaW5ehrY another simei neighbour! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted August 13, 2010 (edited) Hi guys, we have a 20 year old unit in simei and decided to renovate it in under $18k. won't be major work but cost efficient and hopefully will be nice. We are staying in one of the rooms now to save cost. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mJTwaW5ehrY Welcome to SImei!.. another Simei-er.. Ha.. You started reno already while staying in 1 of the rooms? Wic block you staying? Edited August 13, 2010 by fencer Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
leechaorui 2 Report post Posted August 13, 2010 Welcome to RT. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
valkilmer 1 Report post Posted August 13, 2010 thks guys =) will update soon on my budget renovation Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
valkilmer 1 Report post Posted August 13, 2010 thks guys =) will update soon on my budget renovation guys do you think it's possible not to hack the cupboard but paint over it and change handles to give it a new lease of life? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_EVg6RQGwGg Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
leechaorui 2 Report post Posted August 13, 2010 guys do you think it's possible not to hack the cupboard but paint over it and change handles to give it a new lease of life? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_EVg6RQGwGg You may want to re-laminate it. Not sure whether it will look good and whether the paint can stick on if you paint over it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booksntoys 0 Report post Posted August 13, 2010 Hi, welcome! Simei is a small estate but from what I know, there already 5 of us here in RT! Correct me if i'm wrong Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted August 14, 2010 You may want to re-laminate it. Not sure whether it will look good and whether the paint can stick on if you paint over it. Tink re-laminate is a better choice.. Have a look at the wood condition also loh.. if not very good, might as well get a new one.. Hi, welcome! Simei is a small estate but from what I know, there already 5 of us here in RT! Correct me if i'm wrong including valkilmer is 6 loh.. jeffcraze, darkfear, booksntoys, junwei84 and me. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booksntoys 0 Report post Posted August 14, 2010 including valkilmer is 6 loh.. jeffcraze, darkfear, booksntoys, junwei84 and me. from the look of the id, I think i'm the odd one out - all da boh! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted August 14, 2010 WAH all squeezed into one room... so xing ku! *BRAVE PPLE*!!! jia you! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted August 14, 2010 (edited) from the look of the id, I think i'm the odd one out - all da boh! Haa.. no lah.. where got odd.. If i have to choose again, i won't use back the same contractor after so many unpleseant incidents loh.. like that i also odd 1 out liao.. HA.. Starting your blog soon? Edited August 14, 2010 by fencer Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted August 14, 2010 WAH all squeezed into one room... so xing ku! *BRAVE PPLE*!!! jia you! Hey pinkpetter, your new pl also in simei? correct me if i'm wrong hor.. wic part of Simei are u at? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jeffcraze 0 Report post Posted August 14, 2010 (edited) Welcome to Simei and RT! Whereabouts u staying? Edited August 14, 2010 by jeffcraze Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booksntoys 0 Report post Posted August 15, 2010 Haa.. no lah.. where got odd.. If i have to choose again, i won't use back the same contractor after so many unpleseant incidents loh.. like that i also odd 1 out liao.. HA.. Starting your blog soon? Talk 'bt contractor! Sigh sigh big time We only asked quotes from 2 contractors - one super ex, the other one's pricing quite below average or average. So we chose the later. Now sort of regret not reading up ppls' blog on RT, e.g., like I would have chose Jaskal? Cos in the near final end of our reno, our contractor's organisation skill (in co-ordinating all the different groups of workers to do the reno) quite screw-up. Plus I think he sub out the jobs, hence our reno dragged on for so long with days of doing-nothing in between Do any of you encounter such problems? Fencer, nope, I can't even upload photos here, how to start blog? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites