froggy 0 Report post Posted August 2, 2010 how u choose yr sink huh? i see until i blur... duno how to choose... I choose based on layman requirements. 1. size that fits the space allocated for sink, including whether single or double bowl? 2. under or top mount? Although nowadays if you ask the shopkeepers, every piece also can do top or undermount, with the exception of those "clean cut" ones strictly for undermount only 3. shape? rounded edge or straight corners (don't know what is the term for this?), bearing in mind where you want to fix the mixer? Are you going to install a soap dispenser? water filter faucet? etc. 4. read some comments about single or joint? but again, most shopkeepers say theirs is single - I don't know how to see 5. thickness of sink - some s/s are very thin, think generally should be careful of such. 6. undercoat? some have the black rubber piece, understand that that is supposed to prevent condensation? 7. accessories - some come with basket to catch food particles, some don't, though maybe you can just buy one to replace but for me, mostly is based on shape. This sink I got is love at first sight, I had to keep bugging the lao ban every few days till he is willing to let go of it ... But hubby thinks I am crazy, so many sinks to choose from, but I choose a display piece?!?!? hth Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted August 2, 2010 froggy can make nice cookies, cakes, eclairs, sure need a bigger kitchen! hey bearlyn thanks so much! If space permits, I want industrial oven lei! Stay positive! yes, yes, I will .. we are barely at the start of marathon nia - must not be discouraged by any setback! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
insane 0 Report post Posted August 2, 2010 I choose based on layman requirements. 1. size that fits the space allocated for sink, including whether single or double bowl? 2. under or top mount? Although nowadays if you ask the shopkeepers, every piece also can do top or undermount, with the exception of those "clean cut" ones strictly for undermount only 3. shape? rounded edge or straight corners (don't know what is the term for this?), bearing in mind where you want to fix the mixer? Are you going to install a soap dispenser? water filter faucet? etc. 4. read some comments about single or joint? but again, most shopkeepers say theirs is single - I don't know how to see 5. thickness of sink - some s/s are very thin, think generally should be careful of such. 6. undercoat? some have the black rubber piece, understand that that is supposed to prevent condensation? 7. accessories - some come with basket to catch food particles, some don't, though maybe you can just buy one to replace but for me, mostly is based on shape. This sink I got is love at first sight, I had to keep bugging the lao ban every few days till he is willing to let go of it ... But hubby thinks I am crazy, so many sinks to choose from, but I choose a display piece?!?!? hth ok... will go walk see see again... sighzz.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hippobb 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2010 hot water pipe to kitchen Hi Froggy, Good progress you've got there for your hse reno! btw just to check, is that a laundry rack at the side? very good idea leh.. are the poles stainless steel? don't mind can share the cost and contact for it? Thanks in advance.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bearlyn2406 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2010 hot water pipe to kitchen Hi Froggy, Good progress you've got there for your hse reno! btw just to check, is that a laundry rack at the side? very good idea leh.. are the poles stainless steel? don't mind can share the cost and contact for it? Thanks in advance.. eh.. tat's by HDB.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hippobb 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2010 eh.. tat's by HDB.. thanks!! whar HDB nowadays so good ... old hdb flats doesnt come with that.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bearlyn2406 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2010 thanks!! whar HDB nowadays so good ... old hdb flats doesnt come with that.. haha.. u haven seen e whole picture.. after u seen it u will say s***! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2010 thanks!! whar HDB nowadays so good ... old hdb flats doesnt come with that.. good ah? floor layout more headache than anything. Actually I'm not complaining about its size, afterall, it's 4room @ 90sqm. But there are alot of design flaws that makes planning very difficult and space wastage for what is already limited, for eg, door entrance "wrongly" positioned (otherwise can have another row of kitchen cabinets), ledge window also wrongly positioned (otherwise can have good use of space for wardrobe), ridiculous toilet door type/position/layout. And the cloths rack ah .. aiyoh, I thought of removing it, would prefer it ceiling mounted - now it's the middle of nowhere - once pull out to use, cannot walk into service yard liao. I think the architect just blindly build one, after all, they not staying in flat so they do not understand what is making full use of space! sorry, just ranting .. bc I thought that after decades of building houses, design would have become better, but no lei Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2010 haha.. u haven seen e whole picture.. after u seen it u will say s***! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fifteenmay 40 Report post Posted August 3, 2010 good ah? floor layout more headache than anything. Actually I'm not complaining about its size, afterall, it's 4room @ 90sqm. But there are alot of design flaws that makes planning very difficult and space wastage for what is already limited, for eg, door entrance "wrongly" positioned (otherwise can have another row of kitchen cabinets), ledge window also wrongly positioned (otherwise can have good use of space for wardrobe), ridiculous toilet door type/position/layout. And the cloths rack ah .. aiyoh, I thought of removing it, would prefer it ceiling mounted - now it's the middle of nowhere - once pull out to use, cannot walk into service yard liao. I think the architect just blindly build one, after all, they not staying in flat so they do not understand what is making full use of space! sorry, just ranting .. bc I thought that after decades of building houses, design would have become better, but no lei u forgot abt the stupid pillar in the kitchen and the beams that cause our cupboard space to be smaller!!also the unhackable wall in between mbr and the other room in the end cannot merge 2rooms!!! Also think the building design is corked up!! Blk d want to go to lrt side have to waln real far to get to e main entrance.now got to squeeze thr the stone ledge and the lobby has a lot of hidden corners,feel quite unsafe when walking there at night alone.sigh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2010 u forgot abt the stupid pillar in the kitchen and the beams that cause our cupboard space to be smaller!!also the unhackable wall in between mbr and the other room in the end cannot merge 2rooms!!! Also think the building design is corked up!! Blk d want to go to lrt side have to waln real far to get to e main entrance.now got to squeeze thr the stone ledge and the lobby has a lot of hidden corners,feel quite unsafe when walking there at night alone.sigh some more some more - so many exposed beams outside the flats, easily "trap" rubbish - some weeks back, spotted a plastic bag in one of these beams, presumably rubbish thrown by the upper floor people - imagine walking underneath, and that bag drop, sure kenna "big strike"! Also notice for blk A and D need to go round and round to from house to carpark - dunno why? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fifteenmay 40 Report post Posted August 3, 2010 some more some more - so many exposed beams outside the flats, easily "trap" rubbish - some weeks back, spotted a plastic bag in one of these beams, presumably rubbish thrown by the upper floor people - imagine walking underneath, and that bag , sure kenna "big strike"! Also notice for blk A and D need to go round and round to from house to carpark - dunno why? totally Agree abt the winding road to reach blk d!!!crazy design!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bearlyn2406 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2010 wow, cannot offend the ladies. lol Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hippobb 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2010 really that bad huh.. I tot my old hse was bad to have slanted beams ... ... recently visited one flat at pinacle ... looks pretty decent ....but the price also very steep... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2010 really that bad huh.. I tot my old hse was bad to have slanted beams ... ... recently visited one flat at pinacle ... looks pretty decent ....but the price also very steep... ha ha ... think every house design has its + and -. For resale, can see the flat physically before buying. But for new flats, purchase is based purely on floor plan only, so sometimes a bit hard to visualise. Anyway for some people like myself, also no choice, bc second timer, so got left over just grab liao! Before this successful application, dunno invested how many $10 to ballot already! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites