darkfear

Destination: Simei

Not having a very good experience yesterday at the bathroom assy. shop...won't think I'll bring my future hse owners there to do shopping even is cheap. :angry:

Owners had selected all the tiles......and I've ordered all the tiles...to be deliver on Mon. :D

Some pics of the mosaic chosen.....keeping it mum on where its going to be used. :P

p1010875.jpg

From Hup Kiong

p1010880c.jpg

From Lian Seng Hin

p1010881t.jpg

From Lian Seng Hin

Edited by jaskel

Warning: Long Post Ahead.

Horrible experience with Universal Union Enterprises Pte Ltd (710 Geylang Road (next to Lor 44))

Went down to Geylang one day for a look as Hubby and I are looking to furnish our 2 bathrooms and kitchen. There are many such shops in that area, so it offers variety and a chance to scout around for better deals. We started our search from Paya Lebar mrt onwards and walked towards the smaller lorongs.. First few shops were okay, but when we reached UU at 710 Geylang Road, first impression was that it was more crowded than other shops and also occupied a larger shop area, so we thought, okay, this place looks popular = maybe good service/cheap.

After browsing for a couple of minutes we were approached by a friendly salesperson Steve and with his help, set our eyes on the $188 WC and basin package mentioned by Hubby a few posts ago. Pretty good deal to furnish the common bathroom. But we weren’t ready to purchase the item without our favourite contractor Jason, so we told Steve we’d drop by another day. Even managed to speak to the boss a bit, and he sounded nice and even cracked a couple of jokes too.

Went home, did my homework and googled them to find that there are many good reviews about their shop and staff.

Fast forward to last night when we dropped by again, ready to buy a truckload of stuff from them to try to bargain for a bulk discount. We were served by Steve again, who admittedly was quite new, so he was not very familiar with the products and prices. But that’s okay because at least he served us well, and we eventually spent 1.5 hours there picking out the WC, basin, tap and kitchen sink. Master bathroom WC at $520 was KIV-ed. And 7-pc bathroom accessories set too.

Jason and Hubby managed to negotiate for a better price and was told by Steve that if we were to settle the full payment by cash or nets, he wouldn’t charge us any GST on top of the discount of $50 off the kitchen sink, with a total price of $453. So we struck a deal and proceeded to formalize the order.

Steve was new so some fat lady took over to issue the final order form on the computer. Not friendly, no smile. Nevermind. Maybe s.hitty service comes hand-in-hand with good deals.

But imagine our shock when the final bill she quoted us was a full $100+ more at $559.61, charging full price for the kitchen sink and inclusive of GST (and some other items Steve forgot to include) Jason asked for an explanation for the price and she gave a can’t-be-bothered look combined with an are-you-stupid tone and said that all their items were package items (when obviously only the d.amn WC set is a package) so very cheap already cannot give discount. She also got the sink price wrong because it's just $200 but she keyed in $250, and when we pointed out she just say "neh Steve wrote $250". Not "sorry I will check with Steve". Hubby had to run out and get Steve himself. All this was told to Jason's face like it's his fault for getting it "wrong". And she insisted there was no such thing as GST-free before proceeding to give Steve a dressing down right in front of us.

Obviously we insisted that UU deliver on what their salesman promised on the GST but she just kept saying “everything already very cheap cos all package items”, followed by turning to scold Steve again “here we don’t give GST free one. Why you go and tell customer that”, while we were just standing there staring at her. So after the scolding, she just decidedly ignore us and stare at the screen for a few minutes leaving us in awkward silence. No proper resolution of the issue. Eventually she said "ok lah i give u $10 discount" and offered final price of something like $499.61.

Eventually, hubby just said no thanks and we simply walked out. Forget the deal, forget the 1.5 hours we wasted there. Poor Steve came running out to us at the junction and apologized profusely about the entire matter, and said the lady gave in already, but we thanked him for his service but said no thanks anyway. I haven’t seen such bad customer service before, and especially coming from UU after all those good comments? Please, we don’t especially gianyour stupid GST discount, but at least apologize and explain PROPERLY your reasons for not granting further discounts.

What’s the point of scolding your staff in front of customers, pissing your customers off, losing 400+ over 20+ (and likely more because of the KIV-ed WC and other taps etc), and also Jason's future patronage?

:furious:

Kitchen wall

p1010889h.jpg

From Earth Stone

Jason thanks for putting up the pics!! Hope all these tiles will turn out fantastic given their cost!!! Haha..

Yep as both Jason n wifey highlighted. Universal union experience was not too bad up til a very unprofessional fat pig ruined our time there. I wud not recommend at all unless u are the kind who will put up with food Nazis to have a gd plate of food..

Jason thanks for putting up the pics!! Hope all these tiles will turn out fantastic given their cost!!! Haha..

Yep as both Jason n wifey highlighted. Universal union experience was not too bad up til a very unprofessional fat pig ruined our time there. I wud not recommend at all unless u are the kind who will put up with food Nazis to have a gd plate of food..

Yup thanks Jason! You did all our work for us! Hehe.

Ha.. wonder how you all manage to choose so many different tiles from different shops.. ;)

i went to only 1 shop and see so many tiles, already headache liao.. :bangwall:

LOL fat pig :X

Wonder if little/big ms/mrs piggy is readying this.. Ha..

LOL fat pig :X

heh... yeah definitely.. fat + obnoxious = pig.. :P

Ha.. wonder how you all manage to choose so many different tiles from different shops.. ;)

i went to only 1 shop and see so many tiles, already headache liao.. :bangwall:

Wonder if little/big ms/mrs piggy is readying this.. Ha..

lol you are right fencer bro... we had a headache many many days and I think poor Jason suffered even more because he had to accomodate us.. Even today for bathroom stuff! I really must say kudos to him for being patient and professional all the way with us.. Will prepare a special place with special food for him during housewarming!! haha.. :D