froggy 0 Report post Posted August 12, 2010 Thur, 12 Aug 2010 fresh off the camera ... marle laying in progress Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fifteenmay 40 Report post Posted August 12, 2010 Thur, 12 Aug 2010 fresh off the camera ... marle laying in progress Your marble slabs are not 60cm by 60cm? It looks like 30cm x 30cm? Wah your tiler lay until very tired! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted August 12, 2010 Your marble slabs are not 60cm by 60cm? It looks like 30cm x 30cm? Wah your tiler lay until very tired! it's 30x60. Cannot afford the 60x60, so no choice lah. But honestly, don't know which is worst - the bigger tile is heavier but lay lesser pieces, the smaller tile is half the weight but must double the process! infact, after the delivery, we attempted to run through the marble to look for defective pieces, but gave up after going through a few pieces - really heavy stuff! Actually this is really siong, must really salute these 2 men - the 72-yr-old uncle who brought the marble upstairs, and this tiler uncle. I saw him squating to do the cement/adhesive, then picking up a piece of marble, then bending over with that heavy load, adjusting to fit into position nicely. If it's me, my back would have given up on me after one day! Pure hard work! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fifteenmay 40 Report post Posted August 12, 2010 it's 30x60. Cannot afford the 60x60, so no choice lah. But honestly, don't know which is worst - the bigger tile is heavier but lay lesser pieces, the smaller tile is half the weight but must double the process! infact, after the delivery, we attempted to run through the marble to look for defective pieces, but gave up after going through a few pieces - really heavy stuff! Actually this is really siong, must really salute these 2 men - the 72-yr-old uncle who brought the marble upstairs, and this tiler uncle. I saw him squating to do the cement/adhesive, then picking up a piece of marble, then bending over with that heavy load, adjusting to fit into position nicely. If it's me, my back would have given up on me after one day! Pure hard work! Ya man!! poor uncle! got give him packet drink or not? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted August 12, 2010 went down again - this time with the 2 girls to show how hard work it is to lay the marble, and took these step by step shots Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted August 12, 2010 Ya man!! poor uncle! got give him packet drink or not? that goes without saying ... must take care of his stomach .. actually though contractor keep saying no need to buy, I realise the workers are very hungry one. We bought the big tin of biscuit and packet drinks, and within a few days, all gone .. so must make sure replenish stock often but for this uncle, special delivery one ... ta pau lunch for him on first trip ta pau snack and coffee for afternoon tea just finish baking some cookies, tomorrow cookie delivery ... ha ha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted August 12, 2010 My house is using compressed marble flooring, we just do normal waxing, no epoxy polish as it comes with waxing, we just accept what was given. I dunno about the marble flooring going mouldy, but they are siuppose to last right? Anyway i use this for my flooring. Froggy and Gal_mama: I use AJAX fabuloso for the rest of the flooring including my toliet and kitchen floors too. Pure laziness. But if you go to the selffix shops they do sell shampoo for wooden floors, but I am not sure how useful they are. Thanks! Will go get this. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zelly 0 Report post Posted August 12, 2010 that goes without saying ... must take care of his stomach .. actually though contractor keep saying no need to buy, I realise the workers are very hungry one. We bought the big tin of biscuit and packet drinks, and within a few days, all gone .. so must make sure replenish stock often but for this uncle, special delivery one ... ta pau lunch for him on first trip ta pau snack and coffee for afternoon tea just finish baking some cookies, tomorrow cookie delivery ... ha ha one lucky uncle! Anyway he will be happier doing the stuff also! I wan some cookie too! Dun mind getting fat for Froggy's cookies! Hey they rhyme! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted August 13, 2010 that goes without saying ... must take care of his stomach .. actually though contractor keep saying no need to buy, I realise the workers are very hungry one. We bought the big tin of biscuit and packet drinks, and within a few days, all gone .. so must make sure replenish stock often but for this uncle, special delivery one ... ta pau lunch for him on first trip ta pau snack and coffee for afternoon tea just finish baking some cookies, tomorrow cookie delivery ... ha ha i luv cookies too.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted August 13, 2010 one lucky uncle! Anyway he will be happier doing the stuff also! I wan some cookie too! Dun mind getting fat for Froggy's cookies! Hey they rhyme! i luv cookies too.... ok ok, remember our move-in cookie party? btw, Joseng, can pm yr quote for the mirror feature wall? Really thinking hard about having one at the dining area to make space look bigger, but also got to balance with $$ bc already over-spent by so much - have added so much work not in original contract. Plus 15may says mirror very hard to clean, not sure if I should do it how's yr mirror maintenance? btw if not too much trouble, can post a pix - I kinda forgotten how it looks like liao Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted August 13, 2010 ok ok, remember our move-in cookie party? btw, Joseng, can pm yr quote for the mirror feature wall? Really thinking hard about having one at the dining area to make space look bigger, but also got to balance with $$ bc already over-spent by so much - have added so much work not in original contract. Plus 15may says mirror very hard to clean, not sure if I should do it how's yr mirror maintenance? btw if not too much trouble, can post a pix - I kinda forgotten how it looks like liao my quote at my hse now, so can only pm you tonight. din do much mirror maintenance yet, so cant comment much...hehe... my feature wall quite common la, just vertical stripes of mirror and laminates, does tat ring a bell now? if not, you can come over again to see and at the same time bring along some of your delicious bakery products lor.....hahaha...just kidding.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted August 13, 2010 eh joseeng, u still owe us ur pics.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted August 15, 2010 eh joseeng, u still owe us ur pics.... ha ha, Joseng looks like it's not only I who want to see the pix leh! so go yr house not good enough ... you better post ah! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2010 Mon, 16 Aug 2010 Went furniture shopping today. Needed to look for the following: sofa coffee/side table dining chair girls' wardrobe girls' work table computer table bookshelves - we have an existing set of table and chairs, but thought of replacing the chairs with something of smaller frame/legs bc of small dining area. Went to Gnee Hong this morning, found some interesting designs and acceptable prices, but not not exactly what we wanted as the legs were too wide. Does anyone else have any recommendation as to where we can find such chairs? Those "legless" types would be most ideal since my dining area will be glass on one side and mirror on the other - coffee table - due to limited space, we can only have a very small table, so ideally something extendable? Saw some nice ones at Lush website, but the $$ is just off our bursting budget. Anywhere else? - the girls will have a shared study room, and a shared bedroom until they are ready to "split". So we did not do any build in carpentry works in their rooms. Plan to get those ready-made table/bookshelves, esp those kind with shelving above the table arrangement. Again, any recommended places? does hommage or S&C have such furniture? thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted August 17, 2010 Tue, 17 Aug 2010 happy day! went into the house this morning to see marble flooring and grouting all done! more suprises - was greeted by 4 workers! More wet works today! kitchen sink 1 ... 2 ... 3... up kitchen sink is finally mounted! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites