vermilion 0 Report post Posted June 4, 2010 (edited) i have 3 chandeliers at my present flat only clean like thrice in 3 years!!! actually maintenance is easy. wear cotton glove, hold the crystal and rub 1 by 1, it takes me easily 15mins for this... about 40crystals... easy! actually am pretty excited to see hb's carpentry works, i use a pretty bold laminate... glossy black with some uneven color of brown... not my usual conservative kind of choice. it comes with matching abs timming (if not called wrongly), and pretty excited to see the work of the study desk under the spiral staircase, its a very challenging carpentry to do Edited June 4, 2010 by vermilion Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Honeygal 1 Report post Posted June 4, 2010 hi honeygal, i have a 3rm flat too!! http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?au...blogid=209& thought you started your reno? saw your blog... everything suppose to be done by him, but till now no finalized quotation, job done halfway le. your blog is worrying me... electrical is definitely ex, cos i have quotation for $30 installation of each chandelier whereas his is $50. the quote from other electrical is still bargainable. my chandeliers were bought from china. do you have a cheaper electrician to recommend? i don't seem to be able to find any rec on this forum. i engaged a really cheap electrician for my flat before, but he is incompetent (hook up the wrong wiring until Patrick detected it!), irresponsible and even misplaced a glass piece of my overhead lamp. he refused to compensate me for the missing glass. you shipped your chandeliers from china? really beautiful! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vermilion 0 Report post Posted June 4, 2010 i used to use eric, he has gone missing!!! i have a few that friends recommended, but pte property, you dun get hdb price anymore... eventually i still let patrick to do cos its easier for him to coordinate. his workers all know each other ma! i dun need to ship, fly back with me and friends. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Honeygal 1 Report post Posted June 4, 2010 i used to use eric, he has gone missing!!! i have a few that friends recommended, but pte property, you dun get hdb price anymore... eventually i still let patrick to do cos its easier for him to coordinate. his workers all know each other ma! i dun need to ship, fly back with me and friends. the electrician i used is named ERIC too! wonder if it is the same guy. btw, i was going through your old blog of your 3-room flat, i am thoroughly impressed with your interier design skills. i seriously should engage you as consultant coz i am quite clueless in this! how do you lug back the chandeliers from china????? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vermilion 0 Report post Posted June 4, 2010 when i read your reply, i suspected its him too!!! :P his worker is pretty cock up lor, this i agree... but got problems, he will rectify one leh. so far, mine all solved, and i think his worker lost 1 of my swarovski chandelier's screw, so for 3 years, i have 1 missing cyrstal! this time my trip to china, i got few spare and the poor crystal finally up with the rest!! i started to read floor plan since 9years old and love to draw furniture and house planning.. wanted to do interior design after o level but arts teacher told me graphic has more prospect, so i gave up my interest to pursue 'money'. when i went sydney to further my eduction, i wanted to do interior design, but it will takes me 3yrs instead of 2yrs to get a master. so i gave up my interest again. there are at least 5 people who approached me already, and i have many friends too. but my present work schedule is... when i work, i sleep like only 5hrs a day! i have no time to do interior design, and the tot of laising with workers... i think i will go crazy... but this whole month, i'm not working cos i need rest and wanna do up a nice house. i dismantled the chandeliers and pack them in boxes, so now i need to do assembly. after installation, i will then hang the crystal 1 by 1... did this 3yrs ago. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vermilion 0 Report post Posted June 8, 2010 moodboard for the house... patrick kept jokingly said, paint black for the whole house la, paint black, actually dats wats on my mind... but have done it for my first house, wanted to explore other colors... anyway, after playing a few rounds with the colors, yes, i really want black Uploaded with ImageShack.us Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vermilion 0 Report post Posted June 10, 2010 (edited) am very pleased with the progress so far... gaincity came yesterday 10am to install the cassette and system 2 aircon, the house was like war zone! installation not finished and will continue today till 3pm... now i understand why pay more for conceal piping... praying hard everything turns out well. if not the redo... i cant imagine... windows were too small for the compressor and they have to remove the glass panel, installed back anyway... and of course, i truly wish to remove the grille and asked if they can do it. cant leh disappointed. bought curtain for the house too, it cost $28 per meter last month, went joo chiat complex yesterday, merchant sale! paid only $5.30 per meter. am going to sew this for living room curtain and wardrobe's door.... love it! Uploaded with ImageShack.us and have chosen roses for my chandeliers and beaming... for the simulated four-poster bed... looking forward to see the completion... although many have said cornices and roses are old fashioned, but i believe they gonna make my little house beautiful. they will... Edited June 10, 2010 by vermilion Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vermilion 0 Report post Posted June 10, 2010 besides the study desk below the spiral staircase, the other challenging thing i have now is how to mount the several photo frames that i bought, as i want them overlap each other. 3D effect... any suggestions? see my previous moodboard for the house... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
timtim 0 Report post Posted June 12, 2010 besides the study desk below the spiral staircase, the other challenging thing i have now is how to mount the several photo frames that i bought, as i want them overlap each other. 3D effect... any suggestions? see my previous moodboard for the house... really love the theme u are using , more pic please Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vermilion 0 Report post Posted June 12, 2010 hi timtim, sure, will upload more pixs... at the moment, aircon, cornice & roses are up... but i went there in the early afternoon to check the no of bulbs i bought for the chandelier, put accessories for kitchen sink & drinks for the workers in the house, so did not take a lot of pixs. only this... but i think there's some miscommunication.... my beaming corners are missing... hopefully can still add on... Uploaded with ImageShack.us these are the roses and beaming that will be installed in the house for chandeliers and ceiling above the beds... Uploaded with ImageShack.us many of my friends said cornices are old fashioned, however, i look at it from another perspective and would love to revive it. i believe it can be beautiful if uses appropriately... patrick told me that my study desk below the spiral staircase is ready and will be installed next week!!! looking forward... cant wait to see the carpentry with the glossy exotic laminate chosen... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
timtim 0 Report post Posted June 13, 2010 hi timtim, sure, will upload more pixs... at the moment, aircon, cornice & roses are up... but i went there in the early afternoon to check the no of bulbs i bought for the chandelier, put accessories for kitchen sink & drinks for the workers in the house, so did not take a lot of pixs. only this... but i think there's some miscommunication.... my beaming corners are missing... hopefully can still add on... Uploaded with ImageShack.us these are the roses and beaming that will be installed in the house for chandeliers and ceiling above the beds... Uploaded with ImageShack.us many of my friends said cornices are old fashioned, however, i look at it from another perspective and would love to revive it. i believe it can be beautiful if uses appropriately... patrick told me that my study desk below the spiral staircase is ready and will be installed next week!!! looking forward... cant wait to see the carpentry with the glossy exotic laminate chosen... love everything and idea u did so far to the place keep up the good work , dont listen to your friend or other comment of old fashion , they dont know anything about classic look or shabby chic or rococo , cuz most people wanna their place to end up looking like a ikea cheap catalogue Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vermilion 0 Report post Posted June 13, 2010 thanks for the encouragement. btw, are you doing your reno? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
timtim 0 Report post Posted June 13, 2010 thanks for the encouragement. btw, are you doing your reno? nope not doing any reno as for now , but like to see what people do to their place , your's one of the very inspiring and classic one Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vermilion 0 Report post Posted June 13, 2010 here you are timtim, more pixs... am getting really excited... very i cant stop saying beautiful... beautiful... beautiful to myself when i was at the house today!!! masterbedroom, have asked to add corners to the beaming... so hopefully it will be even more beautiful... Uploaded with ImageShack.us Uploaded with ImageShack.us Uploaded with ImageShack.us Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vermilion 0 Report post Posted June 13, 2010 (edited) gain city's workers die... 1 of the room got a hole on my parquet... deep hole somemore. no way to sand away they die... no protection was put on the floor and of course i jumped! Uploaded with ImageShack.us but honestly, their workers have been helpful, when i told them about their white outdoor trunking and wish they can paint back the same col as the building for me. they ok to every request i made. even helped me to dismantle curtain track... (mayb bcos i bought each of them coffee and 1.5l of softdrinks + unlimited yeo's drinks in my house.) they even helped me to wrap up my furnitures told tommy (gain city's sales) i got a hole on my floor! this young gentleman said, no worries, i claim for you! send me the pixs but, probably not claiming, workers are helpful and nice + i got really good price (friend know someone and tommy was asked to give me close to net price) have bought a 32" and 26" tv from him during pc show, at great great prices too! very pleased.. Edited June 13, 2010 by vermilion Share this post Link to post Share on other sites