Guest todbee

Which Area Is Recommend/good For Young Family To Live In?

Guest todbee

Can somebody share /recommend which part of the East Coast or other than East Coast (fine for us)is good for young family living as we are not the snake head of the area? Also, is that any area to avoid as well??

This is our requirements:-

• At least a 3bedder+. condo
  • Don't mind 1-2 years old but new is the best
  • Capital growth in future(best is area will boom soon and not those booming now)
  • Good school
  • Close to amenity
  • Close to mrt or frequent bus
  • Good surrouding environment

For a young family, I think going for the condos with full facilities might be better as there is also more ground area for the kids to take a walk etc.

In my opinion, this would rule out the condos in the Telok Kurau area as those there are boutique condos with simple facilities. I would consider a large condo as a development with 200 and above units. These large condos normally would have a very large (sometimes 2 swimming pools), tennis courts, BBQ pits etc.

Personally I would go for Pasir Ris area:

- Livia (still being built) - 99yr leasehold

- Oasis @ Elias (still being built) - 99yr leasehold

- Ris Grandeur - Freehold (7 yrs old I think)

You can cycle to the MRT station and there's lots of activities to do in Pasir Ris on a weekend. Plus the above condos are not as expensive as those at East Coast area.

There are also those near Tanah Merah MRT that you could look at, the condos there are large projects too, but it's not so near to the beach as compared to those at Pasir Ris.

Whats your budget?

If high, city is best.

Otherwise, can consider condos along the up and coming Downtown Line (ready in 2015).

Price differs greatly from Bukit Panjang all the way to Newton.

Three notable condo belts at Hillview (cheapest), Bukit Timah (expensive), and Newton (more expensive).

Once MRT is ready, can expect 10% to 50% increase in prices.

Guest todbee

Budget around 1.5m. and consider FH Condo only.

I personally dun like living in the city. I suppose most young family with (at least 4 members) won't like living in the city alot in regardless of the price of the condo. Am I right?

Is Bukit Panjang, Hillview, Bukit Timah more Chinese area or other races area?

Have done some research today, and shortlisted these two FH condos:-

1. Meadow @ Pierce @ Upper Thomson Rd (D26) TOP 2012
  2. Waterline (D19)TOP 2010

What do you guys think??

Whats your budget?

If high, city is best.

Otherwise, can consider condos along the up and coming Downtown Line (ready in 2015).

Price differs greatly from Bukit Panjang all the way to Newton.

Three notable condo belts at Hillview (cheapest), Bukit Timah (expensive), and Newton (more expensive).

Once MRT is ready, can expect 10% to 50% increase in prices.

Budget around 1.5m. and consider FH Condo only.

I personally dun like living in the city. I suppose most young family with (at least 4 members) won't like living in the city alot in regardless of the price of the condo. Am I right?

Not true......the most important reason being price and affordability..it is very very expensive. Eg There are many nice new condo with full facilities opp Great World City, and for a 3 bedder should easily cost you a min of $2.5million. Property buying is all about Location, Location, Location.

Is Bukit Panjang, Hillview, Bukit Timah more Chinese area or other races area?

??? What are you looking for? Just like our population, percentage of chinese are higher. There is no race quota in private housing.

Have done some research today, and shortlisted these two FH condos:-

1. Meadow @ Pierce @ Upper Thomson Rd (D26) TOP 2012
  2. Waterline (D19)TOP 2010

You have shifted your interest from East ( Le Reve Condo ) to North rather quickly....you need to be more focused and specific in your search for your ideal property...its rather difficult for anyone to help you if you are not specific enough...as you can have a lot of choices in all parts of Singapore, based on your budget and requirements....different areas has its pros & cons. Different ppl will have different preferences, and its ultimately your decision based on your needs and preferences.

$1.5 mil is a huge investment, so you should be more thorough in your research before you commit.

There lots more to property buying which is too much to write here, but here are the essentials for any private property hunter:

1. http://www.ura.gov.sg/

Many useful resouces here...you should also STUDY the Master Plan for any upcoming development,etc which may impact your property value.

Of course, timing your purchase .....you cannot forget the property price index!! Is it the right time to buy???

URA property price index can be found here :

http://www.ura.gov.sg/pr/text/2010/pr10-30.html

And you can refer to NUS Residential Property Price Index :

http://www.ires.nus.edu.sg/srpi/srpi_main.aspx

The index for non-central region has surpassed way beyond the 2007 peak... and with the present global economic situation in uncertainty...is it the right time to buy? Its anyone's guess......

You will need holding power in case of a price correction if you intend to buy now.

2. http://www.ura.gov.sg/realEstateWeb/realEs...nController.jpf

Check the recent transacted prices in a private apartment/condo....If you need more detailed, you need to pay or you can ask a friendly generous agent for free :P

3. http://www.skyscrapercity.com/forumdisplay.php?f=589

Lots of property experts there who can advise you, and covers new projects which you are keen

4. http://www.streetdirectory.com/ or streetsine

You need to know your area, whats around eg MRT, shopping centres, schools, places of worship, cemeteries :rolleyes: ,feng shui

Streetsine can also list nearby condo to the one you have selected, if you are not familiar with the area. You can then do a comparison in prices and select the one you like.

5. http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/ and check the classified sections in the papers

Gives you an idea how much a property is up for sale or rental..you need to get a feel of the property market.

6. http://www.lta.gov.sg/images/20080715-DTL2.pdf

Know where the location of future MRT stations and interchanges, and the lines...you will need to be patient till 2015 for downtown line 2 to be ready, so value of nearby properties will increase then. A good example is near Old Airport Road where Dakota Station is , prices of the nearby recently launched condo projects already average $1300 psf!

8. Go viewing.., to see if you like the condo and its surroundings.

Dont write off old condos without viewing them, you may find some gems..IMO, yet to TOP projects are priced high already, you can find better value in completed projects. eg Yong An Park in River Valley is more than 20 yrs old, and still can command a high price! Remember Location, Location, Location

9. http://www.singaporeexpats.com/singapore-p...ty-pictures.htm

You can view pictures of most condos to help you narrow down your search

10. Google...its your best friend :)

What do you guys think??

[*]Meadow @ Pierce @ Upper Thomson Rd (D26) TOP 2012

[*]Waterline (D19)TOP 2010

Opinions are subjective..in any case, here's my opinion on your selected projects,

1. its in the north, served by CTE...notorious for its jams and ERP charges if you drive.

2. Not much room/ slow for capital appreciation that area - no major developments...the projects are a bit pricey aorund $900psf -$1K average I believe ( refer to PPI chart - already non core exceeded 2007 peak ), also fyi, Meadows@ Peirce is an A&A, ie refurbished , its not a new construction built from empty land.

You should look around the city fringes or nearby to see capital appreciation due to the filter down effect from core central prices., if city living is not your style.

3. Generally, most good schools are located along Bukit Timah Area,

You may want to look around this area or proximity, and in future served by the DTL2...so "not booming yet" until 2015, though developers have already priced this into their new projects liao

Hope this helps,

Edited by oogachaga

If your kids are still not in primary school, i suggest to think about which school you want to send your kids to and buy near there. It'll solve a headache you might have later and also property near good schools tend to hold value better. That's also why bukit timah is so expensive.

In fact, I found "too many choices to choose from" in buying. Quite typical scenerior:

- Children's(primarily level) schooling/safety/travel time come first. I've "over" this phase, part of reasons I sold away the private unit last year, near RSS to a coupler who has children in RSS.

- Children's (sec/jc level) public transport/travel time issue. I'm now located. I need not to fetch them as frequent as before.

- Next phase will be a "retiring" place, parks, reservoirs, garden, seasides, can do planting yet counting stars at night. Hopefully monthly maintenance fee can be as low as possible.

Guest todbee

The reason I switched from East Coast area to Serangon/Kovan area is due to my kids schooling. They are at age of 1.5-3+ at the moment and going to Childcare in Yishun/Sembawang. I think the school they are in now is pretty good and don't think will find other childcare like that in the new area we decided to shift to. Finding new new school for them is really a headache. It's like doing a PHD.

At first consider the East Coast area like around Eunos & Kembangan area. Have viewed about 10+ condo(new and 1-2years old condo) around (Lorong)Telok Kurau, Eunos, Kembangan area. Condo I have viewed:-

• Blue Coral
  • Medley
  • D'Casita
  • Mabell
  • The Lucent
  • Mill Creek
  • Le Reve
  • Ferraria Park and etc (can't remember liao)

After viewing the above condos and I realise I don't like the Telok Kurau area due to the Lorong is so "cramp" when getting in and out of the Lorong. Imagine everytime go home with this Lorong "cramp"... no thank you for me. And also I don't really like boutique condos after seeing so many, they all look about the same. It doesn't give people the home feeling apart from feeling "oh, that's NICE and NEW"!

Then after knowing there are jets flying around some area in Eunos, Telok Kurau... then I told myself to stay away these area. I don't understand why everyone so loved to live in the EAST COAST and so proud of telling people they are born, live and wanted to even die in EAST COAST than anywhere else?? Hmm.....

Now, I'm considering the Serangon/Kovan area which also the new shopping centre will be built and completed in Q4 2010. I think if live in Serangon/Kovan area then I can still drive my kids to the childcare in Yishun/Sembawang. Or do I sound crazy here?? Do you guys think there will be capital appreciation due to new shopping centre located?

It's really not easy for me to decide to look into which area at the end. Looking at East Coast area, yes it's CLOSER to city but no so convenient for my kids schooling, traffic is bad, suffer jet's or aeroplane noise and the lorong "cramp".

Ai..... *HELP*

Guest todbee

There have good primary and secondary schools around Serangon/Kovan area... I heard. BTW, where can we find out whether there are good school(s) or not?

Their current Childcare centre arrange excursion average once a month and have alot of outdoor activities which I don't think alot of other childcare bother to do that, right?

Hmm....

i guess you should consider their primary schools ba...

The reason I switched from East Coast area to Serangon/Kovan area is due to my kids schooling. They are at age of 1.5-3+ at the moment and going to Childcare in Yishun/Sembawang. I think the school they are in now is pretty good and don't think will find other childcare like that in the new area we decided to shift to. Finding new new school for them is really a headache. It's like doing a PHD.

At first consider the East Coast area like around Eunos & Kembangan area. Have viewed about 10+ condo(new and 1-2years old condo) around (Lorong)Telok Kurau, Eunos, Kembangan area. Condo I have viewed:-

• Blue Coral
  • Medley
  • D'Casita
  • Mabell
  • The Lucent
  • Mill Creek
  • Le Reve

After viewing the above condos and I realise I don't like the Telok Kurau area due to the Lorong is so "cramp" when getting in and out of the Lorong. Imagine everytime go home with this Lorong "cramp"... no thank you for me. And also I don't really like boutique condos after seeing so many, they all look about the same. It doesn't give people the home feeling apart from feeling "oh, that's NICE and NEW"!

Then after knowing there are jets flying around some area in Eunos, Telok Kurau... then I told myself to stay away these area. I don't understand why everyone so loved to live in the EAST COAST and so proud of telling people they are born, live and wanted to even die in EAST COAST than anywhere else?? Hmm.....

Now, I'm considering the Serangon/Kovan area which also the new shopping centre will be built and completed in Q4 2010. I think if live in Serangon/Kovan area then I can still drive my kids to the childcare in Yishun/Sembawang. Or do I sound crazy here?? Do you guys think there will be capital appreciation due to new shopping centre located?

It's really not easy for me to decide to look into which area at the end. Looking at East Coast area, yes it's CLOSER to city but no so convenient for my kids schooling, traffic is bad, suffer jet's or aeroplane noise and the lorong "cramp".

Ai..... *HELP*

east coast wise, you didn't view the amber gardens or meyer area, near st pat's or other areas closer to the beach? i do love living here. i like it that i can stroll to the beach, parkway parade and katong in the area, it's a quick drive to town - all my immediate family members and in laws live in this area too.

Edited by random_username

• Blue Coral
  • Medley
  • D'Casita
  • Mabell
  • The Lucent
  • Mill Creek
  • Le Reve

Ai..... *HELP*

u mean there are no childcare centers in the east? sounds like you are looking for a short term solution for ur problem that's all, in that case just rent...

otherwise simply put, you just didn't view enough properties in the east and do not know the east side of singapore well enough. there are in fact many developments, old and new, FH aplenty from meyer road all the way until upper east coast road (The Summit condo) and there's a super big (i heard expensive) childcare center opposite, walking distance to the beach, <1km to Temasek Primary school (one of the top primary school in east coast) if you find entering places like TaoNan tough.

Actually, all u need is one good agent to zero down your requirements and bring you around that's all. in fact, 1.5M will probably even get you a decent terrace FH in upper east coast and upper changi road

Not sure about the north, but i think it's worse off as an investment unless it's near any international schools, where is yishun and sembanwang exactly? never heard of kovan before too

in fact, thinking about it, 1.5M can buy a decent cdo in bt timah too (maybe only UBT in this case coz the market is crazy) then plenty of schools to choose from but then again, you still need to prepare 50-100k to enter a popular primary school

u mean there are no childcare centers in the east? sounds like you are looking for a short term solution for ur problem that's all, in that case just rent...

otherwise simply put, you just didn't view enough properties in the east and do not know the east side of singapore well enough. there are in fact many developments, old and new, FH aplenty from meyer road all the way until upper east coast road (The Summit condo) and there's a super big (i heard expensive) childcare center opposite, walking distance to the beach, <1km to Temasek Primary school (one of the top primary school in east coast) if you find entering places like TaoNan tough.

Actually, all u need is one good agent to zero down your requirements and bring you around that's all. in fact, 1.5M will probably even get you a decent terrace FH in upper east coast and upper changi road

Not sure about the north, but i think it's worse off as an investment unless it's near any international schools, where is yishun and sembanwang exactly? never heard of kovan before too

in fact, thinking about it, 1.5M can buy a decent cdo in bt timah too (maybe only UBT in this case coz the market is crazy) then plenty of schools to choose from but then again, you still need to prepare 50-100k to enter a popular primary school

D15 is very big. as pantieileen said, there are many condos booming or in constructions from haig to meyer road. Within a 1km area u can find at least 1 day care/ kindie and famous primary schools. This area has a couple of pretty good secondary schools and a high ranking JC to the boot.

Many Condos here are offering FH with view and with a 1.5M budget can get a pretty decent level with a nice view too. Do shop around. D15 is highly sort after over many areas. :P

My take is, Telok Kurau area has too many small apt which has been over sold as condos.

Looking for a new home is even more hard work....this is definitely going to be one of the biggest investment in your life, so its prudent to be thorough in your research, and know what you want.

There are many reasons looking for a home eg investment, closer to work, kid's school, parents/in-laws, upgrading, lifestyle, etc.....so it would be most helpful if you can provide more input as to your current situation so that ppl here can assist you eg

1. Where are you located now? Is your current arrangement not suitable? etc

2. Why are you looking for a condo? Are you currently staying in private or public housing? Own or staying with parents/in laws? Selling your present to buy new? First home ? Investment in 2nd home? Convenient to travel to work, kid's school, parents/in laws? etc

3. Is this condo for long term stay? Have you thought about after kids finish childcare?..... Pri school, Sec, then JC, University.....Or you want to move again when they get older or change schools?

4. Transport? Drive or pte school bus? When they are older....public trransport like bus or MRT? etc

Honestly, there are many good childcare centres ALL OVER Singapore besides in Yishun/ Sembawang ;) As I mentioned before, if you drive, CTE is one of the worst - jam and ERP charges, its an inconvenience to say the least.

You can ask for child care centres recommendations once you have decided where you want to stay.

• Blue Coral
  • Medley
  • D'Casita
  • Mabell
  • The Lucent
  • Mill Creek
  • Le Reve

As a young family, you should be looking at a condo with full facilities with a big compound with playground, big pool, tennis courts. You can enjoy a leisurely stroll within your condo, kids can have swimming lessons in the pool, interact with other kids in the condo, tennis lessons as well, playground etc.

Boutique apartments are not suitable for you, as you have found out the hard way, besides, there are a dime a dozen in Telok Kurau already :rolleyes: IMO ( no offence to anyone ) not very good investments.

Each area has its own charm eg East Coast..seaview, close to beach for stroll/jogging, food, ECP short drive to town or Changi Airport, etc .To each his own, its still individual preferences.

In your case, if you die die still insist on Yishun childcare, then you really have no choice but to look around that region...Serangoon/Kovan is a better choice for you than East Coast. With the Nex shopping cum transport hub coming up....... it should be exciting and will definitely add value to properties near it. MRT, bus interchange, amenities in NEX shopping centre, and good schools and not forgetting childcare centres nearby :P....it should be ideal for you.

You can start looking around this area...quite a few condos to choose from...

Read more about NEX http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=599315

Ai..... *HELP*

I think The Verte is a pretty good project as it is 7 mins walking distance to Kembangan MRT, next to Siglap park connector and the smallest unit is 3bedrooms. Unlike other Telok Kurau projects where they squeezed 50 mickey mouse units into a single development ...

I think the problem with landed property area like Telok Kurau, there will be car parked along the road side ... I have seen places like Poh Huat Road/Frankel Ave and etc, it is pretty much the same situation. The good thing is development is restricted to 5 storeys only ... so you get pretty good view

I was pretty much same situation as you before - 2 kids 1.5 and 3.5 years old and after viewing everywhere(The Arte, Lucida and etc), before we decided to go with The Verte :P

I think what really sold to me on that project is i could jog in the evening or walk/cycle with my family to east coast for dinner, quiet area and unblocked view.

My son's school in Novena and daughter in Forum .. probably i am going to move both of them to some school in East Coast when our unit is ready end of the year.

I guess the most important thing is buy something you like ... happy searching :D