froggy

My Second Home At Fernvale Vista

Thanks for the clarification ossify :)

Me thinks this is nice to have at the kitchen/ tv console area, if your budget allows.

Meanwhile the plugs may cost cheaper from those quarterly PC/ IT/ Commex thingy.. should Eubiq has a booth.

And congraluations on the commencement of your big project. :D

eubiq should have a booth at those quarterly IT fair, can check out for any gd deals.

I bought this at Robinsons for $88.00 ... last day of the sale.

mobilephoto12jul2010pm1.jpg

durian, that is a lower series of the Henckel knives. but it is also a steal and so long as u like it. pintini also has that. :)

I bought this at Robinsons for $88.00 ... last day of the sale.

mobilephoto12jul2010pm1.jpg

this one also not bad la. Juz tat when I saw this, i aready bought the henckel knives le, if not I would b this and a chopper fr henckel, save me some trouble looking around for knife block.

hi durian and insane

read somewhere that the one man knife (with "international") is made in china, whereas the 2 man is german-made. But anyhow, a knife is a knife - as long as it serves its purpose, I guess it is a good knife - so I guess I kind of answer my own question of whether ScanPan is a good knife hor?!?!

congrats froggy, finally its your turn to start reno. hope you have a smooth reno ahead and keep flooding us with pics... :D

Yay Reno start! congrats!

:sport-smiley-004::sport-smiley-004: Finally started. Very soon u will see ur hse transform.

And congraluations on the commencement of your big project. :D

wah reno start liao ah? wish you reno shun shun li li!

froggy, jia you jia you!!! may ur reno shun shun! Fast n furious yeah? :D

start reno liao huh..

HUAT AH

heng heng ah

Hi everyone

thanks for all the well-wishes - i do hope for everything shun shun li li also! It's a big project for us, but a small one for the contractor, so i am sure everything will work fine!

fast and furious ah? This one not sure - need 2.5 months lor! But never mind lah, as long as HO on the dot, it's ok, if not later fast and error then more headache

hi durian and insane

read somewhere that the one man knife (with "international") is made in china, whereas the 2 man is german-made. But anyhow, a knife is a knife - as long as it serves its purpose, I guess it is a good knife - so I guess I kind of answer my own question of whether ScanPan is a good knife hor?!?!

slight correction:

the zwilling (which means twin, hence, two men) brand is made in germany, except twin cermax, which is made in japan.

the international brand (aka one man) brand is either made in china or spain. the cologne series is made in spain.

both zwilling or the international brand is an upgrade over ordinary knives. however, if the owner doesn't take care, it doesn't really matter if they are good knives or not. all knives will require regular honing in order to keep their edge.

Edited by floppy

slight correction:

the zwilling (which means twin) brand is made in germany, except twin cermax, which is made in japan.

the international brand (aka one man) brand is either made in china or spain. the cologne series is made in spain.

both zwilling or the international brand is an upgrade over ordinary knives. however, if the owner doesn't take care, it doesn't really matter if they are good or not. all knives require regular honing in order to keep their edge.

wah so chim

was at sim lim yesterday, and popped over to OG opposite to see if promo is still on. It is true that even for the 2 man ones, there are many grades, and price for a 5 to 6 pc set ranging from $300+ to $600 or $700+.

one thing need to ask, Floppy, since you seem quite well-versed in this. Noticed, when taking out the knives from the rack, that there are lots of scratches. Is this due to mishandling since they are display sets? Or is this kind of knife easily scratched?

wah so chim

was at sim lim yesterday, and popped over to OG opposite to see if promo is still on. It is true that even for the 2 man ones, there are many grades, and price for a 5 to 6 pc set ranging from $300+ to $600 or $700+.

one thing need to ask, Floppy, since you seem quite well-versed in this. Noticed, when taking out the knives from the rack, that there are lots of scratches. Is this due to mishandling since they are display sets? Or is this kind of knife easily scratched?

i used to collect knives - mainly the hunting, general purpose sort.

don't worry too much about the scratches (unless you are collecting them for showcases). all metallic blades (cheap, expensive or otherwise) will get scratches if you use it often, you can't really prevent it. the display sets in the departmental stores usually look 'jialat' because they are manhandled several times a day. having said that, it's beneficial to learn how to hone a knife properly to maintain the knife's edge and reduce accidentally damaging the knife.

Edited by floppy

Mon, 19 July 2010

Some new purchases over the last few days

"Rainbow" dining light

DSC08448.jpg

Hyflux Water Filter

DSC08467.jpg

Elmark Mini for 3 rooms (without lights) - after changed our mind over and over - from elmark, to Amasco, to Crestar, to Fanco, and finally still back to Elmark, despite reviews of its poor service - hope we won't regret

DSC08509.jpg

Mixer Tap for Kitchen - not our first choice, but this one is really close to the hyflux faucet, so we decided to go for it anyhow - crazy right, decision making based on things like that ;)

DSC08507.jpg

Quite a bit has been done to the house too ...

kitchen tile / cabinet base / sink support

DSC08436.jpg

shower screen kerb - want to cry - shower screen so small! think once go inside must minimise movement, otherwise sure to knock on glass :~

DSC08427.jpg

hi can check what kind of door all of you use for toilet? Visited June's house (same block as me - hey, thanks, June!) and agreed with her that casement door is too tight for ease of entry/exit to toilet.

now also headache where to hang the towel rail etc??

have anyone used those 3M toilet products? Thought of using those since no need to drill and no worries about changing position etc but not sure if they can take the weight over long term?

i used to collect knives - mainly the hunting, general purpose sort.

don't worry too much about the scratches (unless you are collecting them for showcases). all metallic blades (cheap, expensive or otherwise) will get scratches if you use it often, you can't really prevent it. the display sets in the departmental stores usually look 'jialat' because they are manhandled several times a day. having said that, it's beneficial to learn how to hone a knife properly to maintain the knife's edge and reduce accidentally damaging the knife.

wah, that's a very "dangerous" hobby!

when you say hone a knife, do you mean using the steel rod thing or using the block? I notice some sets come with the rod, but not sure if I know how to use.

btw since you are into knife, can give comments on whether ScanPan is good or not? Really very tempted to get the set - so far cannot find any review on the internet - and very scared if after buying then read something negative. Nowadays, I base alot of my purchases on internet reviews !

btw can ask another question, Floppy. The salesgirl highlighted a dot (should I say "dent" mark?) on the ScanPan knife. According to her, all handmade knives have that "dot". Is this true? I scrutinised the 2man brand at OG, but cannot find any with those "dots".

Edited by froggy