leitmotiv

Level Thr3e

ahh.. maybe that why no tiles behind..

wow ur feature wall nice lehz.. Tiles lehz.. got add money or not.. Hahahaha..

hmm.. must ask free gifts from him.. :notti:

No, we weren't asked to add money for the tiles, but now we don't have a full board behind the feature wall. So maybe that's where they offset the cost. Since there's no board, we will be mounting our TV directly on the wall, there may be a bit of wires seen trailing down into the hole cut out for the wires to enter the sockets which are within the tv console. If we mount our tv higher on the wall, more wire will be seen.

We didn't really get any free gifts so far leh, but when there's a need to do something extra, we will take out something else so no need to top up. Leslie did help us paint our main door and door frames though. When we bought the bedroom doors, Best Industrial wanted to charge us $45 to paint each door frame. If Leslie did not agree to paint it, we're most likely going to paint it ourselves.

oh.. so did he suggest wat to do with the expose wire?

$45 for each door?! they paint castle door ah?

ur door never get from leslie meh?

oh.. so did he suggest wat to do with the expose wire?

$45 for each door?! they paint castle door ah?

ur door never get from leslie meh?

Well, Leslie told us to mount the TV as low and as close to the hole as possible. But it depends, if it is too low and uncomfortable to watch TV, then we'd rather see some wires.

Yalor, $45 just to paint each door frame leh! We have 3, so that means $135 just to paint the door frames white.

No, I remember asking Leslie or Jeremy to quote for bedroom doors, but quite expensive, so we didn't get from them. Then again, we didn't really ask what type of doors they quoted for, cos the price differs alot based on design and whether the doors are hollow, filled, solid wood, etc. Eventually, we got filled (which is not hollow, not solid wood, somewhere in between) classic doors from Best Industrial, about $200 each. They have a very wide variety of doors, worth taking a look. http://www.bestindustrial.com.sg/

haha.. u also realise leslie's doors super expensive right?

Im still thinking whether to get the main door from him..

Well, Leslie told us to mount the TV as low and as close to the hole as possible. But it depends, if it is too low and uncomfortable to watch TV, then we'd rather see some wires.

Yalor, $45 just to paint each door frame leh! We have 3, so that means $135 just to paint the door frames white.

No, I remember asking Leslie or Jeremy to quote for bedroom doors, but quite expensive, so we didn't get from them. Then again, we didn't really ask what type of doors they quoted for, cos the price differs alot based on design and whether the doors are hollow, filled, solid wood, etc. Eventually, we got filled (which is not hollow, not solid wood, somewhere in between) classic doors from Best Industrial, about $200 each. They have a very wide variety of doors, worth taking a look. http://www.bestindustrial.com.sg/

hi letimotiv

my first time visiitng yr blog, and coincidentally, I am also looking for room doors! Will visit Best one of these days to view their products. Thanks!

out of curiosity, when u say bedroom door is expensive, how expensive is it really? Anyone know how much a two colour veneer door costs?

haha.. u also realise leslie's doors super expensive right?

Im still thinking whether to get the main door from him..

Yes, I can't remember his quote exactly, but remember it's alot more expensive than if we get from other suppliers. You don't have to decide now, can compare his quote against other suppliers, then decide if you want to get from him. I see alot of ads in the papers for doors and gates every weekend, very easy to call up and ask for quotations.

really? Then think I must be blind. Always see furniture ads ... this sat must open my eyes big big :D

im getting my bedrooms doors from him liao.. main door next time den change ba.. haha.. since it dun affect anything..

hi letimotiv

my first time visiitng yr blog, and coincidentally, I am also looking for room doors! Will visit Best one of these days to view their products. Thanks!

out of curiosity, when u say bedroom door is expensive, how expensive is it really? Anyone know how much a two colour veneer door costs?

Hi froggy,

When we were asking around about the price of the cheapest type of door, which is the classic door, they're mostly around $150. Eventually at Best, we topped up some amount (forgot exact amount) for it to be wood-filled for extra strength, and topped up $35 for L-shaped handles, making a total of slightly more than $200 per door.

The most expensive door at Best is $750. That $750 door looks like it's laminated or coated with plastic, not the normal veneer door. The veneer door should be cheaper, not sure how much though. For us, we were only looking at the cheapest type of door, so didn't ask for price of veneer doors.

You can just check the website to see which designs you like, then call for a quote. We spoke to a nice lady called Huizi. Hope this helps!

im getting my bedrooms doors from him liao.. main door next time den change ba.. haha.. since it dun affect anything..

That's our plan too! Next time when we have spare cash then change, since it's easy to change. We just asked Leslie to sand down and paint the main door, and we're getting Best Industrial to change the lock set and eye view for the main door. It's $85 for the lock set and $5 for the eye view.

hopefully my main door can be saved.. haha..

hob-1.jpg

Strangely, there is a portion on the right of the sink where the wall is not tiled. I'm not sure what they're planning to do with that. Probably they thought the cabinet will be tall enough to cover the untiled portion? Anyway, it's definitely too thick for the solid surface to cover. The wall behind all our top cabinets is also untiled. Is that the way it's usually done?

It turns out that Jeremy and Leslie do know their stuff. The part was not tiled as the solid top would have been able to cover it anyway. Heres how it looks like now, with the solid top concealing the untiled area behind.

Solid top covers untiled wall

IMG_1217-730x547.jpg

There is another problem we realized when we went up on sunday

We noticed that the main door was not able to close fully and it brushes against the floor while closing/opening. I half suspect that this could be due to the paint being overlaid on the old paint coat.

I thought the norm is to have the door sandpapered before the new paint coat goes on? So that the door will not look thicker, yeah? Advice, anyone?

IMG_1215-730x547.jpg

Nice!!! Can see that things are going in place very quickly. Can do house visit soon!

As for the door, yes, by right they should sandpaper before painting. My contractor didnt do that for my door frames and now there are weird stuff protruding under the new coat of paint, very unsightly. My painters did very shoddy work, never sandpaper anything before painting one.

Anyway if the door rubs against the floor, then it's quite a problem. You dont want your door wearing down at the bottom, since you have to open and close your door every single day. Do take note and tell your ID about this.