jaskel 2 Report post Posted July 20, 2010 To have a retro theme, u must also know which one u will want to go for...oriental (those 70's, 80's kopitiam style) or western (Sat. night fever. Austin Power,etc.. style)? Mixing both up will become messy, neither here nor there type of feeling. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Happy Mummy 0 Report post Posted July 20, 2010 To have a retro theme, u must also know which one u will want to go for...oriental (those 70's, 80's kopitiam style) or western (Sat. night fever. Austin Power,etc.. style)? Mixing both up will become messy, neither here nor there type of feeling. Ya, your are right Jaskel with your comment. Looking at my existing furniture, I would have to go for the western style though I think a bit of fusion if done carefully and tastefully, should be fine eg. white cotton lacy bedlinen with beautiful yet understated embroidery should be able to blend in - oh, I am going to ask my friend to get it from Shanghai. Die die must have one set. Actually my seller was asking me whether to buy over his oriental rose wood with mother of pearl settee. They paid $7000 for it many yrs ago. Very heavy and in good condition. But I told them no lah, somehow not for this time. If anyone who is keen on it, I will help to link you up with the seller. I see whether I can take some pictures tomorrow. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mookie 0 Report post Posted July 21, 2010 Wow, so I can pick up tips from you on this theme? Hurray! I am yet to think about my furniture but thanks for sharing the info on charlie. Would I be able to search for it on internet? Sorry my bad. It is Junkie's corner. The owner's name is Charlie. Blur. hahah..I can PM u his addy if u want. But he is like a gurnng guni man so lots of local retro stuff but afraid no western retro fr him. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted July 21, 2010 Oh i love your poster! Where in hk did u get this? is it expensive? oh nope its very cheap, HKD 10 from Temple Street night market. this advert is for cough syrup, they got many for cigarettes... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted July 21, 2010 Ya, your are right Jaskel with your comment. Looking at my existing furniture, I would have to go for the western style though I think a bit of fusion if done carefully and tastefully, should be fine eg. white cotton lacy bedlinen with beautiful yet understated embroidery should be able to blend in - oh, I am going to ask my friend to get it from Shanghai. Die die must have one set. Actually my seller was asking me whether to buy over his oriental rose wood with mother of pearl settee. They paid $7000 for it many yrs ago. Very heavy and in good condition. But I told them no lah, somehow not for this time. If anyone who is keen on it, I will help to link you up with the seller. I see whether I can take some pictures tomorrow. western retro..? nice...actually retro to me is nice already...haha posters of vintage cars? hee... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lilithfiend 0 Report post Posted July 21, 2010 (edited) hello happy mummy, welcome to RT! your alias conjures up cute images..lol. your theme of retro resort sounds like a real challenge..its gonna be hard to marry both concepts together. i see you're considering cement screed flooring & wall in your kitchen..as many have mentioned, you must be prepared for cracks. i personally think cracks on walls will be more obvious than floors so perhaps you want to consider just cement screeding the floors and tiling the walls (or just leaving it plastered & painted). the cost of cement screeding and tiling should not have much difference, except with tiling, you'll have to pay for the tiles. and yes, not many contractors can do a good job which is why they'll give you 1001 reasons why you shouldn't do it. it sounds like you're plastering only certain walls? i would recommend plastering the entire unit because it will make a huge difference to 30 year old walls, speaking from personal experience here Edited July 21, 2010 by lilithfiend Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Happy Mummy 0 Report post Posted July 21, 2010 Sorry my bad. It is Junkie's corner. The owner's name is Charlie. Blur. hahah..I can PM u his addy if u want. But he is like a gurnng guni man so lots of local retro stuff but afraid no western retro fr him. Thanks Mookie. Yes I don't mind to have the address. Will he have some paranakan stuff like the coloured tiles too? What's your view to incorporate a bit of that (again thru careful blending)? Thought of introducing its culture to my gal since she is 1/4 baba.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Happy Mummy 0 Report post Posted July 21, 2010 oh nope its very cheap, HKD 10 from Temple Street night market. this advert is for cough syrup, they got many for cigarettes... Hahaha, this blur mummy....never study, good that never gives the cough mixture to my gal..... HKD10 only for the poster, what a find! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Happy Mummy 0 Report post Posted July 21, 2010 hello happy mummy, welcome to RT! your alias conjures up cute images..lol. your theme of retro resort sounds like a real challenge..its gonna be hard to marry both concepts together. i see you're considering cement screed flooring & wall in your kitchen..as many have mentioned, you must be prepared for cracks. i personally think cracks on walls will be more obvious than floors so perhaps you want to consider just cement screeding the floors and tiling the walls (or just leaving it plastered & painted). the cost of cement screeding and tiling should not have much difference, except with tiling, you'll have to pay for the tiles. and yes, not many contractors can do a good job which is why they'll give you 1001 reasons why you shouldn't do it. it sounds like you're plastering only certain walls? i would recommend plastering the entire unit because it will make a huge difference to 30 year old walls, speaking from personal experience here Thanks, Lilithfiend for your warm welcome and sharing Ya, I like being a mummy. I also tell others that I am a full time mummy and part time worker esp now that I work freelance only. Yes, after taking into account all of the advices and the concern for my gal's health, I think I am forgoing cement screed flooriing and yes, will have plastered walls in the kitchen as otherwise it will be very odd for the joint between the dinning and kitchen walls. I can also choose a nice paint colour plus hanging up drawing boards on the lower kitchen wall without worrying the drilling would spoil the wall tiles. Yeh! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mookie 0 Report post Posted July 21, 2010 Thanks Mookie. Yes I don't mind to have the address. Will he have some paranakan stuff like the coloured tiles too? What's your view to incorporate a bit of that (again thru careful blending)? Thought of introducing its culture to my gal since she is 1/4 baba.... Hi hi Junkie's corner has no peranakan tiles, but there is a retro shop on tras street that sells them abt $22 a piece. Give me some time, I will go dig out both their address and pm u. Oh ya, if u really want the cement lok without having to worry abt cracks or allergies, u can try the cement tiles. I ve seen them before in home decor mags (big slabs 60cm by 60 cm kind) but not sure if they are any good. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted July 21, 2010 Thanks gals_mama, my neighbour to be, for your advice and sharing . How I wish there are more RT members from AMK Ave 4 like those who are from Sengkang and Fernville. Yet to read up your blog these few days, have you moved in already? Do you like the environment? I am very new to AMK Ave 4. Oh, I really like your MBR design. Ya I hope to finalize my reno partner by this week so that we can submit the permit next week - still finding ways to cut cost without affecting the quality. Tomorrow I will be visiting my flat to take some picture and measurements then hopefully can share the pictures with you gals/guys. I think ours very old estate hence less ppl buying. Haven move in, will move in this Sat. Love the environment! Cos we like super quiet and peaceful place. Also got the Mayflower market. Can go buay cai on weekends. St Nich is just behind us, walking dist. S u can consider getting her into that sch. I'm also new to AMK ave 4 but my inlaw has stayed in AMK for the past 30 years. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites