neubie 2 Report post Posted July 25, 2010 (edited) I'm sure this has happened to all, one way or another. Set some requirements and budget, approached a few ID quotes, compare their email quotes. As initial quote is simply based on floorplan (the dimensions given by HDB are way off the actual internal measurements!!!) and no way to ascertain what sort of materials and workmanship & craftmanship the IDs give, first thing to look at is the pricing. Quotes that are way off average are simply discarded. Quite straightforward, and start comparing the really close ones. Upon narrowing down to a few quotes, arrange for ID to personally survey the actual layout for more accurate quotes (reduce any VO). Say three contenders, A, B & C. If preference is given to A with an attractive quote and creative money-saving ideas, B which is not so creative but comes along and ask you what's the outcome, and says that he will attempt to match, if not, better A's or C's offer based on the A's design. How then should one go about evaluating this, since price is the main consideration that decides who will get the deal, also quality & reputation affects the decision process... One can simply tell B (or C) what A's design is and see if B (or C) is able to match/better pricing. But is it "ethical" to do this, since the ideas are "copyright" to A? If B gets my biz will A be TL and #$%&* at me??? Sometimes it's really paisay to reject them, but at the end of the day, the contract goes to one.... any thoughts on this??? Also, not every item IDs quote will be the cheapest out of the shortlisted candidates...eg, based on same workscope, - A quotes cheapest demolition and carpentry prices but quote the highest for masonry works - B quotes cheapest masonry but expensive for painting - C quotes cheapest AC rewiring and plumbing but expensive for carpentry - and so forth.... Hypothetically speaking, will I be effed if I engage A for demolition & carpentry, B for masonry, C for electricals & plumbing??? will either A, B or C ask me go fly kite? Edited July 25, 2010 by neubie Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wolflet 1 Report post Posted July 25, 2010 for me i will ask to go look at completed units of the individual IDs to at least have a rough gauge of ID owner relations and workmanship quality. if A quotes low but quality loses out, then its really no point. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
limwsv 0 Report post Posted July 30, 2010 for me i will ask to go look at completed units of the individual IDs to at least have a rough gauge of ID owner relations and workmanship quality. if A quotes low but quality loses out, then its really no point. The IDs don't do everything by themselves or maybe even nothing except the design. So the subcontractors, ie carpenters, tilers, electrician and so on do the various pieces. Problem is that IDs work with the partners that they are familiar with. They then add their margins on top of the actual workers, so you have a wide variance in prices. Unless you find all the subcontractors yourself and ask your ID to work with them, it's going to be hard for you to break up the pieces of the work. Remember if the other ID promise to match the price on the first ID design, his subcon may not be able to do it as well if the design is novel or not standard. You should only do it if the design is commonplace and/or the work is something that is already standard in the industry. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dolphiny 0 Report post Posted July 30, 2010 i think its better if u can find out more on the id rather than to start with one bcos of a good price & end up having a headache later on. As long as the price dun differs much Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
junior 0 Report post Posted August 9, 2010 I'm sure this has happened to all, one way or another. Set some requirements and budget, approached a few ID quotes, compare their email quotes. As initial quote is simply based on floorplan (the dimensions given by HDB are way off the actual internal measurements!!!) and no way to ascertain what sort of materials and workmanship & craftmanship the IDs give, first thing to look at is the pricing. Quotes that are way off average are simply discarded. Quite straightforward, and start comparing the really close ones. Upon narrowing down to a few quotes, arrange for ID to personally survey the actual layout for more accurate quotes (reduce any VO). Say three contenders, A, B & C. If preference is given to A with an attractive quote and creative money-saving ideas, B which is not so creative but comes along and ask you what's the outcome, and says that he will attempt to match, if not, better A's or C's offer based on the A's design. How then should one go about evaluating this, since price is the main consideration that decides who will get the deal, also quality & reputation affects the decision process... One can simply tell B (or C) what A's design is and see if B (or C) is able to match/better pricing. But is it "ethical" to do this, since the ideas are "copyright" to A? If B gets my biz will A be TL and #$%&* at me??? Sometimes it's really paisay to reject them, but at the end of the day, the contract goes to one.... any thoughts on this??? Also, not every item IDs quote will be the cheapest out of the shortlisted candidates...eg, based on same workscope, - A quotes cheapest demolition and carpentry prices but quote the highest for masonry works - B quotes cheapest masonry but expensive for painting - C quotes cheapest AC rewiring and plumbing but expensive for carpentry - and so forth.... Hypothetically speaking, will I be effed if I engage A for demolition & carpentry, B for masonry, C for electricals & plumbing??? will either A, B or C ask me go fly kite? aSK ME TO QUOTE .. cHEERS Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted August 10, 2010 The IDs don't do everything by themselves or maybe even nothing except the design. So the subcontractors, ie carpenters, tilers, electrician and so on do the various pieces. Problem is that IDs work with the partners that they are familiar with. They then add their margins on top of the actual workers, so you have a wide variance in prices. Unless you find all the subcontractors yourself and ask your ID to work with them, it's going to be hard for you to break up the pieces of the work. Remember if the other ID promise to match the price on the first ID design, his subcon may not be able to do it as well if the design is novel or not standard. You should only do it if the design is commonplace and/or the work is something that is already standard in the industry. i would think this is very true...thanks to RT forums, i have a much better grasp on what I can do for my 3rm resale flat liao...initially blur sotong go ask ID design, they will mark up the price, and give some beautiful 3D renderings and i pay for their creativeness and AutoCAD skills and (maybe not) their workmanship. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites