junwei84

Joining The Expanding Simei Neighbourhood

DSC04057.jpgDSC04059.jpgDSC04058.jpg

MBR, bedroom 1 & 2.

well.. those are the floor tt are hacked which weren't supposed to hack!

yep. gg to cement screed instead then..

had our permit to hack our wall between mbr and bedrm 1 rejected! wall between livin n bedrm1 rejected! wall between kitchen and bedrm1 rejected!

everyth rejected!!

luckily e HDB pple came and hacked some holes and deemed it SHOULD BE ok to hack after we and henry put on our best smiles at them.. but still awaiting final confirmation before hacking of e walls.. hope all goes well!

Edited by junwei84

So henry going to do the floor screeding for u free?... :notti: Think this is not the first time they hacked wrongly if I'm don't remember wrongly.

LOL you're right... i think there were a few cases of "overhacking"... too enthusiastic maybe :lol: luckily for mine was alright.

had our permit to hack our wall between mbr and bedrm 1 rejected! wall between livin n bedrm1 rejected! wall between kitchen and bedrm1 rejected!

everyth rejected!!

luckily e HDB pple came and hacked some holes and deemed it SHOULD BE ok to hack after we and henry put on our best smiles at them.. but still awaiting final confirmation before hacking of e walls.. hope all goes well!

hope that you can get the permit soon, good luck~ :)

Edited by marshmallow

everyth rejected!!

Can't imagine how henry give that best smile . lol

hum.. i wonder why no updates??

Sigh, e permit application has been dingdong-ing for e past 2 wks.. nth can proceed wo the hacking permit being approved. Lots of mixed up on HDB's part but the officer in charge has been very nice n helpful though..

IF IF IF all goes well, the permit will finally be approved today for the wall hacking and can proceed on....

Edited by junwei84

Sigh, e permit application has been dingdong-ing for e past 2 wks.. nth can proceed wo the hacking permit being approved. Lots of mixed up on HDB's part but the officer in charge has been very nice n helpful though..

IF IF IF all goes well, the permit will finally be approved today for the wall hacking and can proceed on....

hello Junwei!! I'm also in Simei and gonna start reno soon (I hope..) with Jason (I hope too!) haha.. I live in Blk 162! All the best to your permit!

Hi darkfear, how come u need to 'hope' to start renov? hope it goes well for u too!

Had a pleasant surprise today. received a call fr Henry at noon and he asked me if i've went up to my pl to see..

apparently, henry hacked off e walls that have been approved and cleared all e debris and had e tiles/sand/cement delivered!

He also told me he'll show me some 3Ds nxt tue/wed .. looking fwd!

still awaiting a certain permit to be approved for e final 2 walls to be hacked.. made more sense if everyth approved den hack and clear debris at one shot instead of doing it twice like now.. henry says no pt waiting & waiting la.. do what can be done first.. so it was a pleasant surprise indeed.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The following proposed renovation works are pending evaluation by our Technical Departments. We will let you know the result after our Technical Departments have evaluated the proposed renovation works.

1. Demolition of internal walls at BEDROOM 2 marked RED on plan.

15/07/2010 ; Arch: Advisory:;1. Bedroom 2 that is to be converted into a Study Room shall not be used as a habitable room.;2. Cooking activities should be confined to original kitchen floor area.. ; SE: (1) All existing reinforced concrete structures are not allowed to be tampered with in the course of the works.;(2) The lessee shall be responsible for the proper installation, stability and safety of the proposed works.;(3) Demolition of internal brick/internal block/lightweight panel wall is allowable up to the underside of the RC Beam/Slab only.;(4) Hacking of lightweight panel wall or block/brick wall should commence from top down..

If you have any enquiries, please contact our staff at Tampines Branch Office at Tel No. 63477253.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The HDB officer told me yest tt its juz awaiting the Archi dept for approval and they've given verbal approval alr.. so its juz e paperwork.. and on e application it clearly shows tt the archi has written their comments..

BUT...

IT STIL SAYS PENDING.

oh well.. wait awhile more then.. shouldnt b too long now i hope.. (but the HDB officer is really a very nice ger)

Edited by junwei84

Another surprise today!

Henry juz gave a call juz now and sent us our 3Ds!

here goes.. the living rm

living.jpg

hmm... nt exactly accurate to our requirements.. we're gg to install a ceiling fan instead of a chandelier.

design looks nice for the feature wall and tv console but tink we'd prefer more of black/white laminates over woody feel..

photo2 : the knocked down walls to form a open study/relax area with glass looking into kitchen.

living-1.jpg

we pretty much love e design of tis.. with the bench n stuffs.. =)

Edited by junwei84

photo3: kitchen

kic.jpg

design is what we have in mind.. but the colours need fine tuning.. haha.. probably prefer a black n white concept n juz a normal microwave oven for cooking noobs like us..

photo4: mbr vanity area outside toilet

master.jpg

our vanity tt is pulled out of the toilet in MBR.. tinking of whether to make full height glass parittion or half wall half glass..

Henry was e one who suggested full ht glass but we were tinkin half half but now full ht oso seems nice lei...

oh & the toilet door we'd probably prefer frsoted glass door..

comments comments!

photo3: kitchen

kic.jpg

hey there...

must be the caffine at work.

is coming 3 in the morning and my brain is still active. largely also due to my very very eventful saturday.

saw yr sketchup previously but 3d pictures really speak a thousand words.

took time to really digest your drawings, so hope you don't mind i take the initiative to share my views since you hope to hear comments

disclaimer ah: strictly my most IMHO only ya.

1. yrs is a 5 rm flat, so that gives you ample floor space. and i believe if you have it, flaunt it.

2. where you are proposing yr study / relax corner now, I would consider to have my dining table there with the wall hacked down instead of with a glass

3. where you are proposing yr dining area now, i would suggest bring down further the half wall/half glass divider i.e you have a huge open kitchen feel entrance. then that would be yr study or relax corner. ideally a bench can rest nicely on the half wall

by creating this, perspective wise is really really much enhanced - from entering your house looking over to where i propose yr dining table is would give a very opulence feeling. you can opt for a bigger and grander dining table with 4 sides all able to sit ppl and backed by a huge wall that can really be another stunning feature wall. the half wall with glass looking into the kitchen like what you want plus the bigger open kitchen feel entrance created now will more "depth" and visually much bigger feel

kitchen wise...

1. i opt for linear set-up

2. low cabinets to start off i.e looking through your half wall with glass won't be greeted by cabinets straight away

3. tall units and fridge further down

master.jpg

our vanity tt is pulled out of the toilet in MBR.. tinking of whether to make full height glass parittion or half wall half glass..

Henry was e one who suggested full ht glass but we were tinkin half half but now full ht oso seems nice lei...

oh & the toilet door we'd probably prefer frsoted glass door..

comments comments!

bloody cool idea to have the vanity top pulled out from the actual toilet itself. i can imagine how much bigger the toilet is now.

i go half wall half glass. otherwise if full glass right, from yr bed, u can see the side of the solid top and the cabinets.

also, the half wall must catch the level of the bottom mirror.. like tat more balance

but then hor.. yr floor is parquet / laminate floor? jus make sure the water after washing up is not on the floor. scare spoil it over time

disclaimer again ya: strictly my most IMHO only hor.

hope it helps!

Edited by ne0mesis

hey there...

must be the caffine at work.

is coming 3 in the morning and my brain is still active. largely also due to my very very eventful saturday.

saw yr sketchup previously but 3d pictures really speak a thousand words.

took time to really digest your drawings, so hope you don't mind i take the initiative to share my views since you hope to hear comments

disclaimer ah: strictly my most IMHO only ya.

1. yrs is a 5 rm flat, so that gives you ample floor space. and i believe if you have it, flaunt it.

2. where you are proposing yr study / relax corner now, I would consider to have my dining table there with the wall hacked down instead of with a glass

3. where you are proposing yr dining area now, i would suggest bring down further the half wall/half glass divider i.e you have a huge open kitchen feel entrance. then that would be yr study or relax corner. ideally a bench can rest nicely on the half wall

by creating this, perspective wise is really really much enhanced - from entering your house looking over to where i propose yr dining table is would give a very opulence feeling. you can opt for a bigger and grander dining table with 4 sides all able to sit ppl and backed by a huge wall that can really be another stunning feature wall. the half wall with glass looking into the kitchen like what you want plus the bigger open kitchen feel entrance created now will more "depth" and visually much bigger feel

kitchen wise...

1. i opt for linear set-up

2. low cabinets to start off i.e looking through your half wall with glass won't be greeted by cabinets straight away

3. tall units and fridge further down

bloody cool idea to have the vanity top pulled out from the actual toilet itself. i can imagine how much bigger the toilet is now.

i go half wall half glass. otherwise if full glass right, from yr bed, u can see the side of the solid top and the cabinets.

also, the half wall must catch the level of the bottom mirror.. like tat more balance

but then hor.. yr floor is parquet / laminate floor? jus make sure the water after washing up is not on the floor. scare spoil it over time

disclaimer again ya: strictly my most IMHO only hor.

hope it helps!

thanks alot for e advice! appreciate it.

for e study/relax area vs dining area: yup we've tot bout doin wad ya say before too but we decided to place more emphasis on e study/relax area cos we'll most prob spend more time there than dining.. so we still decided to hav more focus on tt area. & we got a rotating tv fr MBR to study/relax area where we can use our laptops and watch tv at e same time.. =)

if only we have an even larger space den we can hav best of both worlds! haha

kitchen: yep considering ur advice and see how it goes =)

toilet: our toilet is really VVVVVVVVVVV small.. even aft bring e vanity out we hav problems fixing a shower screen and toilet bowl into e original toilet space..

master.jpg

very good idea!

my mbr toilet.

f_132yqaa2epwm_5e1ecee.jpg

love ur toilet! saw it on ur tblog too.. u went for e full ht glass one.. tink we'll be stickin to half half.. tink we shall prefer tt.. haha.. but urs is nice n sleek!