neubie 2 Report post Posted November 14, 2010 -break week.- I didn't expect any renovation to be going on, as the project was halted for a week due to my HTS delivery. I need to run the cables before I could install the false ceiling, thereafter the painting+ electrical works could commence. Followed by kitchen cabinet then laminates. Nevertheless, to my surprise, Edmund already already gone ahead with the painting, think he would touch up again after the false ceiling has completed. The painter/ plaster complained that the A/C trunking is badly done (my wtb echoed that), alot of gaps were visible and he has to make good. dun worry too much about the jump-gun changes in schedule, they shd know what to do. flats built in the 70s are like that, never straight. even if u plaster the walls it won't be 90 deg to the adjacent wall and ceiling la.... so dun be too anal about it. what can be done is to get them to apply silicone to fill up the gaps. even for me, after handover, i arm myself with a caulking gun and silicon, leftover paint, fill up the gaps and paint them as i come across. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dexufto 5 Report post Posted November 14, 2010 yea, the walls and stuffs are really bad. tsk tsk. looks like I will be following after your footsteps in due times. dun worry too much about the jump-gun changes in schedule, they shd know what to do. flats built in the 70s are like that, never straight. even if u plaster the walls it won't be 90 deg to the adjacent wall and ceiling la.... so dun be too anal about it. what can be done is to get them to apply silicone to fill up the gaps. even for me, after handover, i arm myself with a caulking gun and silicon, leftover paint, fill up the gaps and paint them as i come across. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dexufto 5 Report post Posted November 15, 2010 (edited) The Lights story "When the sun goes down, ample illumination is essential for practical and aesthetic reason." -source 'Key to your home' The choice of lights for our home is mainly General lightnings will consists of downlights (fitted with energy-saving bulbs) and florescent ceiling lights. It is easy to be swayed by the extravagant chandeliers and desirable pendant lights however we find them too costly and tedious to maintain, "Would I be cleaning those crystal beads? I don't think so". Cove lights fitted with T5 warm-white will be added for Mood lightnings. Floor lamps can be supplemented in the future. To LED or not? Why use LED bulbs?? source home-fix > Give off more concentrated lights than regular bulbs > Less affected by frequent on-off use > Last Longer, up 50,000hrs > tougher and more resistant to breakage when dropped > contains no mercury > low wattage ( prob 1/4 of an energy saving bulb) > emits little/ no heat (less work on your aircons) Nevertheless, these pretty little things doesn't come cheap; a 3 LED (3 watts) downlight was priced at $90+ and a strip of 1 m LED is priced at $14-$17 at a light shop at IMM. I did have a thought of making a full 24 feet of LED for my cove lights; an alternative source from www.ledlightsworld.com would still costs some $222 to cover that length (excluding shipment), compared to 4 x T5 ($15 each). The impeding start costs is high (however you save on the long run), replacement will be issue (my current home has a couple of LEDs dimmed already). So after much considerations I will pass the LED strips. 141110- Light shopping@ JB A recommended place to shop locally in SG are www.lightings.com.sg and A-Lightings. The prices are reasonable and they have quite a large variety of selection. Nevertheless, a good friend of mine introduced an alternative market; JB. This is our return trip to Top Lamp (johor Jaya), not that we have complains but return to purchase the remaining of our lights. I have intended to replace my 4 downlights of 2 x 18 watts with 3 Watts LED and Halogens (these are hefty 50W) with PLC fitted with Philip EasyScene dimmables. and the 'Lao3 Ban3 Nian2', boss gladly serviced me once again. Edited November 16, 2010 by dexufto Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dexufto 5 Report post Posted November 16, 2010 (edited) Got a couple of quires from inquistive forumers; So here's a break down of my damage: 6 x 3 LED downlights (3W) warmwhite for Hall & MBR RM$55 each 1 x 5 LED downlights (5W) coolwhite for showerroom RM$ 95 4 x PLC downlights -provided with 18W GE CF bulbs for Hall RM$20 each 4 x Warmwhite 4 feet T5 with casing (28W) for cove RM$22 each 2 x CF ceiing light (round) for kitchen RM$95 each 1 x CF ceiling light (round) for W.C RM$55 1 x Penant light for WIW RM$500 1 x ceiling light (2x T5) for room RM$70 2 x Alpha V6 fan was RM$350 each total expenses to be about RM$1800. Top lamp (Johor Jaya) is located at no 74, Jalan Dedap 13, Taman Johor Jaya 81100 JB. (tel) 607-355 6909 Review of Top Lamp Sales (knowledge, advice): 8/ 10 Installation (worksmanship): N.A Prices : 9/ 10. Boss give discount w/o me asking. quality of product/service: TBD (to review in June 2011) aftersales: 10/ 10. Boss allows exchanges of my previous purchase Would I recommend the shop? Definitely Yes. Edited December 6, 2010 by dexufto Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alkaline1 0 Report post Posted November 16, 2010 Yo yo, can see that things are going smoothly as of now. Will be monitoring the progress here (v convenient ) and to drop by your house to kay-poh again hehe! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted November 16, 2010 2 x Alpha V6 fan was RM$350 each Top lamp (Johor Jaya) is located at no 74, Jalan Dedap 13, Taman Johor Jaya 81100 JB. (tel) 607-355 6909 would I recommend the shop? Definitely Yes. woah! thats cheap! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dexufto 5 Report post Posted November 17, 2010 woah! thats cheap! Oh yes Gimz, I was pretty skeptical if the lao ban nian got the correct price for the model I requested for until we verified with the pictures. The price has now increased to RM$370 since then. Still, it's way cheaper than SG. The hussle is making your way down to JB though the jam custom, and if suay usay touch wood, it comes faulty, have to remove it to return to JB. Warranty is covered neverthless. Yo yo, can see that things are going smoothly as of now. Will be monitoring the progress here (v convenient ) and to drop by your house to kay-poh again hehe! Speaking of Kaypo.. A KP auntie actually walked right into my apt in my presence to see see look look (as if I'm transparent). Behaved like a HDB house seeker like that.. subsequently she explained that shes' s from this XX floor, saw my place was previously empty.. questioned what I did... why I did this... I was like.."Duh" seems like there's other ppl monitoring my reno progress too. ha. Hi alkaline1, according to time and space, you would have completed your renovation liaoz. You, my friend, is most welcome anytime, anyday I just had my CNS gate/ grills installed last tuesday (GIMz, the retro-gate is ready for collection) You are so right, the paint job/ handling is so bad and rough. on another note, I must pay a visit to examined your ss CNS handle. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dexufto 5 Report post Posted November 17, 2010 (edited) CNS metaldesign and construction To hire or not to hire? You decide. Against all odds of bad reviews, we decided to purchase our grills and gates from the company. The price is the main attraction. At $188 for hollow piece or $250 for full wrought piece, we opted for the the latter. (No other company is able to match this price). We added $50 bucks for the gate to be galvanised and treated, supposingly rust resistant. The sales person: As referred by Gimz, Simon is knowledgable in his trade and when I addressed the issue of rust from the previous clients, he explained that those were not galvanised.. so having it done so should save them the agony previously. At $50 bucks additional, with 5 years warranty thrown in, I was bought over. Additionally Simon advised me to do a step-up kerb, to guard the splash from the any water accumulated from the common corridor. This is a brilliant idea. Site-measurement person: A china chinese came for the site measurement for the window grills. He was pretty considerable and forwardlooking. I wanted to fush the grills to the walls (as previously, there was a huge indent in for the lourve windows. He factored in that the new grills may protrude out a bit as space is required for the locking mechanism of the sliding window. Somehow, don't think that this information was passed down to the installers. The installers: The heavy rain on the fateful day didn't help the situation. having brought the grills up to my place, the young china chap carelessly rested the grill on my freshly painted walls. Leaving a line stains marks against the white hall. Argh! To top it off, the items were badly scratched (and I begin to wonder if it's brand new). probably the results of rough manhandling. Couldn't they glad-wrap the whole grills before delivery? Edited November 17, 2010 by dexufto Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dexufto 5 Report post Posted November 17, 2010 (edited) Before I could flare and sc@?w them again, the older installer (malaysian) quickly added that they will retify the faults with the black spray. And they did so merticulously under my watchful eye. I was skeptical. Should the wrought-iron not galavanised, I doubt that the thin spray of paint is able to warn-off the rust. Eventually, I accepted the items. The installers did what they could to retify the faults (which could have prevented, with better packaging). The time wasted on respraying could have used to cover more jobs. Edited November 17, 2010 by dexufto Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
neubie 2 Report post Posted November 17, 2010 i see u are using fixed grille for your corridor windows....cleaning of windows might pose a problem? PS: your corridor is clean and uncluttered compared to mine.... those inconsiderate neighbors put their potted plants shoecabinets and huge rubbermaids on the corridor, effectively cutting the already narrow pathway less than 3ft.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted November 18, 2010 here, take take abit of this: i bring the bottle for u to try (a bit) on the grille when i get the retro grille ok? its really good! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mae29 2 Report post Posted November 18, 2010 hi, Dex Looks like my ID is also considering the pole system wardrobe for my master bedroom or the storage cabinet for my store room which will be hacked away. Saw the Stolmen storage at Ikea and it is very exp! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
istel 0 Report post Posted November 18, 2010 (edited) Oh yes Gimz, I was pretty skeptical if the lao ban nian got the correct price for the model I requested for until we verified with the pictures. The price has now increased to RM$370 since then. Still, it's way cheaper than SG. The hussle is making your way down to JB though the jam custom, and if suay usay touch wood, it comes faulty, have to remove it to return to JB. Warranty is covered neverthless. Speaking of Kaypo.. A KP auntie actually walked right into my apt in my presence to see see look look (as if I'm transparent). Behaved like a HDB house seeker like that.. subsequently she explained that shes' s from this XX floor, saw my place was previously empty.. questioned what I did... why I did this... I was like.."Duh" seems like there's other ppl monitoring my reno progress too. ha. Hi alkaline1, according to time and space, you would have completed your renovation liaoz. You, my friend, is most welcome anytime, anyday I just had my CNS gate/ grills installed last tuesday (GIMz, the retro-gate is ready for collection) You are so right, the paint job/ handling is so bad and rough. on another note, I must pay a visit to examined your ss CNS handle. Hi Dex bro, your t-blog has been a wealth of great info again I realized that there's quite a number of curious HDB aunties in SG that just sashays into flats that are doing reno without invitation and start asking questions haha... I met one of these aunties before when we were visiting one of my friend's place in Sengkang that was under reno also, I guess we're just too polite/paiseh to tell these aunties to bugger off... Sorry to hear about your CNS gate experience... You're really good tempered and patient with them. I would have gone crazy and call the sales guy up to give him a good piece of my mind... Edited November 18, 2010 by istel Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edward 0 Report post Posted November 18, 2010 Got a couple of quires from inquistive forumers; So here's a break down of my damage: 6 x 3 LED downlights (3W) warmwhite for Hall & MBR RM$55 each 1 x 5 LED downlights (5W) coolwhite for showerroom RM$ 95 4 x PLC downlights -provided with 18W GE CF bulbs for Hall RM$20 each 4 x Warmwhite 4 feet T5 with casing (28W) for cove RM$22 each 2 x CF ceiing light (round) for kitchen RM$95 each 1 x CF ceiling light (round) for W.C RM$55 1 x Penant light for WIW RM$500 1 x ceiling light (2x T5) for room RM$70 2 x Alpha V6 fan was RM$350 each total expenses to be about RM$1800. Top lamp (Johor Jaya) is located at no 74, Jalan Dedap 13, Taman Johor Jaya 81100 JB. (tel) 607-355 6909 would I recommend the shop? Definitely Yes. Wahh... you always have very good lobangs. What a steal. I should have done my reno after yours.... hahahahaha.... Anyway, the 2 guys on yr CNS pics are the same ones who came over to install mine. While, I think the quality of the gate delivered is not fantastic, I think those 2 guys are pretty hardworking and managed to rectify all the problems. My biggest complain will be the type of paint they use, really bad quality. Think have to re-paint it myself. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
edward 0 Report post Posted November 18, 2010 here, take take abit of this: i bring the bottle for u to try (a bit) on the grille when i get the retro grille ok? its really good! Hi gimz, does this have anti rust function? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites