got my 5a flat and went to few contractors to get a quote.

i know exactly what i want and my budget is very realistic - 60K. walked ard imm and approach few of the companies stationed there and one of them being gplan - shirley. spent a good 30 minutes explaining to her abt my dream home and gave her the floor plan.

almost a month later, finally got a call from her

hi this is shirley fm gplan. r u still interested to do the project with us?

err, i waited so long liao so finally decided to go with another company coz i thought you are not interested to take up my project (hello! i am just asking for a simple quote)

no lah, i was busy with another project. so sorry.

ok. thanks but no thanks.

if she cant even handle a simple quote, good luck to those who has hired her to be ur co-ordinator. maybe my 60K budget is too low for her.

I agree with you if the ID/contractor cant even handle/understand simple instructions, DO NOT bother to further discuss ur ideas with them. coz in the future will create even more problems.

but i tink a lot company are in fact like G-plan, they take ages to come back with a quote. i think it is quite usual. but of course, i wont bother to wait for these kind of company to revert... they r not the only ID in singapore mah..

another company i approached was city design

told them very similar to what i told shirley and the guy actually called me within 2 days telling me that he has the quote ready. very impressive.

when i reached there and asked for the itemised quote, he said he dont have it but he said total cost would be around 60K plus minus 10%. i dont need him just to tell me the reno wl cost me 60K siao.

then he got bolder and asked me to sign with him! no way. why should i pay when i dont even know whats his price is. he thinks i am stupid or what. needless to say, that company and the guy are not doing my reno.

I read about GPLAN in the forum, so I visited their website sometime back and put in a request via their online form to contact me.

I never heard from them :furious:

Not sure if they even got my email, or could it be that my budget is too tiny to interest them. Or maybe their business is just too good.

Hi everyone,

I just wanna say that you have to be very careful who you wanna work with.

Even though GPlan has got good reviews and all, you must make sure you know what you're getting into and all and not completely trust the company to do up the whole place nicely.

Everyone has different expectations and I feel that some companies may not have same expectations as the customers and this may be very difficult WHEN the work is done and the customer is not satisfied and the company is not really willing to do anything about it.

I have loads more to say. but i feel i should not talk about it at the moment.

Just open your eyes people when you're choosing a interior designer or a contractor to work with.

I feel it's always good to get a few people's advice or expertise. THis is something which I didn't do and basically I left everything (like overseeing the whole renovation) to the company (based on trust). This is something which I regret tremendously and I hope you guys won't follow my mistake.

I wish to put up photos of my hse and all. But i feel that now is not the right time as the reno is still 'ongoing'.

Stay tune for a blog in future perhaps when everything's is done up and all.

I got most information from this forum and I feel it's only right I do some justice to forum readers (especially potential customers) by sharing with you guys my experience with GPlan and all.

Meanwhile, to potential customers:

happy searching for a good ID or contractor firm!!

Just be careful!!!!

Hi everyone,

Even though GPlan has got good reviews and all, you must make sure you know what you're getting into and all and not completely trust the company to do up the whole place nicely.

Everyone has different expectations and I feel that some companies may not have same expectations as the customers and this may be very difficult WHEN the work is done and the customer is not satisfied and the company is not really willing to do anything about it.

Just open your eyes people when you're choosing a interior designer or a contractor to work with.

I feel it's always good to get a few people's advice or expertise. THis is something which I didn't do and basically I left everything (like overseeing the whole renovation) to the company (based on trust). This is something which I regret tremendously and I hope you guys won't follow my mistake.

I wish to put up photos of my hse and all. But i feel that now is not the right time as the reno is still 'ongoing'.

I got most information from this forum and I feel it's only right I do some justice to forum readers (especially potential customers) by sharing with you guys my experience with GPlan and all.

Just be careful!!!!

would be good if you could share the ID name with us. Tks

Edited by allan

Hi everyone,

Just be careful!!!!

If you have something to share, tell us all in details... if not, we dun like to play guessing game here.

For all info, I was told that G-Plan already know that Roger Lim (already got caught) is a problematic person since Jul 2008, however the company still allow him to take in new project do to the reno work . . .

I still waiting for police to update me the status of outcome of the court.

For all info, I was told that G-Plan already know that Roger Lim (already got caught) is a problematic person since Jul 2008, however the company still allow him to take in new project do to the reno work . . .

I still waiting for police to update me the status of outcome of the court.

Anyone has tried Max Yu?

Hi al,

i hv went to gplan at imm last couple of weeks, n hv nearly convince to sign up e contract on the spot. Luckily my wife kiasu drag me away n went for another few id firm, n the end of few comparison quote found out that the price is the highers amongs all.. :deal::jawdrop: ! Nearly got slaughter heng ahhhhhh..... :sport-smiley-004:

Million thanks for al forumer!!!

Hi al,

i hv went to gplan at imm last couple of weeks, n hv nearly convince to sign up e contract on the spot. Luckily my wife kiasu drag me away n went for another few id firm, n the end of few comparison quote found out that the price is the highers amongs all.. :deal::jawdrop: ! Nearly got slaughter heng ahhhhhh..... :sport-smiley-004:

Million thanks for al forumer!!!

Which ID you choose? and is the quotation comparable, initially when Max provide the quote, we found that it is among the high side compared to weiken, * but i think the materila stated and design also play a part.

Hi Darkromeo,

I agreed wif u material stated n design play a part, n some of the items might b in high side. As my quote frm summit was abt 1.5k cheaper n stated materials n design is no much different than the couple of id i visited. Its jus tat i hv quoted my painting for 1.3k for 5-rm frm summit n i found tat its abit too expensive, than i hv taken out the painting item n i do diy :paint: . Hppy searching for id.... cheers

Hi Darkromeo,

I agreed wif u material stated n design play a part, n some of the items might b in high side. As my quote frm summit was abt 1.5k cheaper n stated materials n design is no much different than the couple of id i visited. Its jus tat i hv quoted my painting for 1.3k for 5-rm frm summit n i found tat its abit too expensive, than i hv taken out the painting item n i do diy :paint: . Hppy searching for id.... cheers

Can pm me?

Can pm me?

er, anything particular, we didnt choose Max in the end, but i think he may turn out to be a better and cost concern guy