froggy 0 Report post Posted December 1, 2010 Hi marshmellow so funny reading yr update. Believe it or not, I actually went in to the link to read about the height discussion - thought can find someone shorter than me - but still lose out to u by 1cm!?!? you are quite right about doing things according to yr needs rather than following standards .. me a classic eg of things being too high. So now need the ikea stool in my kitchen. Is yr hubby tall? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted December 2, 2010 Hi marshmellow so funny reading yr update. Believe it or not, I actually went in to the link to read about the height discussion - thought can find someone shorter than me - but still lose out to u by 1cm!?!? you are quite right about doing things according to yr needs rather than following standards .. me a classic eg of things being too high. So now need the ikea stool in my kitchen. Is yr hubby tall? LOL froggy... *high 5* my height measurements so far has been ranging from 150~152cm, so taking average, it would be 151cm talking about stool... i need to get stool too... but do be careful when using stool in kitchen~ can fall off easily if we are not careful... my hubby is not tall, but even if he is tall, he won't bother about the height of work-top cos he never uses the kitchen anyway he gave me full control of what i want in the kitchen~ haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted December 2, 2010 (edited) Henry: (shocked) huh?? how shallow you want? Me: 11-inch? Henry: cannot la, standard is 13-inch... Me: why cannot? Henry: your hood ah, your hood will not get good support if top cabinet is too shallow... so 13-inch hor. Me: 12 inch? Henry: 13 lah... Me: 12 lah... can one... Henry: Aiyahhhhh.... 12.5-in lah... cannot tahan you liaoz... Me: 12 lah ^_^ Henry: Don't regret later huh! Well, finally he did made it 12-in in depth so far, no regret in modifying all the dimensions out of the "standards"... many pple commented that my hood looks very low, i just smiled when they comment... after all this is my kitchen, the most important thing is that it fits my needs Noob Lesson 6: if you need to, don't be afraid to venture out of the "standards", though many pple will tell you not to This conversation also remind me of 1 conversation between Rachel and Henry. Rachel : I dun want my toilet vanity top to be too deep . Henry : I measure already . Can use standard XX inch one (detail of inches I forget already pai seh) Rachel : I don’t want all the wall out one . It will make my toilet look small . I wan YY inch . Henry : cannot lah , later too swallow yr sink cannot sit fully on it how Rachel: I go find smaller sink Henry: You find 1st then you decided Few day later …. Rachel: Henry make it YY inch. We found the sink liao . Henry: U sure u want YY inch … later no space to clean the rear of the sink how Rachel: Never mind . I just want YY inch Henry: Ok ar … make sure u dun regret hor …. Later do liao wrong dun say I didn’t advice u wor… Rachel: no problem …. Worst case re-do Henry: -_-“’ ….. Heng heng our sink is curve type , hence still got a hand space to clean the rear of the sink (between the mirror and sink) If we got the square type then really Jia lat … Heng ar Edited December 2, 2010 by Supersimon27 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2010 This conversation also remind me of 1 conversation between Rachel and Henry. Rachel : I dun want my toilet vanity top to be too deep . Henry : I measure already . Can use standard XX inch one (detail of inches I forget already pai seh) Rachel : I don’t want all the wall out one . It will make my toilet look small . I wan YY inch . Henry : cannot lah , later too swallow yr sink cannot sit fully on it how Rachel: I go find smaller sink Henry: You find 1st then you decided Few day later …. Rachel: Henry make it YY inch. We found the sink liao . Henry: U sure u want YY inch … later no space to clean the rear of the sink how Rachel: Never mind . I just want YY inch Henry: Ok ar … make sure u dun regret hor …. Later do liao wrong dun say I didn’t advice u wor… Rachel: no problem …. Worst case re-do Henry: -_-“’ ….. Heng heng our sink is curve type , hence still got a hand space to clean the rear of the sink (between the mirror and sink) If we got the square type then really Jia lat … Heng ar LOL.... really heng ah... sometimes really can't visualise until you see all the items put together... the point that really made me LOL was when he tried to bargain and said "12.5 inch"... hahahahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2010 LOL froggy... *high 5* my height measurements so far has been ranging from 150~152cm, so taking average, it would be 151cm talking about stool... i need to get stool too... but do be careful when using stool in kitchen~ can fall off easily if we are not careful... my hubby is not tall, but even if he is tall, he won't bother about the height of work-top cos he never uses the kitchen anyway he gave me full control of what i want in the kitchen~ haha go get the ikea white bathroom stool. the best I have come across so far - I think it's going at $4.90 one of these days in Dec during its daily special. Dunno if coincide with $4 meatball day? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted December 3, 2010 go get the ikea white bathroom stool. the best I have come across so far - I think it's going at $4.90 one of these days in Dec during its daily special. Dunno if coincide with $4 meatball day? hahahaha talking about meatball makes me hungry... i was planning to get a $2 one from Daiso, but dunno why my hubby violently object the idea of having a stool *in Daiso* Me: I need to get a stool. Hubby: for what?? Me: for many uses lor... Hubby: like? Me: to reach for stuff at higher places, to sit, to.. erm... don't you use stools at home before??? Hubby: No. Me: ............................. Hubby: can't u you chairs for these? we have plenty of chairs at home! one more thing at home, one more thing to clean.... Me: err..... (run out of words to explain) Didn't expect him to get so touchy over a small stool... LOL... that's why till now i still haven't bought any Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted December 27, 2010 let's take a break from my kitchen stories~ (yes, still some more kitchen stories are on the way! ) This post is especially dedicated to BANNED...... (or rather, for his gf? hahaha ) The Green Story Maybe, maybe... it all started with the green kitchen. Somehow, we end up getting many stuff that are green. Some examples as followed: Clockwise from top left: ■ Dining plate (i love this pretty floral patten! ), green plastic tray, apple cutter, all from our favorite meatball place - Ikea ■ Green lime detergent, green handwash, green Ikea peeler ■ Green containers... from Ikea again ■ Green sieve for drying veggies - nice, bright green we have here, but i a bit regreted on the choice of colour... cos i can't tell whether some small bits of veggie is trapped at the sieve when i try to clean it... natural protection colours siah still have many other green stuff around in the house~ looks like green is the winner for "colour of the year" at our place~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted December 27, 2010 My kitchen also got lots of green stuffs,so is the toilet!Haha... LOL i remember your kitchen... maybe both of us are "face green green" de. haha~ btw, congrats on selling your ipod touch... hahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coldflamez 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2010 My kitchen also got lots of green stuffs,so is the toilet!Haha... i like green also! even though my kitchen is very orange... haha... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted December 29, 2010 i like green also! even though my kitchen is very orange... haha... hahaha... orange is a very appetising colour too~ good for kitchen guess we all like citrus fruits (lime, orange etc...) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted December 29, 2010 My kitchen also got lots of green stuffs,so is the toilet!Haha... Sama sama . My kitchen also most of the thing red and white . Plate / kitchen towel / rice cooker / etc etc Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted December 30, 2010 Sama sama . My kitchen also most of the thing red and white . Plate / kitchen towel / rice cooker / etc etc LOL! guess we are all very much influenced by our kitchen colours~ talking about kitchen towels, usually i buy in a pack of 6 with assorted colours... now i have a lot red/white ones. bro maybe i can exchange my red ones with you if you have any green ones... hahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted December 30, 2010 The Kitchen Tiles Story sad to say, this is not a happy story like what i have written so far... I have already ranted in another thread about my kitchen tiles... grrrrr.... flash back on how my kitchen tiles look like: before my reno started, i was thinking of having a light grey floor tiles for my kitchen, this is the only colour i could think of that matches with my lime kitchen, and dark enough to mask dirts my criteria: light grey, easy maintenance hubby's criteria: non-slip - he insisted becos he knows he has a very accident-prone wife but, on the tiles selection day.... somehow the grey non-slip tiles available seemed very rough (too non-slip?? ), and we were a bit worried that it will be difficult to clean oil stains etc. on the other hand, those tiles with the correct grey i wanted, didn't seem non-slip enough to get my hubby's approval.... hard to please everybody, yah? just at this time, Roy (Henry's assistant) found this light beige, non-slip tile which eventually became my current kitchen floor tiles. All the men (Henry, Roy, my hubby) immediately liked it while i was a bit skeptical............... Me: seems very light leh. wouldn't it get dirty easily? Henry: up to you la. but light tiles will make your kitchen brighter and looks bigger. (I agree on this) Me: hmmm and the grooves look kinda small.... hmmm dunno if it will be difficult to clean or not... hmmmm......... Again, all the men like this tile and my hubby kept trying to sell me to choose it. Already tired from the long hours of tile selection, i gave in..... btw, this tile became my common toilet tile too so as to have the continuity between kitchen and toilet floor............ everything looks great until i started using the kitchen..... problems i encountered: 1) VERY easy to trap dirt being a non-slip tile, there is some groove patterns on the tiles that make the surface less slippery. however, the groove design on this tile seems to be too fine and traps dirt super easily! see the photos below, you will understand what i mean: close up: closer up: sorry it's a bit blur and hard to see, but the grooves are shallow so it's not easy to get a good clear shot on them it is really bad. with a slightest bit of dust, slippers dragging through, normally clean feet accidentally stepping on small drops of water........ you can already see visible, dark patches on the tiles by just carrying out simple, normal kitchen activities, the floor became dirty in seconds 2) Dirts are VERY OBVIOUS Tiles are light beige. Dirts are dark grey/black. so.......... 3) VERY DIFFICULT to clean Again, it's due to the stupid grooves. at first, i thought it's easy to clean becos whenever dirts appear, just wipe with cloth and it disappears. but is it really clean? NO. actually just the surface is sort of cleaned. you can still see that the base colour of the tiles have become some what darker. the only way to clean the tiles completely is to take a cloth, scrub the tiles really hard, and the colour will slowly return back to normal i tried brush, it didn't work. Everytime when i do cleaning, i have to squard down and rub these tiles ONE BY ONE. After my first attempt to clean the kitchen floor, my back ached, and i almost cried i have never taken so long to clean a kitchen before... these tiles are simply nightmare!! and, everytime after i mopped the floor, i walk pass the tiles i just mopped, foot prints will appear and it's very visible!! OMG!! i can never get the floor cleaned!! i was so mad that i really wanna pull my hair off! ARGHHHHH complained to my hubby umpteen times on the kitchen floor, told him that i really regreted following his choice should have just sticked to my decision of having grey tiles even when my father visited my home, his comment was "everything is great but the worst thing that you can ever have is your kitchen tiles"~ bleah~ only if daddy was around when we did tiles selection!! well, i m exploring the possibility of using epoxy coat or something like that on my kitchen floor... but need some research... and won't be in near future cos i'm too tired for anymore reno work, for now okie, i'm sure you all can sense my frustration here. -end of rant- the only consolation is... the kitchen does looks nice, after all Noob Lesson 7: NO MORE light kitchen floor tiles for me. And, seriously, the one who uses the kitchen should decide what's best for the kitchen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted December 30, 2010 i think most rough tiles will trap dust... but yes grey tiles are better... Frankly ur kitchen looks really bright. Even if you use dark grey floor tiles, it will just make it even brighter as focus would be on the nice green cabinets! my floor is epoxy sprayed with mainly grey and some black and white freckles. Good thing: Its hard to tell if floor is dirty due to all the freckles. Bad thing: u cannot see any ants/hair on the floor. u will only know how dirty it is when u mop the floor.... which is really not a very good thing for lazy people like me. my 2cents: the person cleaning the kitchen should be the one choosing the floor tiles instead...hahaha... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
berry_surprise 0 Report post Posted December 30, 2010 omg..i feel so sorry for u, i complete understd on the agony of cleaning n scrubbing floors. grey kitchen floor tiles? i immediately thought of mine. i chose those slighty rough for non-slip and till today, these tiles r serving me well. i guess u hv to be more hardworking in cleaning your tiles on a daily basis. good luck! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites