darkfear

Destination: Simei

oh noz... another brown promoter!!! haha... ok la I am fine with brown but thought that it would be interesting to try something bold like red! still **** confused about the colour zzzz.....

we chose the color coz we want a cozy feel, nua nua - chillax type hehe...its about your personality, if you're the vibrant type, every morning jump out of bed ready to take on the challenges of the day macham superman, go for the red, i'm

sure it'll complement your cape ;) jokes aside though...you need to live with the choice till you sell the place so make it a good one :)

jeffcraze: if u take e lift on my side down to level 8, u'll see loan shark splashings painted over to cover it up.. hope it doesnt affect any one of us!

Wah! Dun scare me.. :unsure: Able to see the unit # or not? Hope has nothing to do with us... :bangwall:

yeah.. so d'amn sad to see such a thing happen loh.. i wrote to ICA already and will see what they gonna do. **** angry loh spf say they not gonna do anything.. i can just sense they are passing the buck around le. if both ICA and SPF sit on their asses and does not get resolved, i'm going to write to mp to get this resolved man.

Maybe we can gather and go to "Meet-the-MP" session and bang table! :P My case dragged for 2, 3 months le.. So very pissed at the "efficiency" rate of finding the bugger... :furious:

Last tm i heard, buyers before buying the flat, are adviced to ask neightbours if got any "loan sharks" etc.. got ppl go ask before buying house or not huh? or any background back on the unit?? coz i didn't leh... :P

Yes, Simei, altho small, is a shark ground. Dunno why.

We viewed around 30 units in Simei over a period of 9 mths before buying our current house.

Many of the units either have 0$P$ written & painted over along the unit's corridor walls, or a few storeys above/below them.

At Blk 15X, there were 2 Ah Long units - one above & one below the unit that was being sold.

We were desperate & immediately offered $45k COV.

Now that we think about it, it's good that the agent sold to his direct buyer who offered lower COV.

Couldn't imagine how unsafe it'll be for our kids, esp. the girls.

For most of the units that we were keen, we went around asking the neighbours about the unit's occupants or if there're any Ah Long house around.

We also went up & down the stairs to see if there were any painted-over O$P$.

Just to be extra careful...

Haha you mean NPP number is not 999?? :P

Anyway was quite disappointed that the police can't do anything about it. Can't even talk to the Eurohub pple on my behalf and just say that they can only step in if he comes again and charge him with harassment. But then I'm thinking, won't that be too late?? This time my gate kena some paint peeled off cos they stuck the letters with those transparent masking tape. I dunno what they might do next. :o

About the background check, we did kinda ask the auntie next door about some stuff but except from the fact that some ex-tenants were dirty, she didn't say anything leh. Moreover, the loan was made on 18 May which is during the time it was empty cos WE WERE BUYING the d.amn place!! It's obviously the Reuel guy trying to cheat the moneylender lor.

From SPF website loh..

Changi Neighbourhood Police Centre

Address : 9 Simei Street 2 Singapore 529914

Tel : 1800 - 587 2999

Fax : 6 587 2900

Since dun know what they going to do, just have to be careful when there loh.. :)

yeah.. so d'amn sad to see such a thing happen loh.. i wrote to ICA already and will see what they gonna do. **** angry loh spf say they not gonna do anything.. i can just sense they are passing the buck around le. if both ICA and SPF sit on their asses and does not get resolved, i'm going to write to mp to get this resolved man.

Get the emails as proof that u informed ICA and bring the letter to the SPF.. sometimes need a nudge..

if they dun agree, ask them call ICA themselves and sort things out. Get document proof that is not SPF.. :D

Yes, Simei, altho small, is a shark ground. Dunno why.

We viewed around 30 units in Simei over a period of 9 mths before buying our current house.

Many of the units either have 0$P$ written & painted over along the unit's corridor walls, or a few storeys above/below them.

At Blk 15X, there were 2 Ah Long units - one above & one below the unit that was being sold.

We were desperate & immediately offered $45k COV.

Now that we think about it, it's good that the agent sold to his direct buyer who offered lower COV.

Couldn't imagine how unsafe it'll be for our kids, esp. the girls.

For most of the units that we were keen, we went around asking the neighbours about the unit's occupants or if there're any Ah Long house around.

We also went up & down the stairs to see if there were any painted-over O$P$.

Just to be extra careful...

Hmm.. need to ask wife to be more careful from now on..

Get the emails as proof that u informed ICA and bring the letter to the SPF.. sometimes need a nudge..

if they dun agree, ask them call ICA themselves and sort things out. Get document proof that is not SPF.. :D

definitely, I've written to ICA through their enquiry email and also online feedback form. I give them 5 working days see how it goes.. **** sian man hai! I'm not gonna ask them call ICA or what liao if they refuse to do anything.. straightaway MP + newspapers.

Hmm.. need to ask wife to be more careful from now on..

yeah man, maybe at the next MP meet the people session we should bring this up and see what they can do for us.

definitely, I've written to ICA through their enquiry email and also online feedback form. I give them 5 working days see how it goes.. **** sian man hai! I'm not gonna ask them call ICA or what liao if they refuse to do anything.. straightaway MP + newspapers.

yeah man, maybe at the next MP meet the people session we should bring this up and see what they can do for us.

Likely it would take more then 5 working days.. is standard for govern sector.. coz 1 email, they'll route a few levels for approval/draft.. i wrote to LTA feedback on something near my pl, it took few weeks to get back..

Mine is not loan shark case.. is GE money i tink.. they come up to look for the ex-owner coz no reply call and letters..

Lucky we got the new add coz we did contra sale.. so we got their new address if we need to use it 1 day.. but they are stil nice to come pick up their letters lah..

Edited by fencer

If u guys gg, call me along... I sure have lots to complain abt the "efficiency"! :bangwall:

Wah! Dun scare me.. :unsure: Able to see the unit # or not? Hope has nothing to do with us... :bangwall:

nah... nth to do with us.. the unit is on e 8th fl.. cant remem which unit though.. juz hope they dun kajiao other pple around e area!

Update update! Just had a very good meeting with Jason and his partners.. I like that they're a dedicated bunch and d.amn upfront and frank about all our ideas.. :good: Like we're a team working towards an ultimate goal, not like other salespeople where it always seems like it's them against us..

And after lots of bickering :argue: between hubby and myself, I finally conceded defeat and red, black and white kitchen it is then! :bleah:

Handed over the keys and the initial deposit. Our renovation journey officially starts NOW! Woohoo!!! :yamseng:

(and Hubby can finally change his "Contractor: Secret :D" signature to something more decent le :lol:)

Update update! Just had a very good meeting with Jason and his partners.. I like that they're a dedicated bunch and d.amn upfront and frank about all our ideas.. :good: Like we're a team working towards an ultimate goal, not like other salespeople where it always seems like it's them against us..

And after lots of bickering :argue: between hubby and myself, I finally conceded defeat and red, black and white kitchen it is then! :bleah:

Handed over the keys and the initial deposit. Our renovation journey officially starts NOW! Woohoo!!! :yamseng:

(and Hubby can finally change his "Contractor: Secret :D" signature to something more decent le :lol:)

hahaha like wifey said, our open secret has become official le with the first deposit given to Mr Jason! But now we headache when we can have a "dong tu" date. hehe we are actually half-bucket feng shui dabblers who want to do abit but not the whole package...

anyone got advice on what should we do to make our house prosperous before we start reno????? :P

hahaha like wifey said, our open secret has become official le with the first deposit given to Mr Jason! But now we headache when we can have a "dong tu" date. hehe we are actually half-bucket feng shui dabblers who want to do abit but not the whole package...

anyone got advice on what should we do to make our house prosperous before we start reno????? :P

ask jaskel lah, he do so many reno liao sure meet some dong tu procedure.... he also very prosperous mah, can lah! :lol:

randomly surfed the net for "dong tu" procedures and I think there are generally 4 steps:

1) Open door procedure

2) Start of renovations - Dong Tu

3) End of renovations - Xie Tu

4) Move in - Lu Zai

Open door procedure

NO NEED to select date for 'open door' or 'thank the earth' after reno (debatable - another source says must choose good time/date) According to my understanding it's the first time you open the door after owning it (I think), which is too late for us cos once we received the keys we immediately chiong-ed down to the house. Too excited liao :sport-smiley-004:

For the 1st time open door, throwing in pineapple usually by the Hokkiens/ Teochews as pineapple sound like "ONG LYE" or prosperity come...

Start of renovations - Dong Tu

"Dong Tu" is actually a ceremony to inform "Tu Di Gong" that you going to start work on the house and ask for his blessing that everything is smooth. Have to pick a auspicious date and time that does not clash with your chinese Zodiac signs (no idea how to do that :unsure:) Fresh fruits, incense, chinese wine and etc are brought to offer. Other additional items can follow the advice of the elder family members/ relatives.

In general, when we first open door; symbolically we want to "deposit" wealth into the new home or apartment.

Start of renovations is often done. Here, the most simple procedure is to bring a hammer or a screw driver if we do not have the hammer and before starting renovations, usually say in mandarin " To all the gods, apologies, as I or we are starting renovations on ..... such a such a date." Afterwards, just knock three times on the floor or some on the wall.

Thereafter, shall proceed with the renovation immediately.

End of renovations - Xie Tu

Thank Tu Di Gong for bearing with the dust and noise. Still not quite sure how to do that since most pple say can skip this part.

Move-in Procedures

This is the day where you and your family members begin moving into the new home.

Again base on different traditions, there are certain procedures to follow. (Some are optional)

On the specified date, the following things are brought along:

1) Own personal belongings such as shaver, toothbrush, comb, nailclipper, soap, slippers and underwear. Your own bowl, chopsticks/ fork and spoon tied in red ribbon.

2) Broom and dustpan (new) tied in red ribbon ( place and hide away in the kitchen or store). A rice container filled with rice. At the bottom of the rice, put a piece of red packet. On the kichen table, location as advice by master, place a bowl of rice with chopstick and spoon.

3) Again as advice by master, place at a certain location mandarin oranges, nian gao, pineapple, promegranate leaves, fa gao, fa chai. If during meal time, dishes like fish and prawns.

4) Keep all the windows and doors open. Make sure the place is bright or switch on all the lights.

5) Optional: For those who pray to their own god, the god, altar, offerings etc should go in first.

6) As adviced, depending on the application, salt shall be sprinkled on the floor or placed at the four corners of the house. Optional: coins or rice can be thrown and auspicious words mentioned.

7) At the selected time, to walk over a fire stove. This fire stove can only be walked over by designated people. The master will advice which spouse should walk across the fire stove first. In some special cases, one spouse may have to wait for another time. During about that hour the invited guests should arrive.

So many things!! :unsure:

Edited by marsbars27