fengwei

Recommendation For A Decent Sound System.

Cant have floor stand speakers my small boys will constantly relocate things that are not fixed to the ground.

Your hall is not small. Satellites are out. You do need to consider bookshelves or floorstanders. Denon 1611 will be ard 500+ and Denon 1911 ard 800+

Cant have floor stand speakers my small boys will constantly relocate things that are not fixed to the ground.

what about wall mounting? Bkshelf wall mounted? Satellite with big sound will cost alittle more. What is the max budget you can stretch?

Just to list afew satellite with big sound:

focal Dome

Anthony Gallo Ti

Anthony Gallo Strada

KEf T series

KEFT KHT series

Def Tech 800 Pro

Initially we only plan to spend about $500 - $800 but after some reading and thinking that this will be a family gathering place we have decided to increase the budget to about $1400.

The $1400 should also include the Blue-Ray player.

what about wall mounting? Bkshelf wall mounted? Satellite with big sound will cost alittle more. What is the max budget you can stretch?

Just to list afew satellite with big sound:

focal Dome

Anthony Gallo Ti

Anthony Gallo Strada

KEf T series

KEFT KHT series

Def Tech 800 Pro

Initially we only plan to spend about $500 - $800 but after some reading and thinking that this will be a family gathering place we have decided to increase the budget to about $1400.

The $1400 should also include the Blue-Ray player.

Very challenging budget, bro. 5.1 + AVR + Blu-ray + big sound + cabling. I can't think of any combi which fit into your budget with reasonable sounding setup now... With so many components to fit into 1.4k, there is definitely a compromise. Of cos you can dispute you can get those you have listed, but none of them are upgradeable. so if you want change. alll will have to go. so the cycle repeats. hope you understand.

Omegard,

Please feel free to give your recommendation and I have no intention to dispute as seriously we are very new to this kind of set-up. Frankly I did not even know what is AVR till I started reading from the internet.

May i know if you can recommend a complete system or should I say a basic system that can be upgraded as the times goes by. Again I would like to stress your recommendation is based on my request so no right or wrong. (RELAX)

Basic as in - 5.1 + AVR + Blu-ray + big sound (Cabling all done today)

It would be appreciated if price of your recommendation can be added so we know how much more we need to come up with.

PS - I got the Belden cable today, did not spend a single cent got about 24 meters from my colleague.

Very challenging budget, bro. 5.1 + AVR + Blu-ray + big sound + cabling. I can't think of any combi which fit into your budget with reasonable sounding setup now... With so many components to fit into 1.4k, there is definitely a compromise. Of cos you can dispute you can get those you have listed, but none of them are upgradeable. so if you want change. alll will have to go. so the cycle repeats. hope you understand.

Omegard,

Please feel free to give your recommendation and I have no intention to dispute as seriously we are very new to this kind of set-up. Frankly I did not even know what is AVR till I started reading from the internet.

May i know if you can recommend a complete system or should I say a basic system that can be upgraded as the times goes by. Again I would like to stress your recommendation is based on my request so no right or wrong. (RELAX)

Basic as in - 5.1 + AVR + Blu-ray + big sound (Cabling all done today)

It would be appreciated if price of your recommendation can be added so we know how much more we need to come up with.

PS - I got the Belden cable today, did not spend a single cent got about 24 meters from my colleague.

The following are just my experience n my opinion for your reference only:

For ht setup, others say the most impt component is centre and sub. But it felt front left right and centre plus sub are all impt. You heard these at work most of the time. HT is very technology driven. The source/player and avr changes too quickly which i felt its not worth to spend so much on them. My yamaha 2500 was 3 years old without hdmi. Now no value liao. Hence, I channel all most of my budget to speakers.

The placement and speaker size will have alot of impact to the final setup. Satellite in 3m x 3m bedroom are acceptable. But no no in the hall cos it get distorted when you pump up the volume especially your hall is very open. I would go for bkshelf or floorstand for a fuller and louder sound. If kids are a problem like me, wall mount bkshelf speakers are the best solutions. You get to keep the kids out of reach and still maintain enough loudness. but missy might not like it.

For me, I would look at easy to drive speakers for a start becos your budget does not allow good high current multi-channel amp to drive them. So I would suggest:

Focal 700 or 800 series

PSB Image series

KEF Q series

Monitor Audio Bronze and Silver series

Paradigm Monitor SE series

THiel SCS series

Proac Studio series

All the above are only a hand full of the popular speakers which are definitely to bring you good sound at a price. But no one say you must buy all at once. We can buy in components. Get front left right first, center if budget allows + a mid range AVR (500 - 800 is more than enough). Sub will be next and follow by surrounds. For source, there are tons of options, either a player or a HTPC or a media player.

My take is to go adelphi for a walk and have audition on those listed for your reference. You shall decide if they worth the investment.

My approach to HT is very difference from others. I use active speakers with processors while others usually got for multi-channel amp or avr with passive speakers. :)

Edited by omegared

i have a pair of yamaha HS50M monitor speakers and a HS10M Sub which I hope to use as a 2.1 system in my new living room. Has been wondering how to implement it as the speakers only have XLR and Quarter-Inch inputs. Was considering getting an amp and output audio thru RCA or Heaphones out so I can control the volume with multiple RCA inputs(Blu-ray, Set-top box, Game console, etc...) going in the amp. Any suggestions? If not I'll place them in my work room and get a set of HTS for my living room.... But the sound from these speakers are really great.

Of cos they sounded great. They are pro-monitor. Designed to be accurate. They are actives like mine. They made excellent HT speakers. Each speaker has their own dedicated power amp for the power and dynamics you need. You can get a AVR or processor with pre-out. Hook up the pre-out of the avr or processor to your speaker and sub. Then your blu-ray, set-yop, ps3/xbox to hdmi input and hdmi output to tv or projector.

(blu-ray, set-yop, ps3/xbox)

--- hdmi input---

AVR / Processor

--- rca output ---

HS50m & Sub

--- hdmi output ---

TV or projector

See if you are able to get 1 more speaker. Just one for center and you got one heii of a HT setup.

For avr with pre-out, see:

Emotiva UMC-1

Denon 2311

Yamaha 667

Onkyo 706

Edit: Noticed the speakers got no RCA. You are still do with RCA interconnects from avr / processor to your speakers via RCA to XLR convertor. LHS got sell.

Edited by omegared

My approach to HT is very difference from others. I use active speakers with processors while others usually got for multi-channel amp or avr with passive speakers. :)

Could you share what processor you are using? I have an idea of what amps I want to drive my speakers, so I don't want to spend money on an AVR and not use the built-in amps. I'd rather that every cent I spend goes to a good processor. What would you recommend I look at?

Current hot processor everyone is talking about now is Emotiva UMC-1. Unit is < 1k. buy direct from US. By the time it reach home, its about 1.1k

Of cos they sounded great. They are pro-monitor. Designed to be accurate. They are actives like mine. They made excellent HT speakers. Each speaker has their own dedicated power amp for the power and dynamics you need. You can get a AVR or processor with pre-out. Hook up the pre-out of the avr or processor to your speaker and sub. Then your blu-ray, set-yop, ps3/xbox to hdmi input and hdmi output to tv or projector.

(blu-ray, set-yop, ps3/xbox)

--- hdmi input---

AVR / Processor

--- rca output ---

HS50m & Sub

--- hdmi output ---

TV or projector

See if you are able to get 1 more speaker. Just one for center and you got one heii of a HT setup.

For avr with pre-out, see:

Emotiva UMC-1

Denon 2311

Yamaha 667

Onkyo 706

Edit: Noticed the speakers got no RCA. You are still do with RCA interconnects from avr / processor to your speakers via RCA to XLR convertor. LHS got sell.

Interconnects are not a problem. I'm currently using them with stereo 1/8" to L/R XLR from my PC. I can always DIY RCA to XLR for the speakers. As for a Center Speaker, do you mean a passive that I can output from the AVR Center Speakers out or another single active to connect from the C pre-out? How much would a Yamaha 667 cost roughly? I know the SRP is $1049.

I'm referring to one HS50M for centre. It will be more seamless match for the front. For yamaha 667 guess the price is ard 800 -1k

Finally today I went to Aldephi to audition speakers that is within my budget of $3K also. After researching the internet for the price and reviews of numerous speakers, the top of my list actually is Klipsch RF-42II series. So first shop I went to is TC. Served by a non chinese Salesman. Told him I want to audition RF-42II series of speakers, he recommended RF-52II mainspeakers and the rest of the speakers is 42II. He told me that RF52II is just $200 more. So I sat down and listen to the movie that he played and also Eagle live convert for music. Totally satifisfied with my research results I ask him the total price (previously I emailed TC to check out the price for RF42II already. It was slightly over $3K after GST). But he show me the calculator display at $4K+ before GST. I was pondering the total price cannot be $4K since email they quoted after GST is only $3K. So I show him the email quote from my Iphone then he said the 4K is with Center Speaker RC52II. KNN just now he said only change the front speakers to RF52II, now the center speaker I just auditioned is the RC52II. With this both speaker 52 series, the price increase by $1K so I told him I want the center speaker to be RC42II, just change the front to RF52II the rest all 42II series. He then tell me that RC42II power is not enough, it is equivilant to satelite speakers only. He insisted I should get the RC52II instead. A bit BS already because he dun listen to me, I told him I want RC42II since the Klipsch website mentioned this RC42II belong to the RF42II series. Guess what he told me next?

"Sir you need to do more research before you come". NNB I told what I want to buy and you insulted me like this. Super fustrated at what he say. I told him I go elsewhere and buy. I will never never buy any thing from TC (Authorised distributer in Singapore for Klipsch) again.

Still TL with the guy in TC while walking up 4th floor to 2nd choice shop KEC. A few customers are inside and the staffs busy with them. There are stocks all over the place and serioulsy they need to do some 5S for it. I was walking around in the showroom inside the shop and finally Alan came to serve me. I told him what I want. Alan is pro and fast thinking. Immediately he showed me the Wharfedale 10.6 Front speakers, Velodyne CHTQ8 subwoofer, 10.0 surround and 10CC and 10 CS for the Center Speaker. I told him 10CS is a bit big, so he wire up 10CC for me. I was amazed by Alan's excellant EQ and attitude compared to that MF in TC. Alan is so Customer Focused. I sat down and listen to Transformer II 2nd last scene while he sat nearby to workout the total cost and answer my questions. Next he played Eagles live Hotel California. Same song in TC where I auditioned Klipsch. I guess this disc is quite popular in auditioning speakers. I was happy with the setup and cost since it is slightly over $3K and includes installation, and some other free stuffs that I dun want to disclose here. So I bought the following setup from KEC. To be install after CNY when I got my resale flat keys.

1) Onkyo TX-SR 608 Receiver

2) Wharfedale 10.6 Front Speakers

3) Wharfedale 10.0 Surround Speakers

4) Wharfedale 10.0 CC Center Speaker

5) Velodyne CHTQ8 Subwoofer

If I have not met the MF in TC today, I would have chosen Klipsch RF42II instead since it was a good buy for a reference speaker with good reviews.

Edited by martin1023

waaa... u guys r really power in listening.. i simply dont understand what these items... hehehe...

mostly i only saw those standing speaker besides the TV at have norman, the best, set.. brand like sony, samsung, etc..

*paiseh paiseh*

Finally today I went to Aldephi to audition speakers that is within my budget of $3K also. After researching the internet for the price and reviews of numerous speakers, the top of my list actually is Klipsch RF-42II series. So first shop I went to is TC. Served by a non chinese Salesman. Told him I want to audition RF-42II series of speakers, he recommended RF-52II mainspeakers and the rest of the speakers is 42II. He told me that RF52II is just $200 more. So I sat down and listen to the movie that he played and also Eagle live convert for music. Totally satifisfied with my research results I ask him the total price (previously I emailed TC to check out the price for RF42II already. It was slightly over $3K after GST). But he show me the calculator display at $4K+ before GST. I was pondering the total price cannot be $4K since email they quoted after GST is only $3K. So I show him the email quote from my Iphone then he said the 4K is with Center Speaker RC52II. KNN just now he said only change the front speakers to RF52II, now the center speaker I just auditioned is the RC52II. With this both speaker 52 series, the price increase by $1K so I told him I want the center speaker to be RC42II, just change the front to RF52II the rest all 42II series. He then tell me that RC42II power is not enough, it is equivilant to satelite speakers only. He insisted I should get the RC52II instead. A bit BS already because he dun listen to me, I told him I want RC42II since the Klipsch website mentioned this RC42II belong to the RF42II series. Guess what he told me next?

"Sir you need to do more research before you come". NNB I told what I want to buy and you insulted me like this. Super fustrated at what he say. I told him I go elsewhere and buy. I will never never buy any thing from TC (Authorised distributer in Singapore for Klipsch) again.

Still TL with the guy in TC while walking up 4th floor to 2nd choice shop KEC. A few customers are inside and the staffs busy with them. There are stocks all over the place and serioulsy they need to do some 5S for it. I was walking around in the showroom inside the shop and finally Alan came to serve me. I told him what I want. Alan is pro and fast thinking. Immediately he showed me the Wharfedale 10.6 Front speakers, Velodyne CHTQ8 subwoofer, 10.0 surround and 10CC and 10 CS for the Center Speaker. I told him 10CS is a bit big, so he wire up 10CC for me. I was amazed by Alan's excellant EQ and attitude compared to that MF in TC. Alan is so Customer Focused. I sat down and listen to Transformer II 2nd last scene while he sat nearby to workout the total cost and answer my questions. Next he played Eagles live Hotel California. Same song in TC where I auditioned Klipsch. I guess this disc is quite popular in auditioning speakers. I was happy with the setup and cost since it is slightly over $3K and includes installation, and some other free stuffs that I dun want to disclose here. So I bought the following setup from KEC. To be install after CNY when I got my resale flat keys.

1) Onkyo TX-SR 608 Receiver

2) Wharfedale 10.6 Front Speakers

3) Wharfedale 10.0 Surround Speakers

4) Wharfedale 10.0 CC Center Speaker

5) Velodyne CHTQ8 Subwoofer

If I have not met the MF in TC today, I would have chosen Klipsch RF42II instead since it was a good buy for a reference speaker with good reviews.

Onkyo is a good choice but i sure hope you haven't bought Wharfedale or Velodyne.

you can't be more wrong about the speaker choices.