frezhman

Compassvale View... My Home

hello

u guys seems like the sound system expert. Hubby and myself total noob, would appreciate some advice. Can check if the onkyo 608 is a good one? Was at Harvey last week and salesman packaged a onkyo 608 with the jamo speakers - forgot which model for speakers, but it's the small wall mount ones. According to him, this system is mid range, low price with professional sound effect, and can be upgraded to some stuff (did not quite understand but pai seh to ask lah) in future.

True or not?

froggy, i suggest you go to adelphi to audition it for yourself, maybe you can get better deals there.

Yep, my avr will get cooked if I dun do anything abt it. Oppo 83 is in a class of it's own, bro. I used to have Oppo 80, but got poisoned. The upscaling of DVD is great. Juz get it & u wun regret it.

Hmmmm... U give me 1 more reason to convince myself to get the 83. :D

froggy, i suggest you go to adelphi to audition it for yourself, maybe you can get better deals there.

honestly, this sound thing is not a necessity for me - but certainty a need for hubby - think same scenario for most families right? :D

we did try out the syst in harvey in their sound room - the salesman set up a few for us to audition - to hubby, this is good, but to me, all the same one! ha ha,

harvey quoted us 1699 for this syst, u think adelphi got better buys? Prob is although hubby loves the have this surround sound and stuff, he is also not technically equipped, so are quite afraid that the adelphi shops will carrot us. Salespeople love to throw all the tech jargon, and for us quite pai seh to ask also ... any good and honest shop in adelphi to recommend?

How much is da avr? Retail @ audiohouse & major dept store is ard $999. Get it from adelphi, only ard $700-$750. I recommend alpha audio. 608 is a gd entry level avr with hdmi 1.4 (for 3d). U can check at testfreaks.com for the review. 1 of da top few onkyo receivers wif a 9+ ratings. For speakers, there r better speakers out there beside jamo. Audition @ adelphi. There r floorstanders, bookshelf & satellite speakers. For ur place, I can bet u wld like those satellite ones. Da smaller the speakers, the lesser the impact. & like my few audio mentors advise: never buy soundbars, htib or Bose if u want to have a mini cinema @ home. Mirage, definitive technology, tannoy, kef, klipsch... all these are da recommended speakers. If the speakers comes wif subwoofer, upgrade it to velodyne or svs... The diff is huge.

My personal advice: dun buy an entertainment system w/o goin adelphi. Dats da mecca of audiophiles & videophiles in s'pore. Muz be thick skin also to ask for advise.

hello

u guys seems like the sound system expert. Hubby and myself total noob, would appreciate some advice. Can check if the onkyo 608 is a good one? Was at Harvey last week and salesman packaged a onkyo 608 with the jamo speakers - forgot which model for speakers, but it's the small wall mount ones. According to him, this system is mid range, low price with professional sound effect, and can be upgraded to some stuff (did not quite understand but pai seh to ask lah) in future.

True or not?

Not expert la. Newbie in this also. U got a budget in mind? Go adelphi walk around n test the speakers. See u like the sound anot

KEC is a good start. Their price a bit ex than others, but u also wun get burned cuz their price is pretty fixed. A gd shop for begineers... (da boss is clarence, try to get him to serve u even thou he **** bz at times). Budget wise, $2k is a gd start... Get ready to be poisoned.

Not expert la. Newbie in this also. U got a budget in mind? Go adelphi walk around n test the speakers. See u like the sound anot

budget ah .. don't know what is realistic? 1k can get reasonably good one or not?

How much is da avr? Retail @ audiohouse & major dept store is ard $999. Get it from adelphi, only ard $700-$750. I recommend alpha audio. 608 is a gd entry level avr with hdmi 1.4 (for 3d). U can check at testfreaks.com for the review. 1 of da top few onkyo receivers wif a 9+ ratings. For speakers, there r better speakers out there beside jamo. Audition @ adelphi. There r floorstanders, bookshelf & satellite speakers. For ur place, I can bet u wld like those satellite ones. Da smaller the speakers, the lesser the impact. & like my few audio mentors advise: never buy soundbars, htib or Bose if u want to have a mini cinema @ home. Mirage, definitive technology, tannoy, kef, klipsch... all these are da recommended speakers. If the speakers comes wif subwoofer, upgrade it to velodyne or svs... The diff is huge.

My personal advice: dun buy an entertainment system w/o goin adelphi. Dats da mecca of audiophiles & videophiles in s'pore. Muz be thick skin also to ask for advise.

wah, jin chim lei .. u sound like those salesman throwing jargon at me now! xiam xiam xiam ... :bangwall:

dunno how much is each component, bc he said give bundle price. See, I said we noob right, did not even ask for individual price :bangwall::bangwall:

do u mean if ours not 3D, then this 608 is overkill?

what is satellite speakers? those mounted on ceiling is it?

KEC is a good start. Their price a bit ex than others, but u also wun get burned cuz their price is pretty fixed. A gd shop for begineers... (da boss is clarence, try to get him to serve u even thou he **** bz at times). Budget wise, $2k is a gd start... Get ready to be poisoned.

2k?!?! faint liao :~

honestly, this sound thing is not a necessity for me - but certainty a need for hubby - think same scenario for most families right? :D

we did try out the syst in harvey in their sound room - the salesman set up a few for us to audition - to hubby, this is good, but to me, all the same one! ha ha,

harvey quoted us 1699 for this syst, u think adelphi got better buys? Prob is although hubby loves the have this surround sound and stuff, he is also not technically equipped, so are quite afraid that the adelphi shops will carrot us. Salespeople love to throw all the tech jargon, and for us quite pai seh to ask also ... any good and honest shop in adelphi to recommend?

i think 1699 can get better deals at adelphi....go and audtion the speakers at KEC as suggested by frezhman and very soon your hubby will be poisoned by them.... :D ...can look for either clarence or alan.

ok thanks ... will prepare antidote before heading down ...

froggy, u sure u getting those high end one ah? like that must go ur house enjoy liao sia.. :P

hubby wants high end at low price .. haha .. got such thing meh?? !! ??

anyway, now recee only, maybe will get poison after we recuperate from this round of financial crisis ..

hubby wants high end at low price .. haha .. got such thing meh?? !! ??

anyway, now recee only, maybe will get poison after we recuperate from this round of financial crisis ..

got la.. buy second hand one lor.. hahaha :) but seriously your living area very small lehz.. go test bearlyn's one la.. cheap and good.. :D

ya, I thought so too ... scared overpower then glass and mirror break :o

bearlyn's system up already ah? bearlyn, when can i come over to feel the power??