curryqueen

The Cave

Trying

zenit-libreria-bookcase-for-living-.jpg

this pic looks like pole system concept but using black poles instead. :P

But this type of concept u have to clean very often on each shelf or else can see a layer of dust after awhile, esp if your place is windy or having upgrading.

Also you have to take in account of the weight each shelf can hold before putting the items on them.

Thanks all for the warm welcome!

@Zelly: yes, around ave2 & 3 :D

@Rondy: Red, green yellow... all can! Except japanese curry... that one is what I call "pian geen na" type of curry..no kick one. :)

@Mickey M: New New won't eat me one lah.. she very nice one, hor?Btw, I think your flat is really cool! really like your green wall!

@Ossify& lilithfiend: Thanks thanks, fellow 3rmers! Will need your help to get lobangs in the near future! Lilthfiend, have you managed to find your windows yet?

Here's what I've been thinking of doing:

th_Simplified_plan_3groom2.jpg

• Hack skirting for LVR, CBR & MBR

Change wiring & piping

Change BR & LVR windows & grilles. Remove grilles for Kitchen & MBR

Extend MBR toilet out, with basin outside ,WC & Shower area remaining where they are (my MBR toilet will have no doors!)

Raise MBR toilet flooring (except the shower area) to be level with MBR

Change all the toilet stuff (WC, basin & Shower) Have s/s draincover (cannot stand the white plastic one that turns yellow over time)

Do water proofing for the toilets. (need to do for kitchen?)

Spray paint floors of the 2 toilets & kitchen

Hack off kitchen cabinet, change rubbish chute to the flat type.

Change store room doors to sliding ( currently it's those accordion PVC type)

Seal up CBR's door opening(may insert display shelving there since already got 1 hole) & knock another opening facing the LVR

Have sliding panels as doors for CBR & MBR

Plaster & paint any walls not covered with tiles or furniture

Use industrial pipes and mdf boards to do full-length wardrobe & full-length, wall to wall shelving area in CBR for TV, books, etc

Do kitchen bottom cabinets with aluminum trim & s/s countertop

Glass splash back

have a 2-1 inverter aircon

Ceiling fans for the 2 bedrms & LVR

Now, question is can I do all these with less than $20K? :dunno:

20k can try :D

this pic looks like pole system concept but using black poles instead. :P

But this type of concept u have to clean very often on each shelf or else can see a layer of dust after awhile, esp if your place is windy or having upgrading.

Also you have to take in account of the weight each shelf can hold before putting the items on them.

Yah... the dust factor is making me wary abt having open shelving... I was thinking of placing metal framed sliding glass/acrylic panels in front of the shelving (not doors, but flr to ceiling full-length glass/acrylic panels) at a later stage when i have more money.

Moreover, I plan to have cats at a later stage, so I would need to protect my figurines and bks from them!

Edited by curryqueen

Air-con: really thinking abt inverter or non-inverter. I seldom use.. but because I'm a very light sleeper when the non-inverter air-con start and stop, I will sure wake up one. Maybe should have 1 inverter and 1 non-inverter for the CMBR (coz that one is for guests).

i dun think there is any combi of inverter and non-inverter system unless you are referring to single split system. you may wanna check your power restriction for the aircon before buying 2 different systems which i think is not quite possible if you have only 1 aircon ledge to place your condenser unit. so its either inverter or non-inverter system for both rooms.

Wah... how did you put your colored comments into the quote? Must learn from you all.. I'm a techno dinosaur when it comes to all these.

I plan to change ALL piping n wiring. The owners had stayed there for more than 13 years liao so i think will have to change everything.

Sliding dr for storerm: Plan to get 2 panels.. 1 side to the left, the other slide to the right. Dun intend to laminate those doors. Just paint them over. Door can be simple MDF or fibreboard...Can't get swing dr as it takes up space.

Yah... aiming to be uncluttered for kitchen.. I think that the more storage you have.. the more you will stuff things inside and will forget abt them. But may add a shelving on the top... so that the things I usually use will be in sight...See how first... looking forward to see your kitchen!

Am currently using baby KDK for my bedrm with remote.. Agree its very powerful, but once i put to second speed it gets a bit noisy (got the "whup whup" noise)... I'm thinking of fanco aroma or maybe the amasco empire. Not sure how gd amasco empire is though...

Air-con: really thinking abt inverter or non-inverter. I seldom use.. but because I'm a very light sleeper when the non-inverter air-con start and stop, I will sure wake up one. Maybe should have 1 inverter and 1 non-inverter for the CMBR (coz that one is for guests).

Not planning to change my main dr & gate. Will probably just repaint them white (it's currently a hideous brown colour). I love my old HDB door! Still got the glass panel on top! Am thinking of doing some glass painting there. :D

very simple la..to use diff colour font just use the "A" on the reply screen... :)

my personal feel is kdk better, i would rarely use speed 3...would on the air con if its too hot...haha...

all piping and wiring...hmmm wiring around 2k, pipes depends ba... for pvc sewage pipes if no corrosion, generally no need change...

the pipes thingy is interesting...any idea where to get the raw materials..? i might want to try one bookshelf first before venturing further...heee

Yah... the dust factor is making me wary abt having open shelving... I was thinking of placing metal framed sliding glass/acrylic panels in front of the shelving (not doors, but flr to ceiling full-length glass/acrylic panels) at a later stage when i have more money.

Moreover, I plan to have cats at a later stage, so I would need to protect my figurines and bks from them!

you mean something like this?

031510kitcheninspiration01.jpg

very simple la..to use diff colour font just use the "A" on the reply screen... :)ic ic ... must put in btw the brackets! :D

my personal feel is kdk better, i would rarely use speed 3...would on the air con if its too hot...haha...

all piping and wiring...hmmm wiring around 2k, pipes depends ba... for pvc sewage pipes if no corrosion, generally no need change... Think sewage pipes must change. It looks as if it's leaking something..when I get the keys i take photo and show u all

the pipes thingy is interesting...any idea where to get the raw materials..? i might want to try one bookshelf first before venturing further...heee that's the problem... I see all these nice things in blogs but dunno where to get the raw materials.. I'm hoping that the contractor would know

Edited by curryqueen

you mean something like this?

031510kitcheninspiration01.jpg

Yes! Or like these:

(Imagine this clear or maybe with chicken-wired glass)

Light_00_small_jpg_566x425_crop_ups.jpg

sliding-glass-panel-5633.jpg

(Imagine this one as clear glass or arylic)

the-quadra-double-glazed-sliding-do.jpg

Basically if walk-in wardrobes can have sliding panels to partition the wardrobe from the bedroom, I don't see whey I can't do the same for my bks! :P

Hi CurryQueen,

Welcome to Serangoon and Congrats on your new flat.

So many happening in Serangoon area recently.Good that you chose Serangoon.

May I ask you how much did you pay for your flat? Any COV?

Happy Reno!

Basically if walk-in wardrobes can have sliding panels to partition the wardrobe from the bedroom, I don't see whey I can't do the same for my bks! :P

wah then it will be like a walk-in library..!

Hi CurryQueen,

Welcome to Serangoon and Congrats on your new flat.

So many happening in Serangoon area recently.Good that you chose Serangoon.

May I ask you how much did you pay for your flat? Any COV?

Happy Reno!

Valuation is $255K COV $17500... but mine is a flat that has been decorated by loansharks before :D

Edited by curryqueen

Still i think its quite a reasonable price for a flat so near to Serangoon MRT/interchange and NEX megamall. For me its a good buy.

I am also staying around Serangoon Central area. I really like the estate.

Still i think its quite a reasonable price for a flat so near to Serangoon MRT/interchange and NEX megamall. For me its a good buy.

I am also staying around Serangoon Central area. I really like the estate.

Me too, the place is usually pretty quiet too. But the down side of the area is food and marketing is pretty expensive in Serangoon. Oh yeah, surprisingly there are afew good places for crabs around serangoon :dribble:.