froggy 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2010 (edited) Sunday, 4 July 2010 finally the 3D has come in, but I did not really like the end result. Wonder if the colour of real thing will be close to 3D colour print out, if so, think I will have to re-think colour combination. The last few days, did not post any updates because we have been busy going around shops, comparing prices and making decisions. Finally, today, we made a few purchases, which are somewhat different from what i had initially set my mind on. Here's what we bought, all from Kallang leisure Park 1. Electrolux oven EOB 53000 - finally decided not to get pyro or catalytic, but be more diligent in cleaning after each use. After months of reasearch, I was swayed from Brandt pyro to Bosch Eco to even Turbo, and finally Electrolux. Even whilst researching electrolux, it was hard to decide - between their new pyro (35000), the 66litre Australian made one (305) and finally the one I finally decided on. 2. Brandt hob 890 3. Brandt hood 658 From the onset, most RT review give good comments on Rinnai and Fujioh, so I had already set my mind on one of those. But since it's usually the first or last salesman that gets the deal (in this case the last), and hubby also did not like the fujioh 900 hood, I got swayed towards Brandt. So looks like I will have to update my signature Anyhow, I am glad we have come to a decision - it really wasn't pleasant thinking about all these unresolved issues knowing that reno is going to start anytime now. Also went to Balestier this evening in search of lights. Walked both sides of Balestier from the Bendemeer to Balestier Plaza, in and out of countless lighting shops, but did not see anything we like. And we did not realise that lights and fans can be so costly! Even downlights, which we needed so many. After returning home, we did a quick calculation - fan will set us back almost 1.5k (for a nice designer fan in hall and 3 normal ones for room), and lights maybe almost 2k! Out of curiosity, how much did all of you spend on lights and fans? Edited July 4, 2010 by froggy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2010 din knw edmund provides 3D color pics wor... hi Joseng thought you are busy moving in and no time for RT liao! ha ha - this is new value added service --- value added to the price we pay lah you settled in already? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bearlyn2406 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2010 and here's pictures galore! first, the kitchen (side 1) honestly, I must say I was quite disappointed with the way the colour turn out. Not quite the bright vibrant orange that I had liked? But is it always like that? 3D print out colour different from the real one? We had chosen beige laminate to go with the bright orange glass splash back, but the orange does not stand, and the beige looks white. Now we are re-thinking if it is better to do cabinets in colour and use clear glass splash back instead. Any comments? My hubby keep saying that's the prob with no ID, so we have to be ID and think creative and do colour scheme also find the glass back on the back wall (window) a bit weird - like the glass stopping in the middle of the wall. Wonder if can do whole wall colour? Dunno a bit overkill or not? Or maybe that whole wall don't do glass backing? and this is the other side of kitchen the orange looks dark right? wonder if it's due to reflection from the black work top? and finally, the mbr (without the headboard, there's supposed to be the ledge window above the chest of drawers) comments, please ... eh.. the cabinets n the worktop on the right when u enter the kitchen.. got so spacious meh? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2010 eh.. the cabinets n the worktop on the right when u enter the kitchen.. got so spacious meh? i hack the kitchen wall mah, so should be enough walking space? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2010 For kitchen cabinets, we prefer to have 2 different colours, for top and bottom. Mayb u use lighter colour for wk top? For my whole hse lights, 19 downlights + 9 Ts for cove light + 2 toilets light + 1 storeroom light + 2 kitchen light + 1 dining light, we spent $1186 For fans, we haven buy, still looking ard. Thinking of getting the bb kdk (3 blade) from everjoint. Cheapest so far, $159 (incl remote). For living room, maybe from lighting.com.sg $200+ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2010 For kitchen cabinets, we prefer to have 2 different colours, for top and bottom. Mayb u use lighter colour for wk top? For my whole hse lights, 19 downlights + 9 Ts for cove light + 2 toilets light + 1 storeroom light + 2 kitchen light + 1 dining light, we spent $1186 For fans, we haven buy, still looking ard. Thinking of getting the bb kdk (3 blade) from everjoint. Cheapest so far, $159 (incl remote). For living room, maybe from lighting.com.sg $200+ thanks. work top ah - but i like the sparkles of the black galaxy lei. unless use quartz, but that one more costly right? what's the "t' in 9 Ts cove lights? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2010 (edited) thanks. work top ah - but i like the sparkles of the black galaxy lei. unless use quartz, but that one more costly right? what's the "t' in 9 Ts cove lights? Oops sorry, typo error. Shd be T5. But dunno what T stands for. Its those long light tube Edited July 4, 2010 by gals_mama Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bearlyn2406 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2010 i hack the kitchen wall mah, so should be enough walking space? i rephrase my question. I mean on the right side of the wall, the length from the edge of the bi-fold door to the wall is not much. From the drawings can really do cabs and worktop ah? Cos i still cannot visualise that space can actually do another worktop with cabs unless u "eat" out beyond the door which from the drawing is not so. hmm... or did i miss out anything? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted July 4, 2010 i rephrase my question. I mean on the right side of the wall, the length from the edge of the bi-fold door to the wall is not much. From the drawings can really do cabs and worktop ah? Cos i still cannot visualise that space can actually do another worktop with cabs unless u "eat" out beyond the door which from the drawing is not so. hmm... or did i miss out anything? do you mean the kitchen wall between kitchen and bomb shelter? that's almost 2.5 m right? Because I hack kitchen entrance, so can build cabinets all the way to where the kitchen entrance is. If not hacking kitchen entrance, then can only build cabinets about half that length, else block entrance. Does that answer yr query? I saw another house - what they did is build a small "fold up" table on that wall, as some kind of worktop. Otherwise, after putting the sink and hob, no more work space liao, esp if you plan to do a full height cabinet for oven. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2010 hi Joseng thought you are busy moving in and no time for RT liao! ha ha - this is new value added service --- value added to the price we pay lah you settled in already? fyi, i haven move in yet... ...been bz cleaning and moving things little by little. so the 3d color pics are only provided for reno above a certain amount is it? guess my reno din exceed tat amount to qualify for the 3d pics....hehe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
flamedav 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2010 (edited) Very nice and unique idea indeed! I doubt not many in Fernvale Vista has done this yet. For the colour matching problem, computer drawings sometime do not really bring out the true picture. I'd suggest if you can get a copy of the material or something that best represents it and put it them together to have a better picture of how it will turn out. Something like a mood board. and here's pictures galore! first, the kitchen (side 1) . . . . and this is the other side of kitchen . . the orange looks dark right? wonder if it's due to reflection from the black work top? comments, please ... Edited July 5, 2010 by flamedav Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fifteenmay 40 Report post Posted July 5, 2010 what do you mean by no difference? bet inv and non-inv? how come? He say the cost savings quite minimal and the cost difference so much. He is our air con man for my whole family so we trust him to give us the best suggestion, so we just took it. ahahahah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fifteenmay 40 Report post Posted July 5, 2010 and here's pictures galore! first, the kitchen (side 1) honestly, I must say I was quite disappointed with the way the colour turn out. Not quite the bright vibrant orange that I had liked? But is it always like that? 3D print out colour different from the real one? We had chosen beige laminate to go with the bright orange glass splash back, but the orange does not stand, and the beige looks white. Now we are re-thinking if it is better to do cabinets in colour and use clear glass splash back instead. Any comments? My hubby keep saying that's the prob with no ID, so we have to be ID and think creative and do colour scheme also find the glass back on the back wall (window) a bit weird - like the glass stopping in the middle of the wall. Wonder if can do whole wall colour? Dunno a bit overkill or not? Or maybe that whole wall don't do glass backing? and this is the other side of kitchen the orange looks dark right? wonder if it's due to reflection from the black work top? and finally, the mbr (without the headboard, there's supposed to be the ledge window above the chest of drawers) comments, please ... OOH.... I think its quite nice! can imagine! Actually,i thought that the orange goes nicely with the black surface and white laminates. think no need to worry the colour combi now cos i think your contractor would let you choose when the time comes. Envious that you can hack wall and get a bigger kitchen Maserbedroom 3d looks real cozy too.. U not getting the headboard? Can your cupboard fit both hubby and your clothes? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fifteenmay 40 Report post Posted July 5, 2010 Sunday, 4 July 2010 finally the 3D has come in, but I did not really like the end result. Wonder if the colour of real thing will be close to 3D colour print out, if so, think I will have to re-think colour combination. The last few days, did not post any updates because we have been busy going around shops, comparing prices and making decisions. Finally, today, we made a few purchases, which are somewhat different from what i had initially set my mind on. Here's what we bought, all from Kallang leisure Park 1. Electrolux oven EOB 53000 - finally decided not to get pyro or catalytic, but be more diligent in cleaning after each use. After months of reasearch, I was swayed from Brandt pyro to Bosch Eco to even Turbo, and finally Electrolux. Even whilst researching electrolux, it was hard to decide - between their new pyro (35000), the 66litre Australian made one (305) and finally the one I finally decided on. 2. Brandt hob 890 3. Brandt hood 658 From the onset, most RT review give good comments on Rinnai and Fujioh, so I had already set my mind on one of those. But since it's usually the first or last salesman that gets the deal (in this case the last), and hubby also did not like the fujioh 900 hood, I got swayed towards Brandt. So looks like I will have to update my signature Anyhow, I am glad we have come to a decision - it really wasn't pleasant thinking about all these unresolved issues knowing that reno is going to start anytime now. Also went to Balestier this evening in search of lights. Walked both sides of Balestier from the Bendemeer to Balestier Plaza, in and out of countless lighting shops, but did not see anything we like. And we did not realise that lights and fans can be so costly! Even downlights, which we needed so many. After returning home, we did a quick calculation - fan will set us back almost 1.5k (for a nice designer fan in hall and 3 normal ones for room), and lights maybe almost 2k! Out of curiosity, how much did all of you spend on lights and fans? i spent 1k on lights and about $500 on 2 fans ( bought in jb) Breakdown on lights 11 downlights 1 for study room, 1 for future baby room, 1 for service Yard, 1 for kitchen, 1 for bomb shelter, 1 for master bedroom passage way, 1 for passageway, 7 LED Uplights, 17 T5 lights. Fans cannot compare cos i bought from JB,Much cheaper and with the exchange rate Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
matashi 1 Report post Posted July 5, 2010 and finally, the mbr (without the headboard, there's supposed to be the ledge window above the chest of drawers) comments, please ... what is the two holes beside the bed on the cabinet? for alarm clock ah? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites