zattan22

Renovation Permit

Just got my unit and still in the progress of renovation!!

I read the regulation that the overlaying of tiles for wet

areas no need to apply for the permit..

And so I carry on..

But one day, the HDB officer called me and threaten

me to apply for a permit..

He told me that I wanna save money and dun wanna

to apply for the permit so he has to be strict with me

and issue me summons..

What can I do????

Or

is this the way HDB protecting the approve contractors??

Or

just so chicken about complains?

Just got my unit and still in the progress of renovation!!

I read the regulation that the overlaying of tiles for wet

areas no need to apply for the permit..

And so I carry on..

But one day, the HDB officer called me and threaten

me to apply for a permit..

He told me that I wanna save money and dun wanna

to apply for the permit so he has to be strict with me

and issue me summons..

What can I do????

Or

is this the way HDB protecting the approve contractors??

Or

just so chicken about complains?

Hmm...overlaying of tiles for wet areas i.e. bathrooms would not require a specific permit according to HDB guidelines. Have you asked the HDB officer exactly what he's referring to?

he had come up to my unit

and

according to him, I have to apply for the permit lor..

he had come up to my unit

and

according to him, I have to apply for the permit lor..

You're referring to the technical officer for your area right? Did you ask why you'd be requiring a permit when it's already stated in the guidelines that you do not have to? There could be other reasons...i.e. overlaying tiles way above the current floor level in non-wet areas. Recommend that you give a call to the officer and ask nicely? Btw, shouldn't your contractor/ID have got all these covered for you?

Smell something fishy here.

For whatever renovation, you contractor need to apply permit from HDB, be it just overlaying tiles. I think your contractor didn't apply permit and your neighbor complaint u.

Smell something fishy here.

For whatever renovation, you contractor need to apply permit from HDB, be it just overlaying tiles. I think your contractor didn't apply permit and your neighbor complaint u.

Initially I was thinking the same thing, but probably ts was referring to a more particular permit pertaining to overlaying of tiles. Any HDB renovation would require a general renovation permit (which is FOC)...but overlaying of tiles wouldn't require a specific one unlike installation of new windows for e.g.

But chronograph's right...you'll need a reno permit and pasted outside your main door as well as at the lobby of your block. The contractor/ID has to inform your direct neighbours as well of the hacking period as well as of the entire renovation period.

Edited by hcbing

Initially I was thinking the same thing, but probably ts was referring to a more particular permit pertaining to overlaying of tiles. Any HDB renovation would require a general renovation permit (which is FOC)...but overlaying of tiles wouldn't require a specific one unlike installation of new windows for e.g.

But chronograph's right...you'll need a reno permit and pasted outside your main door as well as at the lobby of your block. The contractor/ID has to inform your direct neighbours as well of the hacking period as well as of the entire renovation period.

today, I just receive a complaint from the management

of working late...

As stated in the permit, the demolition work start from

8am and end at 6pm.. But a complaint comes to me at

5pm...

I bet my new neighbour has big ears!!!

I have the permit and the demolition ends on 19 may

but the renovation ends on 11 June..

But still once complaint, the officer will call me..

I wonder if I can counter complaint the hdb officer??

I have the permit and the demolition ends on 19 may

but the renovation ends on 11 June..

But still once complaint, the officer will call me..

I wonder if I can counter complaint the hdb officer??

Hmm...here are a few things that I'd suggest you to do. Give a call to HDB permit dept to confirm the renovation permit your contractor/ID has applied for you. Make sure you go through the details of the permit to verify that all required renovation works/items have indeed been submitted and approved.

Next, give a call to that technical officer. Have a friendly chat. Ask him which portion of the whole renovation process have you not had any permits for etc. Do be nice...in my opinion. The technical officer holds a lot more power than you might realize when it comes to your renovation works.

Cheers and good luck!

hi

asking something a bit off the discussion here.

can reno permit be applied only after key collection? Or is there some kind of arrangement whereby the permit can be applied when almsot get keys?

hi

can reno permit be applied only after key collection? Or is there some kind of arrangement whereby the permit can be applied when almsot get keys?

Can apply anytime as you wish.

if do reno must inform next door neighbor cos dust will fly to their house access area right? will kena complaint?

Edited by dean

hi

hi

yup can be apply before get keys but owner need to sign a hdb form ... sorry cant recall the name. This will save u 3 days & allow reno to start immediately on the day u get keys. unfortunately, my prev owner so kia-si even her hb said ok, she still dun want . wf n me so angry back then 'cos we assist her a lot of other hdb stuff :(

hi

yup can be apply before get keys but owner need to sign a hdb form ... sorry cant recall the name. This will save u 3 days & allow reno to start immediately on the day u get keys. unfortunately, my prev owner so kia-si even her hb said ok, she still dun want . wf n me so angry back then 'cos we assist her a lot of other hdb stuff :(

is this true for BTO as well?