jaskel 2 Report post Posted May 26, 2010 I'm scratching my head over the cost of the stainless steel countertop for the kitchen.. 1 contractor quoted me $1,800 for 15ft of stainless steel countertop. The other quoted me $950 for 14 ft. That means the first quote is abt $120 per ft while the other is only $68 per ft! So is one too cheap or the other too expensive? I think I will quote u $2800 for your S/S countertop....is it too ex.? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
curryqueen 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2010 I think I will quote u $2800 for your S/S countertop....is it too ex.? haha.. if your quote includes kitchen cabinets+ blum+sink+hob, can! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted May 26, 2010 haha.. if your quote includes kitchen cabinets+ blum+sink+hob, can! Oh no....my quote for that ss countertop is of good grade...not 304 hor... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
baby81984 1 Report post Posted May 27, 2010 Oh no....my quote for that ss countertop is of good grade...not 304 hor... what grade is good grade for S/S??? i tot 304 is very good already??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
curryqueen 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2010 Bought some stuff already..Thank God for interest-free installments! Fridge F&P stainless steel E440TX (display piece)$1079 (Courts) Washing Machine F&P WH70F60W2 (display piece)$719 (Courts) Philips Soundbar HTS5120 $399 (Philips Carnival Sale) Vacuum Cleaner Samsung SC4170 $79 (Isetan sale) Philips Induction Cooker (early housewarming gift from friends) Guess my wishlist of appliances will change based on price.. Bought some other stuff too at the Isetan sale like ironing board, knifes, chopping board set.. $$ does seem to disappear rather quickly doesn't it? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted May 28, 2010 (edited) what grade is good grade for S/S??? i tot 304 is very good already??? 304 is the min. standard that required in Singapore. There are 304L, 304LN, 316, 316L...cutting also different. Edited May 30, 2010 by jaskel Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted May 28, 2010 Bought some stuff already..Thank God for interest-free installments! Fridge F&P stainless steel E440TX (display piece)$1079 (Courts) Washing Machine F&P WH70F60W2 (display piece)$719 (Courts) Philips Soundbar HTS5120 $399 (Philips Carnival Sale) Vacuum Cleaner Samsung SC4170 $79 (Isetan sale) Philips Induction Cooker (early housewarming gift from friends) Guess my wishlist of appliances will change based on price.. Bought some other stuff too at the Isetan sale like ironing board, knifes, chopping board set.. $$ does seem to disappear rather quickly doesn't it? GSS....all things look cheap... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jeffcraze 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2010 Bought some other stuff too at the Isetan sale like ironing board, knifes, chopping board set.. $$ does seem to disappear rather quickly doesn't it? Agree on this! We have been spending money like water these couple of weeks also.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2010 philips carnival, good? today we also went shopping at expo. Super crowded! whens reno commencing? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueocean 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2010 was thinking of going to philips carnival tomorrow ... hope parking is ok there ... philips carnival, good? today we also went shopping at expo. Super crowded! whens reno commencing? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
curryqueen 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2010 (edited) was thinking of going to philips carnival tomorrow ... hope parking is ok there ... Somethings ok.. I didn't take note of their TVs and other stuff since I was focusing mainly on the soundbar. But I don't think the other stuff were really cheap. Eg. Philips steamer was selling at $100 (from $179) but I know that the Tefal steamer sells at $99 and I think it's better coz it has a flat-based container whereas Philips didn't. I bought a Philips DVD player for $39 thinking that it's cheap. Then I went to Courts and they had those limited sale items for Samsung DVD player for $27! Get the soundbar though.. I think it's really worth it! It's abt $200 cheaper. Reading gimz/baby's T-blog made me wonder if I should've bargained at Courts for my display piece of F&P fridge and washing machine (like that did for their wm). I'm not the bargaining type..always feel very pai-seh, just ask if got discount or not... if dun have, just "orh" and keep quiet. I think must train my skin to be thicker so that can save $$ Edited May 29, 2010 by curryqueen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
curryqueen 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2010 philips carnival, good? today we also went shopping at expo. Super crowded! whens reno commencing? Key's haven't even got yet.. So dunno when.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
baby81984 1 Report post Posted May 29, 2010 Somethings ok.. I didn't take note of their TVs and other stuff since I was focusing mainly on the soundbar. But I don't think the other stuff were really cheap. Eg. Philips steamer was selling at $100 (from $179) but I know that the Tefal steamer sells at $99 and I think it's better coz it has a flat-based container whereas Philips didn't. I bought a Philips DVD player for $39 thinking that it's cheap. Then I went to Courts and they had those limited sale items for Samsung DVD player for $27! Get the soundbar though.. I think it's really worth it! It's abt $200 cheaper. Reading gimz/baby's T-blog made me wonder if I should've bargained at Courts for my display piece of F&P fridge and washing machine (like that did for their wm). I'm not the bargaining type..always feel very pai-seh, just ask if got discount or not... if dun have, just "orh" and keep quiet. I think must train my skin to be thicker so that can save $$ hahahah... we didn't really bargain... i just told the guy i'm looking for a front loader W/M and my budget is 300 plus.. then he offered mi tt... hahaha.. which i of coz just grabbed.. seeing the retail price is 100 plus more.. on hindside, maybe still can get even more discount if try to bargain more?? hahahha.... but seriously lah.. tt was a very happy buy... i happy coz w/m within budget... gim happy coz he got his front loader... hahahah... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueocean 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2010 Hmm .. Philips steamer for $100 ? Are you talking about those food steamer ? I bought one about 2 years ago out of curiosity but havent used it regularly. I rather just steam the stuff in the wok ... the traditional way. I have a broiler and that is the most frequently used appliance - i can use it to cook fish fingers, chicken .. almost anything. Did you get the soundbar ? The blu-ray soundbar looks good. It looks like there is move towards blu-ray and DVDs will become the standard VCD we have now. The shops now have more shelves stocking up on blu-rays .... Somethings ok.. I didn't take note of their TVs and other stuff since I was focusing mainly on the soundbar. But I don't think the other stuff were really cheap. Eg. Philips steamer was selling at $100 (from $179) but I know that the Tefal steamer sells at $99 and I think it's better coz it has a flat-based container whereas Philips didn't. I bought a Philips DVD player for $39 thinking that it's cheap. Then I went to Courts and they had those limited sale items for Samsung DVD player for $27! Get the soundbar though.. I think it's really worth it! It's abt $200 cheaper. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
curryqueen 0 Report post Posted May 31, 2010 (edited) Hmm .. Philips steamer for $100 ? Are you talking about those food steamer ? I bought one about 2 years ago out of curiosity but havent used it regularly. I rather just steam the stuff in the wok ... the traditional way. I have a broiler and that is the most frequently used appliance - i can use it to cook fish fingers, chicken .. almost anything. Did you get the soundbar ? The blu-ray soundbar looks good. It looks like there is move towards blu-ray and DVDs will become the standard VCD we have now. The shops now have more shelves stocking up on blu-rays .... Yah.. the food steamer. For me, I used the steamer all the time when I was living overseas. With the steamer, don't have to watch the fire.. can go bathe or do other stuff first. My soundbar is not the blue-ray one..got the one with normal DVD playback... Edited May 31, 2010 by curryqueen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites