froggy

My Second Home At Fernvale Vista

Finally got down to taking pictures of the house, albeit still rather messy and need some tidying up ..

In the mbr, we only did the wardrobe and simple shelving for the TV wall, since the length of the room is quite limited.

mbr wardrobe

DSC09155.jpg

The chest of drawers are on castors, so that we can easily move it when aircon servicing needs to be done. We don't like the idea of servicemen stepping on our furnishing. At first, thought of building full height wardrobe to cover the window above aircon ledge, so servicemen sort of go through the wardrobe to access the balcony, like the wardrobe in Narnia. But that is worse, they can see all that's in the wardrobe!?!? I am a very private person ...

mbr TV wall

DSC09163.jpg

this is suggested by contractor. Due to space limitation in front of the bed, just build a box to hide the power and tv points, and narrow shelves for players etc. I liked the idea, simple and functional.

and of course, the curtains by Mr Chew

DSC09177.jpg

the picture is not doing justice to the storage bed frame, but it's certainly one of the best things I have purchased! Show you a photo of the bedframe taken in the showroom

CIMG0175-1.jpg

Finally got down to taking pictures of the house, albeit still rather messy and need some tidying up ..

In the mbr, we only did the wardrobe and simple shelving for the TV wall, since the length of the room is quite limited.

mbr wardrobe

DSC09155.jpg

The chest of drawers are on castors, so that we can easily move it when aircon servicing needs to be done. We don't like the idea of servicemen stepping on our furnishing. At first, thought of building full height wardrobe to cover the window above aircon ledge, so servicemen sort of go through the wardrobe to access the balcony, like the wardrobe in Narnia. But that is worse, they can see all that's in the wardrobe!?!? I am a very private person ...

mbr TV wall

DSC09163.jpg

this is suggested by contractor. Due to space limitation in front of the bed, just build a box to hide the power and tv points, and narrow shelves for players etc. I liked the idea, simple and functional.

and of course, the curtains by Mr Chew

DSC09177.jpg

the picture is not doing justice to the storage bed frame, but it's certainly one of the best things I have purchased! Show you a photo of the bedframe taken in the showroom

CIMG0175-1.jpg

curtains v nice! ur bed to the wall agar agar how far from each other? cos mine like quite narrow, so wondering if i mount a TV like urs will it b obstructing? :unsure:

Next, my girls' bedroom and studyroom

For this room and the next, no build in furnishing done. This arrangement is intended to be temporary, so everything is bought off the shelves for easy portability and rearrangement when needed. Paint colours are the girls' choices, though.

single storage beds

DSC09169.jpg

Actually wanted to have a place a side table between the two beds, but not possible else cannot open wardrobe. Also did not want to flush bed against the window wall, since we prefer a proper passage to access the bed and windows. So this looks like the only feasible arrangement - thanks to hdb for their superb design

wardrobe

DSC09165.jpg

That's 2 units of wardrobe - dimension is perfect as they fit nicely into the wall - no wastage of space. And a sliding wardrobe is a must - too tight to open a casement door otherwise!

once again, curtains in their bedroom

DSC09174.jpg

Now to the studyroom.

DSC09210.jpg

These 3 units of bookshelves, again, fit the entire wall nicely. The one on top is from our old house - still good - but no place to put liao - so ended up on top!!!

And of course, the place where I get my daily dose of RT - pardon the mess! Did I say 90% of things in the house are mine???

Study table

DSC09194.jpg

I love the study tables - beautiful standalone unit complete with racks for their barang barang, and shelving for their files and books! Photo was taken in the day, was a little too glaring and pulling the curtains did not help much, since we had chosen a thinner fabric for this room. Will try to retake the photos at night for comparison.

curtains v nice! ur bed to the wall agar agar how far from each other? cos mine like quite narrow, so wondering if i mount a TV like urs will it b obstructing? :unsure:

just went to measure - bed end to wall slightly more than 30". If wall mount, allow for about 3" to 4" protrude from wall. that is if no tv feature wall. If you are planning to have that, then please add on ... that's why contractor says best to do simple on that wall.

Another point - choose a divan, don't go for those with very elaborate edges. Will definitely eat up all yr walking space on all 3 sides of the bed!

just went to measure - bed end to wall slightly more than 30". If wall mount, allow for about 3" to 4" protrude from wall. that is if no tv feature wall. If you are planning to have that, then please add on ... that's why contractor says best to do simple on that wall.

Another point - choose a divan, don't go for those with very elaborate edges. Will definitely eat up all yr walking space on all 3 sides of the bed!

i c.. i'll measure the space i've when i go up tomolo afternoon. thanks! :D

know what? I thought the flash 40 means 40 min, but yesterday I actually timed the washing - less than 30min done liao! Very very happy bc energy saving (hopefully). So far, we have had 2 previous front loaders, and the half load fastest is 30 min. Imagine this one can do full load at under 30!

you are also doing full load when using Flash 40? :P i read the manual, the recommended load for Flash 40 is 2-3kg for my 6kg machine, meaning half load nia.... but we dun care cos like what i said just now, our clothes are not that dirty ba......... hahahaha :lol:

hiyah can't see your photos in office now.... shall go home and look look! :D

And finally, the kitchen, where the bulk of reno cost goes to! Better say it's nice hor, otherwise I xin tong :o

... but ... omg, think better don't post first, so super messy and badly taken now that I am looking at the downloaded photos, and dunno which one to upload to photobucket lei?? Tonight take again ok .. but now just a very quick preview of the not-so-messy part .. pai seh

the Brandt hood and hob

DSC09136.jpg

DSC09137.jpg

view hall into kitchen - haha, yes, it's steamboat again

DSC09093.jpg

ok, folks, that's all for now ... enjoy!

you are also doing full load when using Flash 40? :P i read the manual, the recommended load for Flash 40 is 2-3kg for my 6kg machine, meaning half load nia.... but we dun care cos like what i said just now, our clothes are not that dirty ba......... hahahaha :lol:

hiyah can't see your photos in office now.... shall go home and look look! :D

serious? I haven't read the manual yet, but demo guy said can leh. Wow, think I better go and read, don't want to strain my machine ... but actually even full load, I don't really load full, more like slightly under 3/4 - so maybe ok hor? self consolation ... :unsure:

thanks for telling me .. will go read manual and compare notes ok

i c.. i'll measure the space i've when i go up tomolo afternoon. thanks! :D

u bought yr bedframe already? did not see that in yr signature. If you haven't, another important point - choose a slim bedhead, bulky ones may be comfortable but kills space also. for added comfort, just prop extra pillows when watching tv lor.

serious? I haven't read the manual yet, but demo guy said can leh. Wow, think I better go and read, don't want to strain my machine ... but actually even full load, I don't really load full, more like slightly under 3/4 - so maybe ok hor? self consolation ... :unsure:

thanks for telling me .. will go read manual and compare notes ok

hi marshmellow

you are right. Just checked the manual - flash for half load only

what's the duration for a full load cycle? say function 6? have you tried?

Edited by froggy

And finally, the kitchen, where the bulk of reno cost goes to! Better say it's nice hor, otherwise I xin tong :o

... but ... omg, think better don't post first, so super messy and badly taken now that I am looking at the downloaded photos, and dunno which one to upload to photobucket lei?? Tonight take again ok .. but now just a very quick preview of the not-so-messy part .. pai seh

the Brandt hood and hob

DSC09136.jpg

DSC09137.jpg

view hall into kitchen - haha, yes, it's steamboat again

DSC09093.jpg

ok, folks, that's all for now ... enjoy!

NICE!!!!!! lol..

u bought yr bedframe already? did not see that in yr signature. If you haven't, another important point - choose a slim bedhead, bulky ones may be comfortable but kills space also. for added comfort, just prop extra pillows when watching tv lor.

my bed frame and wardrobe are done up by ID, not off the shelf. Yup, slim bed head cos oredi v little space left. :)

hi marshmallow

you are right. Just checked the manual - flash for half load only

what's the duration for a full load cycle? say function 6? have you tried?

i remembered i used the normal one at normal temperature - Normal 30 was the name i think... but is it Program 6? seriously can't remember........sorry :(

it took me 1 hr 45 mins zz but i think if the demo guy told you can, should be okie ba~! actually the sales person also told me it's okie... but we were too lazy to call the demo guy to come :lol:

for us, it's not exactly a packed full load... maybe 80% full, just make sure it has space to "throw" the clothes in the drum ;)

i felt that what happened during Flash 40 is they did less things - like less or shorter soaking cycle. i remembered for the normal 30 one, it took them forever to "swim" the clothes in water.... hmmm maybe i should observe again when i next wash clothes.... :)

Your MBR looks good!! the curtain really match with the furnishing lor.. excellent choice of colours! :)

n the placement of that mirror at dining area is strategic lor, really extend the area! thumbs up! ya i think most of us who take new hdb flats will spend most on kitchen, my kitchen alone take up more than one-third of my reno costs.. really ex..