belquek

Sanctuary In Tampines

We viewed more than 20 resale flats.

When I know that the flat is more than twenty years or corridor unit, I will not really consider it.

It's really funny to think that we will buy this flat.

It's 25 years old. One toilet is of squatting type. Omigod! I never viewed any units with squatting toilet.

Everything is run-down.

We were even stuck in a price war with another couple and ended up paying 2k more for the COV.

I guess we bought it for these reasons:

1. It is near a very good primary school(I'm not even pregnant yet).

2. High rise (15 floor) - one of the taller flat in that area, so unblocked view from all windows.

3. Bus stop is downstairs. (more than 10 buses)

4. 10-15 mins walk to Tampines Central

5. Brightly lit - We don't like gloomy flats. Our clothes surely dry within hours naturally.

6. Lift level.

Our initial intention is to rent out the rooms for 1 year to save up for renovation because we have to hack everything and rebuild the storeroom.

After much contemplation, we decided to take a renovation loan and move in.

Coincidentally, HDB is upgrading all the toilets, changing metal grill door, rubbish chute for $900+(CPF).

We top up $370 cash to change toilet piping to stainless steel and construct a drop in our MBR toilet for shower screen.

We decided to live with the 'obiang' toilet tiles because our budget is really tight.

What are we renovating:

1. Kitchen (everything)

2. Flooring - 2ft by 2ft Homogeneous tiles (all except bathrooms)

3. False ceilings for living, dining and MBR

4. Plastering all walls

5. Rebuild storeroom

6. Electrical wiring

7. Shower screen in MBR toilet

8. Change all doors to veneer doors + construct new door frames

9. Divider between entrance and living area for privacy (cracking our head on this)

10. All windows - two tier sliding (living room) casement(rest)

Carpentry

11. 7 ft sliding wardrobe in MBR

12. TV console

13. Vanity table placed in MBR instead of toilet.

14. Suspended 3 ft shoe cabinet

Best quote by Home Fabric Design ($32 k). The shop is 5 mins walk from our current home. The ID is really friendly and easy-going. Both of us are really comfortable with him. We also viewed a unit done by him recently. The workmanship is decent but we are going to request for another painter. After paying for the deposit, we then realised that the ID is the boss of the shop. No wonder he knows his prices so well. Now he is helping us with the HDB upgrading of toilets. He gives us ideas on the new positions of toilet bowls, basin and heaters etc and liaise with the HDB contractors regarding the new shower screen in MBR. Till now, we have nothing to complain about him.

Here is the floor plan.

floorplan-1.jpg

The previous owner shifted the door, so that it will not face the neighbour's door.

I don't know why they do that. All I know that it's giving us a headache now. Where to place the divider and shoe cabinet when the door is so centralised??

Some pics of before:

Living room

IMG_1021Medium.jpg

IMG_1012Medium.jpg

IMG_1011Medium.jpg

MBR Toilet

IMG_1020Medium.jpg

I will upload more pics of before.

Welcome to RT. Does your quotation include materials like tiles? repositioning of toilet bowls? Is that possible?

welcome to RT! :)

my place also has that squatting toilet lol...classic.

Yah lor! I nearly fainted when I saw that.

Govt is replacing it with sitting type.

Thank God.

Welcome to RT. Does your quotation include materials like tiles? repositioning of toilet bowls? Is that possible?

My toilets are done by HDB contractors. I opt in for the upgrading.

Everything in toilet will be replaced - wall and floor tiles, toilet bowls, basins. $900+ will be deducted from our CPF. It also includes new metal gate and rubbish chute cover.

The whole upgrading takes 10 days. On 8th - 9th day, we will finalise the positions of the items in toilets with HDB contractors. For example, I will shift my basin in kitchen back into common toilet.

I top up $200 cash to change to stainless steel water pipes for both toilet and $170 to add a drop and floor trap in my MBR toilet.

I also asked them to replace old water heaters with newly bought ones.

Then my ID will help me to install shower screen because HDB don't install new shower screens.

We went to Defu lane choose tiles today.

Living room: plain beige homogeneous tiles (60 cm by 60 cm)

Kitchen: Dark brown.

I have no pics to show yet but I got the feeling that these tiles are quite common and popular.

We also selected window grills and glass panels, laminates for kitchen and wardrobe.

Looking forward to the 3D drawings.

Went to check out my flat that is undergoing HDB upgrading for toilets.

It can be really frustrating to speak to the HDB contractors.

We informed them to leave it to us to fix the refuse hopper because we are going to renovate the whole house.

Who knows I saw them fixing the hopper halfway when I pay a surprise visit to my flat.

I have to ask them to dismantle it. Now there's a big hole for a family of cockroaches and rats to visit our new home.

Thank God the flat is high rise.

We quickly speak to the contractor to cover the hole with a plaster sheet.

The second headache is the plumbing in MBR.

I will be getting my ID to install shower screen, so I paid HDB contractor to install additional floor trap in the shower area.

My ID gave them a bigger floor trap. The plumbing contractors started to whine that they may not be able to use the floor trap. After some discussion with the tiler, they said that it is possible.

My hubby made a comment that sets me thinking for a while.

"What do you expect from contractors that made the lowest bid for this project?"

I only hope that everything will go well for the next 7 days.

Anyone like us? The HDB upgrading happens during the transition period(between 1st and 2nd appt).

Arrghs!

Door at the center. Think shoe rack and divider is not an issue.

Actually not advisable to put divider, makes hall looks small and crampy.

You might have to consider the TV console though. Your door is smack right at the centre.

BY the way, for shower screen, you need at least 700mm of width. Pls note this when you

design your toilet layout. Looks like the kitchen toilet may not have the space.

Welcome to Renotalk and congras to your new home purchase. I am also renovating my place and will be installing squating type of toilet. I think it is cleaner and easier to maintain.

Hope your reno is smooth. Cheers!

Door at the center. Think shoe rack and divider is not an issue.

Actually not advisable to put divider, makes hall looks small and crampy.

You might have to consider the TV console though. Your door is smack right at the centre.

BY the way, for shower screen, you need at least 700mm of width. Pls note this when you

design your toilet layout. Looks like the kitchen toilet may not have the space.

tks, warrior for the advice abt shower screen. We leave 1000 mm for shower screen & shift basin out into MBR.

Why do we need to think abt TV console?

tks, warrior for the advice abt shower screen. We leave 1000 mm for shower screen & shift basin out into MBR.

Why do we need to think abt TV console?

tink maybe warrior meant the placing of ur tv console cos if place in the centre of ur wall opp ur entrance, the moment open ur front door can see ur tv console? :dunno:

Edited by butterfingerzz

tink maybe warrior meant the placing of ur tv console cos if place in the centre of ur wall opp ur entrance, the moment open ur front door can see ur tv console? :dunno:

Hi I visited your t-blog.

Nice kitchen. Love some of your furniture pieces.

Are you living there now?

Your flat has a neat design. Will be following your thread. Cheers!

Tks. I bought it because it has no recess and all rooms are rectangular.

We are going to buy bathroom accessories, hob and hood today.