pinktini 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 (edited) I already bought some bento-making stuff from Daiso and is excited to do it though not often and definitely not now cos MIL place is too packed and I dun wan to add to it. no need recipe book for bentos lah, do some simple nutritious food and top with fruits and cutie decor and u r ready to go.this is the book i'm intending to get. if u go to the amazon site, u can view some of the first few pages of the book. it is quite interesting. i saw the links u provided, very interesting too. i like the stitch fishcake one of the mamas bought for the kids. SO CUTE! http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/488996260...m=ATVPDKIKX0DER hey pinktini/samgalz, bento food consist of rice and some dishes? won't it be too cold by the time they eat?hmm, if sushi, can keep in fridge, if hot food, microwave in office ba. tt's for hubby, if kids, will food warmers work? any cooking mama here can provide advice? nguandi: tt japanese knife looks nice mann... but hor, if i don't get a knife block, then where to store my knives? my mum gave me some mini claypots, so i can make claypot rice for 2. hahaha. the rest of the cooking equipment i think i shld have enough, mum-in-law giving me stock pot, i bought a 4pc WMF set of casseroles, my mum redeemed all the cold storage pots/wok/utensils promo for me. now just need to buy some bowls and plates. Edited June 16, 2010 by pinktini Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 (edited) this is the book i'm intending to get. if u go to the amazon site, u can view some of the first few pages of the book. it is quite interesting. i saw the links u provided, very interesting too. i like the stitch fishcake one of the mamas bought for the kids. SO CUTE! http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/488996260...m=ATVPDKIKX0DER hmm, if sushi, can keep in fridge, if hot food, microwave in office ba. tt's for hubby, if kids, will food warmers work? any cooking mama here can provide advice? nguandi: tt japanese knife looks nice mann... but hor, if i don't get a knife block, then where to store my knives? my mum gave me some mini claypots, so i can make claypot rice for 2. hahaha. the rest of the cooking equipment i think i shld have enough, mum-in-law giving me stock pot, i bought a 4pc WMF set of casseroles, my mum redeemed all the cold storage pots/wok/utensils promo for me. now just need to buy some bowls and plates. so far according to the blog of the mamas who did bento, they will usually go for things like sushi or buns or pancakes or cold soba which can be eaten cold and fruits that can last like kiwi, grapes, strawberry. If it's those warm food then can keep in food warmer containers. for my hubby and myself, I will do things like fried udon, fried rice, rice with dishes roast chicken wrap etc, these can be heated in office using microwave. For my son, I did cute sandwiches with the pattern cutter and also some pancakes which he love. always ask me when I can make snack for him to school! I shall check on the amazon book, u poisoning me too. later hubby's going to complain. nguandi, u another poison! the knives sure look I shall go around BHG, OG and Metro to take a look again then decide. Urgh....nice ones sure ex!!! Edited June 16, 2010 by samgalz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinktini 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 samgalz: oops. i'm not trying to poison anyone here, but think this is pretty interesting for growing herbs at home. anyone seen this locally before? http://www.prepara.com/power_plant.php Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Amy Choon 1 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 Hehe ... I am the chef of the house, so I usually keep myself updated Which one is cast iron pot for casseroles? Is it the dutch oven? For me, the essential pots and pans are similar to you lor. I like to go for minimalist kitchen so I make sure my utilities are versatile. - Big stock pot (yet to buy cuz never have plan to have big party) - Medium stock pot, got it for ard $50 from cold storage promo. It's 6L and can cook for 6-8 ppl portion? - Small pot, for maggie mee, small portion. Got it for ard $30 from cold storage promo also. - Chinese alumunium wok - 1 stainless steel pan - 1 green pan (actually 1 pan is enough) - 1 cast iron So, same as you and they are not many bah Wishlist (Another poison): - 1 cast-iron dutch oven. Thinking to get this one instead of claypot. My wife is craving to have mushcroom claypot rice which I think dutch oven also can do the job. But it's very expensive ... $200++ - 1 Japanese Gyuto knife (http://www.japanesechefsknife.com/KAGAYAKIVG-10.html) - 1 good chopping board (preferably john boos one) Can refer to this link for basic kitchen equipment http://www.thekitchn.com/thekitchn/kitchen...f-basics-082461 Wow ... enough poison for the day i need 2 pans leh... the green pans good? always see AFC advertising wor. yeah, just like the dutch oven, i need it for stews.. hehe... wow, now i need to know where to keep all those pans and pots in my tiny kitchen! for claypots, we bought 2 from Tangs 2 years ago, pretty ex la. but my hubby old school one, soup must cook in big claypot. and we got another medium wide pot for claypot rice. yes, dutch oven probably can do the job but will the taste be the same ah? just like cooking the claypot rice using rice cooker but it's a different taste altogether wor. that's why my hubby wants the claypot. aiyo... i should have written the title of this thread as "Poison yourself, poison others" leh... wahaha.. we throwing poison all over the place here. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 (edited) haha...hubby already complaining that I keep buying bento stuff at daiso. so normally when I say I wan go daiso, he banned me from the bento stuff section. ahahaha it's ex, though pretty innovative to grow herbs. I likely to buy the dried ones (masterfood brand) to use. no place to grow and no green fingers and no time to maintain. Edited June 16, 2010 by samgalz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinktini 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 yeah, just like the dutch oven, i need it for stews.. hehe... wow, now i need to know where to keep all those pans and pots in my tiny kitchen! aiyo... i should have written the title of this thread as "Poison yourself, poison others" leh... wahaha.. we throwing poison all over the place here. agreed. i've been heavily poisoned. stews use the dutch oven arh? i never use it before, so dunno much. haha...hubby already complaining that I keep buying bento stuff at daiso. so normally when I say I wan go daiso, he banned me from the bento stuff section. ahahaha, it's ex, though pretty innovative to grow herbs. I likely to buy the dried ones (masterfood brand) to use. no place to grow and no green fingers and no time to maintain. share share ur bento collection!!! my hubby starting to get worried i think. cos now we gonna get married and stay together, then my cooking mama tendencies start appearing alr. before he ban me from shoes dept, now i think he gonna need a leash on me for the supermarket also. ohh, i thinking more bout curry leaves. fry cereal prawns, fresh curry leaves very nice! plus i got no bay window or garden area. i scared if i grow pots outside my main door, later whole HDB block know my floor got fresh herbs. hahahahaha sure get stolen or plucked clean when i'm not in. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wcseow 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 er-hm.....I join this a bit ok?.... cause my wife a big big fan and me also a fan...watching and eating........hahahaha............ We got a DVR many years back and my wife recorded all those shows and then copy it to DVD...it is her pride and joy and she is an expert on that DVR/DVD copying liao. When our kids are younger, we make maki for them....I think good food for them....but as they grow older I guess to join in the crowd, they now prefer to buy from canteen......so maki now becoming a treat at home.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 (edited) agreed. i've been heavily poisoned. stews use the dutch oven arh? i never use it before, so dunno much. share share ur bento collection!!! my hubby starting to get worried i think. cos now we gonna get married and stay together, then my cooking mama tendencies start appearing alr. before he ban me from shoes dept, now i think he gonna need a leash on me for the supermarket also. ohh, i thinking more bout curry leaves. fry cereal prawns, fresh curry leaves very nice! plus i got no bay window or garden area. i scared if i grow pots outside my main door, later whole HDB block know my floor got fresh herbs. hahahahaha sure get stolen or plucked clean when i'm not in. not alot yet lah, mostly the cute food dividers, food cups to separate wet food from the dry ones, party picks for small items like fruits. my son likes it when I do pancakes and cut them up and put in the party picks for him. food pattern cutters for omelete & sandwich, the seaweed cutters (nori cutters) to do cute ships and cars for son, sushi mold, the jap rice toppings and of course the bento containers. whenever I go minitoons, daiso or anyway that has lunchboxes, I will go c c look look. hubby already buay tahan. to men, they will think, one box enough mah. ya, agree our men would likely leash us for the supermarket. now i dun dare buy too many things cos making my MIL place too pack and messy. Would organise it and do better in our own place. but most of the time dun need to buy too many ingredients, can reuse leftovers. Edited June 16, 2010 by samgalz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 (edited) er-hm.....I join this a bit ok?.... cause my wife a big big fan and me also a fan...watching and eating........hahahaha............ We got a DVR many years back and my wife recorded all those shows and then copy it to DVD...it is her pride and joy and she is an expert on that DVR/DVD copying liao. When our kids are younger, we make maki for them....I think good food for them....but as they grow older I guess to join in the crowd, they now prefer to buy from canteen......so maki now becoming a treat at home.... welcome GG, anyone with interest in cooking n eating is welcome. rite, merydith? ya, for now i can control son's diet I try to lah, I know sure will kana peer pressure to buy canteen stuff maybe a balance of both in the end cos I dun think i can last making bento every morning unless I'm not working. I really kowtows to the bento mamas who wake up 5-ish every morning to make bentos for kids/hubby/self. It's my resolution to try maintain that. my MIL say I siao, every morning wake up so early do bento, why dun slp more. haha.... Edited June 16, 2010 by samgalz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Amy Choon 1 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 er-hm.....I join this a bit ok?.... cause my wife a big big fan and me also a fan...watching and eating........hahahaha............ We got a DVR many years back and my wife recorded all those shows and then copy it to DVD...it is her pride and joy and she is an expert on that DVR/DVD copying liao. When our kids are younger, we make maki for them....I think good food for them....but as they grow older I guess to join in the crowd, they now prefer to buy from canteen......so maki now becoming a treat at home.... sure can la... everyone welcome! so you watch AFC too? welcome GG, anyone with interest in cooking n eating is welcome. rite, merydith? oh ya, of course! everyone who loves to cook and eat.. even those people who like to watch people cook and eat also welcome! kekeke. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zelly 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 sure can la... everyone welcome! so you watch AFC too? oh ya, of course! everyone who loves to cook and eat.. even those people who like to watch people cook and eat also welcome! kekeke. Yup.. Can also intro good makan places also. I love good food but hate to hunt for them.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 I really kowtows to the bento mamas who wake up 5-ish every morning to make bentos for kids/hubby/self. It's my resolution to try maintain that. my MIL say I siao, every morning wake up so early do bento, why dun slp more. haha.... on a side note, why don't we make bento-catering business for mothers (and parents) a like? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 (edited) on a side note, why don't we make bento-catering business for mothers (and parents) a like? haha...nguandi, ur brain is working fast ah... wanna be my first customer? Edited June 16, 2010 by samgalz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 haha...nguandi, ur brain is working fast ah... wanna be my first customer? Not kids yet .. so can't be customer But I can be your business partner Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 Not kids yet .. so can't be customer But I can be your business partner doesn't hv to be kids to eat bentos. adults can too! my hubby took bento to work and is the envy of his colleagues! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites