marshmallow

The Marshmallow Land

i dunno.. maybe i should ask bearlyn if my face is green green too.. maybe that's why she like me too.. :dunno:

we were debating between lime green and orange kitchen too !

and finally...

my starhub kitchen - the finished product :lol:

4992724520_4f751eacf0_z.jpg

sorry it's a bit messy cos i already started using the kitchen... hahaha... must show this photo to prove to Henry that i cook okie!!! he always says he doesn't believe i can cook... 8|

Took a long, long time to decide on the kitchen top. At first, wanted to have a light-colour top cos we thought light colour goes better with the kitchen theme. At the same time, I really wanted granite becos of its ease of maintenance and durability, but most of the granite colours/pattern doesn't match the kitchen theme.... :(

after discussing and thinking for a loooonnngggg time, decided to go for granite - when i recalled how many times i put hot wok/pans on kitchen top during cooking :P then, black granite seems to be the only one that can match my kitchen colour....

when the granite top was finally up, i was surprised by end result - not only that it doesn't look odd, the black granite actually added a touch of class to the whole kitchen~ ;)

really glad that i made the right choice~! :lol:

marsh, i think the black granite is a good choice too - great contrast with the rest of the kitchen! nice combi!

i dunno.. maybe i should ask bearlyn if my face is green green too.. maybe that's why she like me too.. :dunno:

banned, you overwork is it? until face green green? :D

Noob Lesson 3: Don't assume - you think, i thought, who confirm?

can't agree with you more.

we also have our fair share of "miscomm" .. I thought I want this .. he thought we want that ... in the end, what he thinks is not what we want. But since they are not life and death issue, we just accept lah,

on the other hand, also got such cases, but end up his judgement is better, so blessing in disguise lor

so it's really give and take ..

marsh, i think the black granite is a good choice too - great contrast with the rest of the kitchen! nice combi!

Agreed . Green and black always a great combi

Marsh ! but take photo must nice nice one leh . like my kitchen ... my friend took the photo after we clear everything :P

Retake retake ... Yr nice kitchen must at least take 1 photo without those imperfect thing :P

simon, you were reading my mind! I have been wanting to do that for the last few days - clean up everything nice nice, and take shot! Must really get that done!

Marsh ! but take photo must nice nice one leh . like my kitchen ... my friend took the photo after we clear everything :P

Retake retake ... Yr nice kitchen must at least take 1 photo without those imperfect thing :P

simon, you were reading my mind! I have been wanting to do that for the last few days - clean up everything nice nice, and take shot! Must really get that done!

Hahaha... actually the best time to take photos would be right after reno lor, but i was so busy until i forgot to take any! argh :bangwall:

haha at least this photo reflects actual situation of the kitchen :P maybe next time should have one nice-but-not-realistic photo haha :lol:

we were debating between lime green and orange kitchen too !

same here! we have similar taste hahaha.... but we dropped orange in the end cos our close fren is using orange for her kitchen... dun wanna be the same ;)

Agreed . Green and black always a great combi

Thanks~ :) at first was thinking of lime green and grey leh. thought it's more matching... but black turns out real good~ this colour combi reminds me of my old Sony Ericsson k850i :lol:

face green green? got glow in the dark or not...? haha :notti:

when the granite top was finally up, i was surprised by end result - not only that it doesn't look odd, the black granite actually added a touch of class to the whole kitchen~ ;)

really glad that i made the right choice~! :lol:

hey marshmallow!

finally i get to ur kithen pics!! read thru ur blog looking for this ok!! hahahah

its very very nice! ur right, the granite does make the kitchen look classier.. good job!

Hahaha... actually the best time to take photos would be right after reno lor, but i was so busy until i forgot to take any! argh :bangwall:

haha at least this photo reflects actual situation of the kitchen :P maybe next time should have one nice-but-not-realistic photo haha :lol:

same here! we have similar taste hahaha.... but we dropped orange in the end cos our close fren is using orange for her kitchen... dun wanna be the same ;)

Thanks~ :) at first was thinking of lime green and grey leh. thought it's more matching... but black turns out real good~ this colour combi reminds me of my old Sony Ericsson k850i :lol:

face green green? got glow in the dark or not...? haha :notti:

haha.. maybe.. i never see myself in the dark b4..

banned, you overwork is it? until face green green? :D

i think bearlyn more green with work.. mine green with reno.. not a good start..

hey marshmallow!

finally i get to ur kithen pics!! read thru ur blog looking for this ok!! hahahah

its very very nice! ur right, the granite does make the kitchen look classier.. good job!

oops... sorry! should have point you to the correct page :lol:

haha thanks~ you'll get to enjoy your granite top soon too~ yay :yamseng:

this is the service area behind the L-shape kitchen.... with my Brandt washer ;)

4992724618_3042d5608a_z.jpg

still thinking of a good way to put my mops orderly....

laundry basket from Ikea. Actually we used to have a lime green one (also from Ikea) that marches the whole kitchen theme just right! but too bad it was damaged by the mover when we shifted house... sobz :~ tried to get back from Ikea but realised they only have black and white now... SOBZ :~

ENVY you have such a big space for laundry...

My laundry space is super small an narrow... ... My hubby and I are still headaching for the laundry and storage space... ...

:~

ENVY you have such a big space for laundry...

My laundry space is super small an narrow... ... My hubby and I are still headaching for the laundry and storage space... ...

:~

haha this was a self-created laundry space... it's part of our kitchen la :) our flat doesn't come with any service yard...

Kitchen continued...

Taiyo Induction Hob and Ikea Dish Drainer:

4992116093_34f500acd1_z.jpg

The Hob Story

Copied this idea from my teacher - she started using this type of stand-alone induction hob since a few years back when she got tired of changing gas cylinder :P

At first, like most pple, my first option was to go for city gas. while i was dreaming of cooking nice stir-fry dishes with lots of "wok-hei" on a nice, slim, built-in glass hob, reality struck.....

Called SP service:

Me: hello, I'd like to check if my home has any piped gas.

SP: ok, your postal code please?

(Short pause)

SP: sorry, i'm afraid your area doesn't have piped gas...

Me: huh??? Are you sure? Jurong leh...

SP: Yes, in fact, that whole part of Jurong doesn't have piped gas.

Me: What??? (calming down) erm, any plans to install gas pipe to this area in future?

SP: Nope, unless they tear the whole block down...........

.......... :~

of course, i know i still can have my nice, slim, built-in glass hob if i go for cylinder gas. but really dun like the idea of having that bulky tank taking up my precious cabinet space. Also feel a bit unsafe - after all they are compressed LNG - more dangerous than piped gas. (although the chemical and gas i'm exposed to at work is probably much more than home gas cylinder... haha :P)

told my parents about it and they were shocked. They said how can my 26 yr-old HDB has no gas pipe while my uncle's 41 yr-old HDB has... well, i guess only SP can answer this question :lol:

my hubby said, maybe this was what happened 26 yrs ago:

back in 1984..............

HDB: we finished building the blocks liao.

SP: what?? why so fast? we haven't laid the gas pipe yet!! how come you never inform us earlier? :curse:

..................................... :rofl:

later we found that our cousin's place - a condo TOP in 2001 - also dun have piped gas... must use gas cylinder :huh:

Noob Lesson 4: whether your house have gas pipe or not has no correlation with the age of flat. Call SP to ask before you make any purchase~