curryqueen

The Cave

Oh no....my quote for that ss countertop is of good grade...not 304 hor... :P

heh... I don't need to do operation on the countertop. No need that good.. easy to maintain can liao. Countertop is something that you cannot bring with you when you move house..

Having said that though... I was drooling over Song Cho's (the stainless steel chicken brand) kitchen system that they got from Japan. But it's hideously expensive - about $1,000+ pfr. You can only view the kitchen system at Park Mall or the Kallang Leisure Park shop. Plaza Sing don't have.

http://www.songcho.com.sg/product.asp?page...&Parent_ID=

Their stainless steel countertop is embossed, so you won't get scratches and the intergrated sink is totally drool-worthy. The website does not do justice to the kitchen system at all.. must really see to admire it.

heh... I don't need to do operation on the countertop. No need that good.. easy to maintain can liao. Countertop is something that you cannot bring with you when you move house..

Having said that though... I was drooling over Song Cho's (the stainless steel chicken brand) kitchen system that they got from Japan. But it's hideously expensive - about $1,000+ pfr. You can only view the kitchen system at Park Mall or the Kallang Leisure Park shop. Plaza Sing don't have.

Their stainless steel countertop is embossed, so you won't get scratches and the intergrated sink is totally drool-worthy. The website does not do justice to the kitchen system at all.. must really see to admire it.

Hm, I walked pass Song Cho so many times but haven gone in before. I think it is time to go in and take alook. :P

Any other shops selling the same things but at a cheaper price? :notti:

Hm, I walked pass Song Cho so many times but haven gone in before. I think it is time to go in and take alook. :P

Any other shops selling the same things but at a cheaper price? :notti:

Dun have... :( I think they are the sole distributor for the Japanese brand. If you go to the Kallang Leisure Park shop, be forewarned that the male sales supervisor is rather 'tao' and a bit bo-chap. The Jap/Korean salesgirl is nicer but English not that gd.

yeap i saw their system @ IMM before. damm solid, i think can survive longer than me.. :)

for those with deep pockets only though.

alternatively use those commercial grade ones would suffice, those people utilise the kitchen many many times more than an average household.

Have been thinking about my kitchen design... headache. As I'm keeping the storerm, i would like to maximize the "blocked" space. I would also like to have my steamer and oven at counter-level for easy usage that will be concealed with storage with sliding drs.

Here's the legend:

Dark Blue- Fridge

Light Blue - WM & future dryer

Purple rectangle - single bowl BIG sink

red rectangle - 30cm hob

Simplified_plan_3rm2.jpg

If I do this, my appliance cabinet will be next to fridge.. so all the cooking will be done at one end, while the opp wall will be the washing side (layout similar to gimz & baby). WM, rubbish chute & pipes will be concealed by full length drs (either glossy white laminate or woody laminate).

But I understand that L-shaped cabinets are expensive to do.. :( Just dunno how expensive that is.

I'm also concerned about the passageway to the kitchen with the fridge on one side and the bottom cabinets on the other side.

The other option is to do a parallel kitchen like this

Simplified_plan_3room.jpg

With the appliance cabinet near the sink. But that would mean I would have very little counter space. If i stack the oven on top of the steamer so as to have more counterspace, it would be hard to look at the fd cooking.

So how? :dunno: Any ideas, anyone?

Have been thinking about my kitchen design... headache. As I'm keeping the storerm, i would like to maximize the "blocked" space. I would also like to have my steamer and oven at counter-level for easy usage that will be concealed with storage with sliding drs.

Here's the legend:

Dark Blue- Fridge

red rectangle - 30cm hob

Simplified_plan_3rm2.jpg

If I do this, my appliance cabinet will be next to fridge.. so all the cooking will be done at one end, while the opp wall will be the washing side (layout similar to gimz & baby). WM, rubbish chute & pipes will be concealed by full length drs (either glossy white laminate or woody laminate).

But I understand that L-shaped cabinets are expensive to do.. :( Just dunno how expensive that is.

I'm also concerned about the passageway to the kitchen with the fridge on one side and the bottom cabinets on the other side.

With the appliance cabinet near the sink. But that would mean I would have very little counter space. If i stack the oven on top of the steamer so as to have more counterspace, it would be hard to look at the fd cooking.

if i really have to choose, i think option 1 might be a better idea.. can maximise storage area since the wall of the storeroom would not be hacked, so might as well use it... i dun think you would open your fridge and cupboards at the same time.. so entrance would not pose a problem...

however, are you sure you wish to have your sink and hob on opposite ends?? generally, most ppl would prefer to have them side by side... for eg, i like to wash my veges in the sink then throw them direct into the pan for cooking... if you put it on opp ends, the water might drip on the floor, need to walk over oso.... but up to u lah... :) just my personal habit...

cheers!

if the lack of counterspace is a concern, i have seen people doing a retractable solid surface. :)

if cooking is kept to the blocked side, would lighting be a problem?

oven and steamer is built in? maybe can choose the one which you use more often and put it at countertop level.

space is valuable in 3rooms.. :)

oh ya, nowadays no need to conceal rubbish chute, nowadays chute "chio chio one" :)

Here's the legend:

Dark Blue- Fridge

red rectangle - 30cm hob

Simplified_plan_3rm2.jpg

Dimension of your floor plan will give a better space planning for u. And L-shape cabinet mean add another 2ft extra cost.

if i really have to choose, i think option 1 might be a better idea.. can maximise storage area since the wall of the storeroom would not be hacked, so might as well use it... i dun think you would open your fridge and cupboards at the same time.. so entrance would not pose a problem...

however, are you sure you wish to have your sink and hob on opposite ends?? generally, most ppl would prefer to have them side by side... for eg, i like to wash my veges in the sink then throw them direct into the pan for cooking... if you put it on opp ends, the water might drip on the floor, need to walk over oso.... but up to u lah... :) just my personal habit...

cheers!

ya agree with baby..might not be so convenient to have the stove opposite the sink. i prefer option 1, better flow IMHO. maybe swap the fridge with the stove, and swap the stove with the sink and cut the long counter so you have more walk-in space. haha hope this isn't too confusing.. L-cabinets aren't too pricey la. like jaskel said, 2 extra ft.

if the lack of counterspace is a concern, i have seen people doing a retractable solid surface. :)

if cooking is kept to the blocked side, would lighting be a problem?

oven and steamer is built in? maybe can choose the one which you use more often and put it at countertop level.

space is valuable in 3rooms.. :)

oh ya, nowadays no need to conceal rubbish chute, nowadays chute "chio chio one" :)

Yah.. lighting is a concern..that was why I was asking you about how your lighting is..haven't figured a way out of this without having some sort of top shelving with undertop lighting... oven and steamer are not built it. Steamer must pull out and away from any top cabinet so that the steam will not ruin the cabinet.

Retractable surface-a possibility but would be dependent on the cost..

Having a door to conceal the rubblish chute is actually more to gain extra storage space by hanging stuff inside the door... :D (keep rags, plastic bags, etc)

I'm thinking of placing the cat litter box where the pipes are..so that the sight and smell of it will be hidden. Create some shelving above the litterbox to put the cat stuff and cleaning detergents and have an area to put the ladder,magic cleaner and all that...

decisions,decisions decisions...<sigh>

ya agree with baby..might not be so convenient to have the stove opposite the sink. i prefer option 1, better flow IMHO. maybe swap the fridge with the stove, and swap the stove with the sink and cut the long counter so you have more walk-in space. haha hope this isn't too confusing.. L-cabinets aren't too pricey la. like jaskel said, 2 extra ft.

Here are 2 other plans I had thought about.

Kitchen 3: I think it's neater and gives a wider sense of space. But this layout means that my steamer and oven would be on the other side, which I'm not that keen as I feel I'd be using the steamer and oven more than the hob.

kitchen3.jpg

Kitchen 4: the most compact design with everything a turn away..but is it too cramped?

kitchen4.jpg

curryqueen, the dimensions are not clear, can't see the length of the kitche, etc.

better to draw to scale the dimensions. Also to consider the width of cabinet doors, whether got enough place to swing or not.

if you put the fridge to the side of the wall, you cannot get those 2 door swing fridge le. As space is precious in 3rooms, a big one door swing fridge means you have to allocate more space for swinging.

since the area at the store cannot be seen from the front, why not put your washer/dryer there, save some $ on concealing it. :P

Then use the space to put full height cabinets to house your oven and steamer.

If retractable top is expensive, can consider using a island with wheels from ikea like this. Can chuck it to the wall between MBR toilet and kitchen when not in use.

http://www.ikea.com.sg/en/catalog/detail.a...itchen%2Cisland

Can be used for serving food as well, duo purpose. :)