bk888

Taboos For Lunar 7th Month

Since the chinese ghost festival is around the corner, is there anything we should watch out for? Avoid?

Especially important for families with young children cuz they are very 'sensitive'.

Any contribution is welcome.

based on what i know nia ok? applicable to adults & children unless otherwise stated

1. Don't step or kick or make stupid comments on prayer offerings

2. Don't step or purposely go kick burnt ash (leftover from burning offerings)

3. If u're e one doing offerings downstairs, don't look back when done.

4. DO NOT reply if u hear someone calling yr name at night & u're unsure who it is

5. If u smell fragant flower smell like frangipani (spelling unsure), leave area fast

6. Make sure u do yr offerings outside yr house, never inside

7. Don't bring back any stray umbrellas from outside

8. Don't go visit graveyards or haunted places at night

9. Don't do the obvious like playing plate spirit or pen spirit etc

10. Don't go pee in dark places w/out saying excuse me (esp for army guys in e wild)

11. if yr child has 3rd eye or some ESP, try not to bring him/her down if u're burning offeringds downstairs

12. Don't bring back any dolls/figurines of unknown origins. e more lifelike e toy, e more easy it is to be possessed

by unwanted spirits

13. Do not bring back any statues of worship from unknown places/origins eg. under a tree, from a abandoned temple

14. For offerings, use whole portion of animal eg whole chicken whole duck, not chicken parts, for fish do not remove inner organs or scale

15. for fruits/veges, do not use bittergourd. fruits do not use this combo at same time banana, pear, pineapple

16. not sure if still practiced but if u go getai, if nobody sits on 1st row, dun "gei kiang" & sit there, it's not meant for u

17. don't take any offerings from altar table

18. don't go swimming late at night esp in quiet spots

er ta's all i can think of for now, anyone wana add on? this is going to be interesting.

based on what i know nia ok? applicable to adults & children unless otherwise stated

1. Don't step or kick or make stupid comments on prayer offerings

2. Don't step or purposely go kick burnt ash (leftover from burning offerings)

3. If u're e one doing offerings downstairs, don't look back when done.

4. DO NOT reply if u hear someone calling yr name at night & u're unsure who it is

5. If u smell fragant flower smell like frangipani (spelling unsure), leave area fast

6. Make sure u do yr offerings outside yr house, never inside

7. Don't bring back any stray umbrellas from outside

8. Don't go visit graveyards or haunted places at night

9. Don't do the obvious like playing plate spirit or pen spirit etc

10. Don't go pee in dark places w/out saying excuse me (esp for army guys in e wild)

11. if yr child has 3rd eye or some ESP, try not to bring him/her down if u're burning offeringds downstairs

12. Don't bring back any dolls/figurines of unknown origins. e more lifelike e toy, e more easy it is to be possessed

by unwanted spirits

13. Do not bring back any statues of worship from unknown places/origins eg. under a tree, from a abandoned temple

14. For offerings, use whole portion of animal eg whole chicken whole duck, not chicken parts, for fish do not remove inner organs or scale

15. for fruits/veges, do not use bittergourd. fruits do not use this combo at same time banana, pear, pineapple

16. not sure if still practiced but if u go getai, if nobody sits on 1st row, dun "gei kiang" & sit there, it's not meant for u

17. don't take any offerings from altar table

18. don't go swimming late at night esp in quiet spots

er ta's all i can think of for now, anyone wana add on? this is going to be interesting.

no reno

no wedding

no parties

no ot

no buy/sell house

http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/3614/2010zo.jpg

really no reno???

kena sia! my renov is delayed, gg to finish 2 wks from now.. tts 7th mth.

If no reno, workers eat NW wind & measure the road liao. Just try to stop work after sunset ~ 6pm .

Eh.. my fengshui master tells me it's ok .. Ghost month nothing to do with fengshui.

My start reno date is either 24th august or 30th august ...

Anyway.. just curious.. how come ghost month will affect the chinese but not the ang mohs or indians?

Eh.. my fengshui master tells me it's ok .. Ghost month nothing to do with fengshui.

My start reno date is either 24th august or 30th august ...

Anyway.. just curious.. how come ghost month will affect the chinese but not the ang mohs or indians?

The more logical answer to this question is: only chinese ghosts kena released within this month lah, and these ghosts practise racism.

hehe... Although I am not that "pan tang" and I am taking over my unit in the middle of August and will proceed with the cleaning and minor reno. Of cse i will still move in after the lunar seventh month to have a "feel good" factor.

bepgof, ialmost drop off my chair laughing so hard..... :D

i oso doing my reno in 7th month. but must choose good day and pray. sometime i think, we make our life difficult, we dun see other races or religion facing such issue. i think i will go to new hse downstair to pray on the 1st day ( even though nt yet get keys ) to inform " hao siong tee " .....

reno wise, i heard frm parents its OK to start reno before 7th mth and have the work thru the 7th mth. just try to avoid starting on the 7th mth. since some pple choose dates to start reno, there are not many good dates in the 7th mth.

:rofl:

HAHA ! :) GOod one! :) .. Next time must asked the indians and ang mohs which month their respective ghosts are released.

hello win

u win u win

:bow:

hehe... Although I am not that "pan tang" and I am taking over my unit in the middle of August and will proceed with the cleaning and minor reno. Of cse i will still move in after the lunar seventh month to have a "feel good" factor.

I get some confusion abt identity of wd88, wj88, bk888, warrior88...now I see 888888888...

After got key, before reno starts( only one bulb), I stayed alone for 2 saturday nights with some cardboards just to have that "feel". Missed them very much.

Actually can do all things within 7 month lah, just that ying qi particularly "heavy" during this period, lagi "heavy" at nights. So u know what & how to do lah. Jupiter just round on top our head, the super heavy gravitional force (>1.4 times)will make our minds blur blur.......