curryqueen 0 Report post Posted June 2, 2010 curryqueen, the dimensions are not clear, can't see the length of the kitche, etc. better to draw to scale the dimensions. Also to consider the width of cabinet doors, whether got enough place to swing or not. Die...now must figure out how much space a cabinet swing dr would take .. if you put the fridge to the side of the wall, you cannot get those 2 door swing fridge le. As space is precious in 3rooms, a big one door swing fridge means you have to allocate more space for swinging. Yah.. that's why I think that option 4 is better.. Fridge can open fully. since the area at the store cannot be seen from the front, why not put your washer/dryer there, save some $ on concealing it. Piping lah.. Where I plan to have the WM got drainage hole, so I won't have to drill a hole from the kitchen to the common toilet for the pipe or have the pipes run the circumfrence to the common toilet. Then use the space to put full height cabinets to house your oven and steamer. If retractable top is expensive, can consider using a island with wheels from ikea like this. Can chuck it to the wall between MBR toilet and kitchen when not in use. http://www.ikea.com.sg/en/catalog/detail.a...itchen%2Cisland Can be used for serving food as well, duo purpose. hmmm... there are possibilities to this... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted June 2, 2010 Some inspirations for cool kitchens that suit you ? http://www.thekitchn.com/thekitchn/small-c...ens-2010-118227 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted June 2, 2010 hmm no choice, have to work within the constraints, sometimes cannot have everything we want. my original idea was to put every thing on one side, fridge, washer, cooker, sink. It was possible as the old flats had a long kitchen. That would have really given a neat look. But had to forgo the idea as we needed to extend the living room. oh well, im happy with what we have now... just saw that you already got your fridge.. option 4 might be better, can keep your mind and options open. once you get your keys and do a on-site measurement, might even have new ideas! as for the lightings, you can aways do a shelving rack and install a flourescent tube below. otherwise, hoods have lights. lighting is a very small problem. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lilithfiend 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2010 hey curryqueen, maybe you ought to speak to a few IDs to "tap" their database of ideas. no harm right? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
curryqueen 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2010 Went to Home Expo yesterday with friend yesterday night and was contemplating between Parador Timeline Series in Oak Silver Grey and the Pergo Family Series (can't rem the code but it's also greyish color). Price diff is quite great : $7 pfr for parador compared to $3.99 pfr for pergo. family.. of coz parador is supposedly from germany and has the pro-air thing that cleans the air around you. Parador is also prepared to hack and patch my skirting area FOC..I like the Timeline series because of the width of the planks. Am seriously wondering if I should splurge on the floor or not. Went around expo and and fell in love with the Crestar Starlight ceiling fan series. It's extremely quiet with a simple lighting kit, DC motor instead of AC motor and comes with a lifetime warranty. It's $480 incl of delivery and installation. Fanco Aroma was selling for $350 incl of installation n delivery. Will be going to Jln Besar to check out the prices before going back to expo again to decide. Crestar Starlight - probably for MBR Fanco Aroma - LVR and maybe CBR (notice that the designs are all rather similar.. ) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
curryqueen 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2010 hey curryqueen, maybe you ought to speak to a few IDs to "tap" their database of ideas. no harm right? heh.. yah hor.. Maybe when i go to Home expo again.. ask them to draw a rough sketch for me. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinktini 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2010 The Philips Carnival Sale is also so-so. The discounts are not exactly fantastic if u have friends working in philips, ask them to help u buy during their half-yearly staff sale. prices are quite good. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2010 Went to Home Expo yesterday with friend yesterday night and was contemplating between Parador Timeline Series in Oak Silver Grey and the Pergo Family Series (can't rem the code but it's also greyish color). Price diff is quite great : $7 pfr for parador compared to $3.99 pfr for pergo. family.. of coz parador is supposedly from germany and has the pro-air thing that cleans the air around you. Parador is also prepared to hack and patch my skirting area FOC..I like the Timeline series because of the width of the planks. Am seriously wondering if I should splurge on the floor or not. hacking and patch skirting - supreme quoted me $150 for all. i think you ask your contractor to do also can one. Pro-air? hmmm how to prove air is cleaner? better to prove that its more water resistant and have better joints imho. $7 is really ex, gotta make sure its worth paying for. laminate flooring can bargain like siao one, im pretty sure all their sales people know renotalk. haha Went around expo and and fell in love with the Crestar Starlight ceiling fan series. It's extremely quiet with a simple lighting kit, DC motor instead of AC motor and comes with a lifetime warranty. It's $480 incl of delivery and installation. Fanco Aroma was selling for $350 incl of installation n delivery. Will be going to Jln Besar to check out the prices before going back to expo again to decide. my ceiling fan buying experience at expo sucks, price high and hard sell. i virtually had to tell him i don't want ceiling fan to shake him off. Better to buy elsewhere, most popular places are A Lighting Enterprise and lightings.com.sg Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lilithfiend 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2010 Fanco Aroma - LVR and maybe CBR (notice that the designs are all rather similar.. ) i was also eyeing this range! but then we realised its way too big for our small living..56" leh! so we settled on another smaller one instead.. and yes, buy from A Lighting - their prices are good.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
curryqueen 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2010 i was also eyeing this range! but then we realised its way too big for our small living..56" leh! so we settled on another smaller one instead.. and yes, buy from A Lighting - their prices are good.. 56' meh? I tot 54' niah.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
curryqueen 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2010 (edited) Gimz, $150 hacking and patch skirting cheap! One contractor quoted me $300 for hacking and patching skirting while the other quoted me $380! Edited June 3, 2010 by curryqueen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coldflamez 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2010 if the lack of counterspace is a concern, i have seen people doing a retractable solid surface. if cooking is kept to the blocked side, would lighting be a problem? oven and steamer is built in? maybe can choose the one which you use more often and put it at countertop level. space is valuable in 3rooms.. oh ya, nowadays no need to conceal rubbish chute, nowadays chute "chio chio one" Hmm, you can consider something like my pull-out countertop if you really need more space. But i'm not sure abt the cost as it was included in the whole cabinet price. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lilithfiend 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2010 56' meh? I tot 54' niah.. eh..is it 54? haha sorry cannot remember, all i remember is that its too big for our hall cos we'll be putting track lighting next to it as well.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
curryqueen 0 Report post Posted June 6, 2010 (edited) This week was a visit Geylang and Jln Besar period. At Geylang, went to Universal Union, Heritage, Baceras, Homeone,A lighting, Toyomi (next to A lighting) and whatever else between Lorong 25 - 35. Was not impressed by the service at UU and Heritage at all! UU salesman gave monosyllabic answers and was more interested in answering his phone than attending to me even though I went on a weekday afternoon and there were very few customers. Heritage's selection was small and the sales person was a little snooty. I spent the most time at Baceras and was rather impressed with their 2nd flr's selection of sinks. They have things there that I've never seen in any other shop! So may probably go back there again to get the MBR bedrm sink. Went to Jln Besar today and GR link was sadly closed. So went to Hoe Kee, Song Cho, Bellari, Royal Fanco, Adamas. Was served by May in Adamas and I made a deposit of $200 for the following stuff: -Bravo 1818 Kitchen sink (matte s/s)+dishwasher dispenser+ sink trap (s/s) $240+25+90 kitchen sink tap in matte finish -Lab sink for common toilet (to handwash clothes)$250 -Cuizino tempered glass domino gas hob (single burner) $220 -Bennington Multipoint heater $240 -MBR toilet shower set+rainshower(forgot to take picture)$280 - might discard the rainshower head and just have a common showerhead -Common toilet mixer+ shower head $230+80 -Where possible, I tried to get a matte finish for the mixers and taps to minimize cleaning of water marks but those tend to cost a little more. Everything is apparently made in Italy (haha.. not sure if it's just designed in Italy but made in China) but the shower stuff come with a 2 year warranty so not that bad lah.. Total damage was $1640. Am still short of the WCs and the MBR washbasin, then I'm done with the bathrm & kitchen essentials. Have finalized my kitchen and loo lights and my ceiling fans (will drop Crestar starlight.. too ex) and use Fanco Aroma for the LVR and MBR.. one dissappointing thing that all the lighting shops told me was that the light from the ceiling fans would not be strong enuff and I would need supporting lights, so I've a bit of headache for that since I don't want to do cove or downlights. Will be heading to M'sia next week and if I've time, will see if I can get the kitchen n loo lights from there and hopefully safe a bundle by buying there.. not sure if I've the time to leave and shop around though, but we'd see. Edited June 6, 2010 by curryqueen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lilithfiend 0 Report post Posted June 7, 2010 we have almost the same kitchen sink! 'cept mine comes with sponge holder and chopping board..how big is yours? and we also have the same hob! 'cept i ordered gimz & baby's one as well. so mine is a combination of both of yours! haha wat a coincidence.. i also had the same headache when considering ceiling fans with light, everyone said the light wouldn't be as bright. if you don't wanna put cove/down lights, you can supplement it with floor lamps or table lamps..which is what we'll be doing.. did you take pics of your lights? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites