Reno145

Do You Put A Rug Under Your Dining Table And Chairs?

i won't... because no matter how careful we are, there's bound to have some morsels on the floor. so leh cheh to wash the rug but if don't wash, will attract all the bugs. at least on tiles better, easy to wipe.

- Those who like to put rug, mostly are husand-and-wife family with no child/children.

- The same for "open concept kitchen" - husband-and-wife team, they don't really cook!.

Actually, in 1994, I bought one from IKEA for almost $200. Get scolded from MIL....eventually kept in storeroom for a few years, then throw away during a spring cleaning.

- Those who like to put rug, mostly are husand-and-wife family with no child/children.

- The same for "open concept kitchen" - husband-and-wife team, they don't really cook!.

Actually, in 1994, I bought one from IKEA for almost $200. Get scolded from MIL....eventually kept in storeroom for a few years, then throw away during a spring cleaning.

mother-in-law scold for wat reason?

aww... what a waste!...

yup... in my old place, when me and hubby just newly married and moved to our new place, there was a pc of rug in the hall, and tons of photo frames on the tv console, sofa was in a nice cream colour, we hacked half a room for a WIW, and we didn't install grills etc... because it's just the 2 of us...

after we had the kid, rug went in to store room, photo frames went into boxes, sofa changed covers to dark brown and we so regret hacking the room for WIW.. and worse of all, we constantly have to worried about the windowless grills.

now for my new place, i make sure nothing was hacked, i asked my contractor to propose designs with child safety as priority, sofa's gonna be dark grey or black, told my hubby there will be nothing to be put on display (actually hate the dust that accumulates too).. but i might just put a nice small rug in the hall for the first year at least...

aww... what a waste!...

yup... in my old place, when me and hubby just newly married and moved to our new place, there was a pc of rug in the hall, and tons of photo frames on the tv console, sofa was in a nice cream colour, we hacked half a room for a WIW, and we didn't install grills etc... because it's just the 2 of us...

after we had the kid, rug went in to store room, photo frames went into boxes, sofa changed covers to dark brown and we so regret hacking the room for WIW.. and worse of all, we constantly have to worried about the windowless grills.

now for my new place, i make sure nothing was hacked, i asked my contractor to propose designs with child safety as priority, sofa's gonna be dark grey or black, told my hubby there will be nothing to be put on display (actually hate the dust that accumulates too).. but i might just put a nice small rug in the hall for the first year at least...

Still in same situation as you few years back. No kids yet, so going to take white sofa and put a rug/carpet on the living room.

I hope all can survive the menace few years down the road :)

Still in same situation as you few years back. No kids yet, so going to take white sofa and put a rug/carpet on the living room.

I hope all can survive the menace few years down the road :)

well bro.. priorities will change over time la... but my mantra still the same, do whatever you want now. cos you won't get to do them later!! but of cos, i won't regret doing things differently to what my heart desires, because the kid is the queen! and she's the most important aspect of all my considerations.

frankly, i'm keen on the white sofa too! hahaha.

mother-in-law scold for wat reason?

MIL stays with us since day1 I get married. My wife is the elder & she has a 10 year younger sister. They stayed in "rented" flat, so I "invited" them over.

MIL sweep and mop floor everyday! When sweeping, all windows/main door closed......can imagine ? Anyway, many thanks to her efforts, I can always sit/sleep any where on the floor.

With the rug (abt 6 meter x 1.5 meter), she asked: "how to mop the floor ?", after that rug landed in store room.

aww... what a waste!...

My present house (23 storey) has windowless grills, but with 2 horizontal bars at lower end - I follow my previous condo unit. I felt with window grilles, views get obstructed. Anyway, my children already 15 & 11. ID initially told me the contractor has "no experience" as to my requirements. I've rejected a few samples (too soft) until a found a "solid" hollow aluminium bar with epoxy-powder painted.

15 and 11 are still very young...

Anything can happen!!!

It's better to safe then sorry!!!

Use those HDB approve grill lah... In fact, what's the

special view you got other then looking at your

own children??

I personally think carpets & rugs make a house cosier. I'm using Persian rugs for my current house. Handmade ones for living, study and cozy corner. Machine made for dining. Really effective in protecting my laminate flooring as the water does not seep through. Will be changing them (going to exchange them with newer ones at the same shop) for my new place. Will be using fewer though. Maybe one for the living and another for the dining area (marble flooring).

Maintenance wise quite easy. Just need to vacuum.

I am looking for rugs/carpets resonable priced. One to be placed under dining table and another over **** hall. As we have a pet dog, my SO was comtemplating to place a rug/carpet as he think our pet doggy will pee on it..Thus looking at cheap ones so at least if it gets dirty, will not be so heartache. Any recommendations? Thanks for sharing. I really miss the Jackson's sale...

After buying the rug/carpet, suggest you to engage Delphin cleaning services. 3 wks ago, just get a $3,700 Delphin vacuum cleaner, made-in-Germany, though I've no carpet nor rug. Can call them up for a free cleaning demo, you'll know the wonderful functions of this special cleaner(940watt), the one & the only in this world.

http://www.delphin.sg/node/3

Watch this :

I am going to vacuum, steam, clean and wash my beddings more frequently now :bangwall:

The Delphin vacuum cleaner(put water in basin below) can:

- normal vacuum cleaner with different nozzlers

- air purifying

- supper low noise

- act as blower & sucker

- clean blockage in pipe with rubber nozzle (suck & blow)

- Clean bedsheet with another attachment which "hit" & "vibrate" the sheet while sucking.

- add perfume into water makes air smells nice nice while cleaning

- no flying dust, no need to change bag

- vacuum packed clothing for long storage.

- 10 year warranty

If you entertain a lot, then the rug will give your home an elegant look/feel.

Yes, it's a little hassle to maintain, especially if you have kids in the house.... spills (as noted in earlier threads)

I have a furry rug in my living room between the TV console and my sofa.... initial plan was to vacuum daily.... then twice per week... now, it's weekly (right before mopping).