froggy

My Second Home At Fernvale Vista

Wed,21 July 2010

More work done - think style is slow and steady - a bit slow for me, but ok lah, as long as there is progress

shower kerb - hard a work

DSC08517.jpg

shower kerb done

DSC08528.jpg

casting kitchen sink

DSC08540.jpg

kitchen sink support

DSC08549.jpg

Wed, 21 July 2010

Aircon trunking also happening today. Workers arrive around 1030am, briefed on the trunking etc, and by 5pm, still not completed - need to continue tomorrow

gas pipes

DSC08541.jpg

insulation

DSC08569.jpg

trunking

DSC08572.jpg

installer at the ledge

DSC08588.jpg

Tue, 20 July 2010

Met Edmund again today, and highlighted the tight space in toilets if using casement door.

We visited the swingandslide company last night at Balestier, and were taken aback that a door can cost as much as $599! And we did not like the bifold door.

So in the end, we decided to use all swing glass doors - for rooms and toilets - to give a consistent look.

While in OG, we also saw a black glass/clear glass mirror beside the escalator - looks good - so we also decided to adopt this for our dining wall.

So looks like ours will be a "glass" house! Hope it will turn out nice - bc no ID so we just pick ideas from here and there.

Froggy, what type of doors you are choosing??? for my one is only 299 lei... they increase price so fast meh??

Wed, 21 July 2010

Aircon trunking also happening today. Workers arrive around 1030am, briefed on the trunking etc, and by 5pm, still not completed - need to continue tomorrow

installer at the ledge

DSC08588.jpg

Hey froggy, same guy as mine! nice guy. get him to patch ur holes. he has better workmanship than his china counterparts.

they arrive at ur place @10.30am huh? pai sey, they were at my place before that cos I had a little concern with one of the blower.... :D

Tue, 20 July 2010

More purchases today

After much thought, we finally decided to get the Alpha sunflower fan, despite some review that it got no wind. For the hall, we let aesthetics win, but for rooms, definitely practical use comes before looks!

Also ordered the downlights, kitchen and service yard lights, T5 and flourescent tubes - all from A-lighting - the equivalent of GR link imo. Very knowledgeable and down-to-earth young guy (I think he is the boss's son?). Today saw his namecard - wah got B Engrg from NTU - don't play play!

Highly recommended shop to go to for lightings.

froggy

can i know much u bought for the downlights and T5? did ur electrician count 1 t5 as 1 lighting point?

froggy

can i know much u bought for the downlights and T5? did ur electrician count 1 t5 as 1 lighting point?

yo bro banned, our contractor does not charge the electrical by number of lighting point. he charge 1 lumpsum for everything, for my case, slightly above 1k for a 4rm flat.

never mind lah - I guarantee jalan besar will become your most-visit place in the weeks to come :D

for us, dunno how many times we jalan in jalan besar, balestier, geylang! Until we walk past the salespeople say hello - so paiseh because we did not buy from them!

for me, i combed balestier like mad liao.

jln besar so far only went in to poh seng. hmm better comb 1 round of jln besar before my shopping on sat

Tue, 20 July 2010

More purchases today

After much thought, we finally decided to get the Alpha sunflower fan, despite some review that it got no wind. For the hall, we let aesthetics win, but for rooms, definitely practical use comes before looks!

Also ordered the downlights, kitchen and service yard lights, T5 and flourescent tubes - all from A-lighting - the equivalent of GR link imo. Very knowledgeable and down-to-earth young guy (I think he is the boss's son?). Today saw his namecard - wah got B Engrg from NTU - don't play play!

Highly recommended shop to go to for lightings.

ok, will take a look at A-lighting too. so far, balestier side yet to catch my fancy. sorry read too fast and too many blogs, did you mention where it is located?

will pm you for the pricing if you dont mind ya

Edited by ne0mesis

Hey froggy, same guy as mine! nice guy. get him to patch ur holes. he has better workmanship than his china counterparts.

they arrive at ur place @10.30am huh? pai sey, they were at my place before that cos I had a little concern with one of the blower.... :D

so you are the one! Aron told me 9 to 10.30 - we reach there at 9am, waited and waited till cannot tahan, called Aron, and he said they had to go to another customer's place?!?! What happen to yr blower?

ya, this guy seems to be in charge, giving instructions to the other china guy. But a bit disappointed that Sam was not present - thought he will at least show his face and brief them lor ..

speaking of patching - when we returned at the end of the day, discovered that all holes, with the exception of one, had been patched back! Alamak, must be in such a hurry they forgot that one. Just written email to Aron, hope they will come back to rectify this tomorrow. Other than that, must say that they are quite good.

btw can check with you - does your aircon water drainage end at the toilet floortrap or just anywhere in the toilet?

for me, i combed balestier like mad liao.

jln besar so far only went in to poh seng. hmm better comb 1 round of jln besar before my shopping on sat

ok, will take a look at A-lighting too. so far, balestier side yet to catch my fancy. sorry read too fast and too many blogs, did you mention where it is located?

will pm you for the pricing if you dont mind ya

Hi Neo

got one shop in jalan besar price also not bad and salesman good knowledge and good service - a few doors from GR Link - name is something like Rayson or the like. We would have gotten from him except that we shop until very sian, so in the end were at Geylang and decided to close the case.

I find shops in balestier slightly more pricey and one kind of look-me-no-up attitude, except Chan Huat. But too bad Chan Huat's things are quite costly.

A Lighting at 463 Geylang Rd, opposite the No signage seafood. Go shop shop, then pop over for dinner. I heard they serve really yummy and exotic stuff?

pm you pricing already. Good luck!

yo bro banned, our contractor does not charge the electrical by number of lighting point. he charge 1 lumpsum for everything, for my case, slightly above 1k for a 4rm flat.

yup yup, heard some ID charge by per point? Even relocating power point also charge?

froggy

I pm you ok

Froggy, what type of doors you are choosing??? for my one is only 299 lei... they increase price so fast meh??

we went to the swing and slide company at balestier. They said from $299, but because we were looking for something with the "woody" look - and they quoted $499! Siao right - $499 for a door! i think I get glass door maybe still cheaper!

I'm doing glass door too. Think my house will be similar to yours. Lots of glass. Toilet door - glass, showerscreen - glass, kitchen entrance - huge glass :D

picture picture ... I want to see!