pixiepixel 0 Report post Posted August 27, 2010 (edited) wow long time no see... how's your reno coming along? if your unit is already installed with Opennet, there should be a termination box in your home... white colour one i think. opennet website has a photo of how the box looks like... hi marshmellow i didnt noticed if the unit that i bought has installed that or not. i checked opennet website and from their rollout, seems like the cluster of blocks are are fiber ready. meaning the work for the blk has been done. and my agent told me that they did not install the opennet...*faintz* i told my agent that its foc and they should install. if they did not, they have to get this done, by hook or by crook....i dun care...no mood to be nice with them liao my reno havent started, only mid october, expected to finish end of november... this saturday will go to ID's place to view the 3D images of the whole unit Edited August 27, 2010 by pixiepixel Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
koxxic 2 Report post Posted August 27, 2010 NGNBN - Fibre to your home comes in 3 stage; from building to each individual floor then into your house. Fibre ready doesn't mean they have started to install the termination box into your home; you need to wait for their invite or call them to check. even if it's installed; you can't use it until IDA check and approve the entire area (and I mean all the blocks ard) before it can be certified to start using. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted August 27, 2010 hi marshmellow i didnt noticed if the unit that i bought has installed that or not. i checked opennet website and from their rollout, seems like the cluster of blocks are are fiber ready. meaning the work for the blk has been done. and my agent told me that they did not install the opennet...*faintz* i told my agent that its foc and they should install. if they did not, they have to get this done, by hook or by crook....i dun care...no mood to be nice with them liao my reno havent started, only mid october, expected to finish end of november... this saturday will go to ID's place to view the 3D images of the whole unit *pat pat* hope they will be willing to do for you foc... cos the free opennet installation is not compulsory and it's an opt-in system, if the previous owner doesn't find any use for it, they have all the right not to install... some friends i know (well, including myself) are hit by this and will gotta pay to get it done my previous owner didn't even know about the opennet thingie... my hubby's landlord too, they are not tech-savvy pple, so they just ignore the invitation letter cos they dun understand it... NGNBN - Fibre to your home comes in 3 stage; from building to each individual floor then into your house. Fibre ready doesn't mean they have started to install the termination box into your home; you need to wait for their invite or call them to check. even if it's installed; you can't use it until IDA check and approve the entire area (and I mean all the blocks ard) before it can be certified to start using. from what i understand, when they said "fibre ready" on the opennet website, means the free installation period for that block is already over... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
koxxic 2 Report post Posted August 27, 2010 (edited) *pat pat* hope they will be willing to do for you foc... cos the free opennet installation is not compulsory and it's an opt-in system, if the previous owner doesn't find any use for it, they have all the right not to install... some friends i know (well, including myself) are hit by this and will gotta pay to get it done my previous owner didn't even know about the opennet thingie... my hubby's landlord too, they are not tech-savvy pple, so they just ignore the invitation letter cos they dun understand it... from what i understand, when they said "fibre ready" on the opennet website, means the free installation period for that block is already over... it can be over but if it's not certified by IDA, cannot be use also. and if previous owner rejected the chance to install when they invite; it will cost you $220 now for them to come by. i would suggest pixel to quickly call them to explain the situation so as to try and waive the $220. Edited August 30, 2010 by koxxic Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted August 30, 2010 it can be over but if it's not certified by IDA, cannot be use also. and if previous owner rejected the chance to install when they invite; it will cost you $120 now for them to come by. i would suggest pixel to quickly call them to explain the situation so as to try and waive the $120. it's $220... not $120 you can try to e-mail them to appeal, give some very valid reasons about why the previous owner never install.... so far, some managed to get it waived but some cannot... just try your luck ya Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pixiepixel 0 Report post Posted August 30, 2010 (edited) it's $220... not $120 you can try to e-mail them to appeal, give some very valid reasons about why the previous owner never install.... so far, some managed to get it waived but some cannot... just try your luck ya thanks marshmellow i very no mood to do anything (still sick) so i throw this job to my agent liao, dun care anyway i met with my ID last sat...saw pictures of the kitchen, toilet, balcony, masterbedroom, and the super big built in storage... then, i asked my ID if he could fit the kitchen cabinets and drawers etc with blum materials... i have: 6 drawers ~20 doors (cabinets) 1 wall cabinet ID will charge retail price for the blum parts + his carpenter will charge him a lumpsum for workmanship total costs around almost 1k worth it? Edited August 30, 2010 by pixiepixel Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pixiepixel 0 Report post Posted August 30, 2010 ok just to write all these down before my memory starts failing again (which happens many times in a day)... - asked ID to raise height of kitchen countertop by 5cm, subsequently pushing up backsplash then raising the wall cabinets by another 5cm. reason: tall wife (me) and same height hubby. i cannot stand stooping at the kitchen countertop (like now) if i want to peer into my chopping board etc reason: i hate bumping into wall cabinets and especially the hood - asked ID to change wall tiles of common toilet (original colour: white) to the same as master toilet (now colour: grey)...more expensive tiles but did not asked me to top-up, yay! - need to ask ID to design a special place/niche inside the built in storage to store my butsudan (佛壇). therefore, my butsudan can finally be in the living room instead of a bedroom! aye, my butsudan can finally "cong jian kwang ming" :-) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted August 30, 2010 ok just to write all these down before my memory starts failing again (which happens many times in a day)... - asked ID to raise height of kitchen countertop by 5cm, subsequently pushing up backsplash then raising the wall cabinets by another 5cm. reason: tall wife (me) and same height hubby. i cannot stand stooping at the kitchen countertop (like now) if i want to peer into my chopping board etc reason: i hate bumping into wall cabinets and especially the hood still not feeling well huh... can get MC to rest at home? haha mine is the other way round... asked my contractor to lower the counter top by 3 inches and cabinet by 2-in cos i m short btw, gimz63251073 has posted some prices on blum's stuff b4, not sure if it's useful for you... you can take a look http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...st&p=518269 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pixiepixel 0 Report post Posted August 30, 2010 still not feeling well huh... can get MC to rest at home? haha mine is the other way round... asked my contractor to lower the counter top by 3 inches and cabinet by 2-in cos i m short btw, gimz63251073 has posted some prices on blum's stuff b4, not sure if it's useful for you... you can take a look http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...st&p=518269 we went thru the prices in the catalogue...after adding up the prices of the parts...around 500+ then he estimated that carpenter will charge me lumpsum 300-400 for the installation so all in all, a little less than 1k hmmmmmmm its for lifetime but im not sure if i really do need it? btw, me no MC leh...sobsob Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
koxxic 2 Report post Posted August 30, 2010 it's $220... not $120 you can try to e-mail them to appeal, give some very valid reasons about why the previous owner never install.... so far, some managed to get it waived but some cannot... just try your luck ya haha..ya ya..my bad! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted August 30, 2010 we went thru the prices in the catalogue...after adding up the prices of the parts...around 500+ then he estimated that carpenter will charge me lumpsum 300-400 for the installation so all in all, a little less than 1k hmmmmmmm its for lifetime but im not sure if i really do need it? btw, me no MC leh...sobsob it really depends on your preference... some pple really want blum but pple like me found it unnecessary to have... anyway, you still have time to think it through no MC ah... that's bad... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
infinitie 0 Report post Posted August 31, 2010 (edited) it really depends on your preference... some pple really want blum but pple like me found it unnecessary to have... anyway, you still have time to think it through no MC ah... that's bad... Why not get the Blum from hardware shop and pass to your ID? If I didnt remember wrongly, it cost abt $6 for a pair of hinge (with 1 motion) and the drawer range from $50-$80. Like that can save half of the cost leh.. Shop located at : Blum systems Blum south east asia PL #02-00 Ubi Biz-Hub 150 Ubi ave 4 S408825 Tel: 6547 1760 Blum distributor Kiang Sing Hong hardware @ Kranji industry park Tel:63682220 Blum distributor 828 upper Bt Timah Rd near Esso Petrol Station and ten mile junction Tel: 67600365 Blum distributor Hong Li Hardware P/L Thomson Road near Hans Get well soon!!! Edited August 31, 2010 by infinitie Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pixiepixel 0 Report post Posted September 1, 2010 Why not get the Blum from hardware shop and pass to your ID? If I didnt remember wrongly, it cost abt $6 for a pair of hinge (with 1 motion) and the drawer range from $50-$80. Like that can save half of the cost leh.. Shop located at : Blum systems Blum south east asia PL #02-00 Ubi Biz-Hub 150 Ubi ave 4 S408825 Tel: 6547 1760 Blum distributor Kiang Sing Hong hardware @ Kranji industry park Tel:63682220 Blum distributor 828 upper Bt Timah Rd near Esso Petrol Station and ten mile junction Tel: 67600365 Blum distributor Hong Li Hardware P/L Thomson Road near Hans Get well soon!!! infinitie my ID will get from blum directly (ubi biz-hub), and they will not charge me a higher price than what would be sold by Blum. so its cost to cost...and i do not have to make a trip down to purchase and go through the hassle... the price im getting from blum myself would be the same price that my ID would be paying (i heard they got rebate system but i dont get the rebates wat geesh) after adding up the prices of the parts, estimated 400-ish. carpenter charge a sum for installing these parts...more or less 900-1000 still thinking, still thinking... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pixiepixel 0 Report post Posted September 1, 2010 (edited) about fiber optic (opennet) the sellers requested that we pay half each for the installation cost. but after reading the news today in ST that there will be a "2nd chance" for those who have opted out initially, & charges would be lower, and we are still on the basis of 50-50 bo bian...take it btw i have something to ask t-bloggers here i see the 3D pictures of my flat. i like it; it looks good, stylish blah blah but i am not "wowed" by the design can i tell my ID? i cant seemed to pinpoint what is lacking but i just cannot find the wow factor... who has the same situation? how do you deal with it? Edited September 1, 2010 by pixiepixel Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted September 1, 2010 infinitie my ID will get from blum directly (ubi biz-hub), and they will not charge me a higher price than what would be sold by Blum. so its cost to cost...and i do not have to make a trip down to purchase and go through the hassle... the price im getting from blum myself would be the same price that my ID would be paying (i heard they got rebate system but i dont get the rebates wat geesh) after adding up the prices of the parts, estimated 400-ish. carpenter charge a sum for installing these parts...more or less 900-1000 still thinking, still thinking... hmm how come they charge extra? by right your carpentry costs should include their own hinges and slides as well. Since u are supplying the slides n hinges and not using theirs, they should actually give u a discount. Logical? my carpenter had told me that he doesn't charge extra if i self supply slides n hinges, but he never say will give discount la.. or are u using the super sophisicated kind of mechanism...? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites