runmyhousehold 0 Report post Posted July 29, 2010 Our balcony has some super obiang terrazo tiles. Besides hacking and re-tiling, are there any other options? Any suggestions? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
leechaorui 2 Report post Posted July 30, 2010 Our balcony has some super obiang terrazo tiles. Besides hacking and re-tiling, are there any other options? Any suggestions? You could continue using them if you could design the house that matches with the tiles. If you want to restore the shine of your terrazzo, you can polish the tiles with a terrazzo grinder which is like a heavy floor polisher. After polishing, you can clean and seal the dry surface for a lustrous finish. Cheers! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
runmyhousehold 0 Report post Posted July 30, 2010 You could continue using them if you could design the house that matches with the tiles. If you want to restore the shine of your terrazzo, you can polish the tiles with a terrazzo grinder which is like a heavy floor polisher. After polishing, you can clean and seal the dry surface for a lustrous finish. Cheers! Unfortunately, it doesn't match at all! It's ghastly to say the least. But to hack and re-tile may be quite ex so I was looking for cheaper alternatives. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
leechaorui 2 Report post Posted August 5, 2010 Unfortunately, it doesn't match at all! It's ghastly to say the least. But to hack and re-tile may be quite ex so I was looking for cheaper alternatives. Another alternative is to lay outdoor bamboo/ chengai wood strips above your terrazzo. If that doesn't work, you can try overlay tiles or pebbles on your existing terrazzo. Cheers! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
runmyhousehold 0 Report post Posted August 5, 2010 Another alternative is to lay outdoor bamboo/ chengai wood strips above your terrazzo. If that doesn't work, you can try overlay tiles or pebbles on your existing terrazzo. Cheers! Thanks so much!! Great ideas! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Eva2100 0 Report post Posted August 6, 2010 change the tiles all ...if it's possiable.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bepgof 20 Report post Posted August 6, 2010 (edited) Another alternative is to lay outdoor bamboo/ chengai wood strips above your terrazzo. If that doesn't work, you can try overlay tiles or pebbles on your existing terrazzo. Cheers! Balcony is for rainwater to soak, sunlight to bake, bamboo/chengi strips tai boleh tahan lah. Some more at $12/psf. Can't withstand the sight of terrazzo? Want cheapest ? Lay vinyl sheet. Sleeping on top, shiok! Mopping also easy! Take take rainwater goes into betwwen tiles & the layer on top hor. Edited August 6, 2010 by bepgof Share this post Link to post Share on other sites