curryqueen

The Cave

Will probably go down Jln Besar tmrw to check out the cost of all the toilet stuff and lights. Will also check the Bellari outlet there too. Their website kena virus 1 yr ago till now haven't fix. :bleah:

Their website a bit outdated. Go shop see better. Website got nothing much.

Took a walk around HN & Gain City today..didn't expect the gas hob and WM to be so expensive.. gave a call to Goh Ah Bee too... GAB can't give an discount and the price is not that competitive (maybe $50 or so less than retail price). Am wondering if I have to go down in person so that they can give me a better quote..:-(

Gain City quoted me $2089 for a MHI System 2 inverter+installation. Add $150 for the s/s brackets, $60 more for upgrade to 1/2 insulation (no upgrade, it's 3/8 inch) and$60 more for gauge 22 (no upgrade it's Gauge 23).Just checked the price of the same thing on Coolserv and it's abt the same price.. am wondering if it's worth it and can bargain till how much freebies..

Will probably go down Jln Besar tmrw to check out the cost of all the toilet stuff and lights. Will also check the Bellari outlet there too. Their website kena virus 1 yr ago till now haven't fix. :bleah:

GR link, Poh Joo, Hoe Kee & Lightings.com.sg-- here i come!

For air-con, heartland electrical shop will sell cheaper. Same for hob.

i've been thinking of doing my own dining table with the old bedrm door and some pipes..

My bedrm door is the simple, old type with no pattern at all.. just smooth surface and the knob. Thinking of asking the contractor to laminate the door and leave the drknob hole for wires to pass through when I do steamboat! :D Dining table should hopefully look something like

diningtable.jpg

diningrm.jpg

pipetable-1.jpg

Qn as always, is where to get the pipes.. :dunno:

Ah ha....not a big issues to do this. U want to DIY?

Edited by jaskel

Ah ha....not a big issues to do this. U want to DIY?

Heh... hoping whoever I get to do my place to help me do it... :D I will use one of my bedroom door as the top, laminate it, then hopefully get someone to get the pipes, paint it and drill it.

very unique ideas you have! i like ur pipe furniture! can i copy? :P i might be using PVC pipes thou. hee....

will u be using air con frequently? otherwise, non inverter might suffice... i'm using non-inverter... oso from gain city.. total cost around 1.7k... but i think the workmanship is ok only....

lightings.com offers 1 of the most competitive prices in lights.. but some might not be too unique... u can look at the website 1st if u dun wanna go down... 1 day go so many places will be very tiring de... been there, tried that... :P

good luck!!

Sure, of coz u can copy! then I can see how it looks like first :P PVC pipes may not be strong enuff though, you may need to use galvanised steel pipes.

I did think of using non-inverter, but I'm a very light sleeper, so whenever the air-con goes off, I'd wake up coz of the sound and no "wind" is circulating.

Lights are not going to be a feature in my place.. i just need plain, ordinary types.. I've got 2 metal bird cages that i bought in HK abt 8 yrs ago which I'm going to re-purpose into lamps if the electrician can do it for me.. that will probably be the only unique lighting aspect for me...

hmm i remembered the sales guy telling me inverter is the one which turns on and off, they have 2 motors. Once a certain temp is reached, one motor stops and the other will work to maintain the temp.

so inverter should be the turning on/off kind right?

if you use door as table, must make sure its all solid wood...many doors are hollow in the centre cannot take the weight...

milo tin can would be interesting...i thought of using a food cover as a lighting shade for my dining area before. But in the end, i figured that i liked a bird cage more... :P

hmm i remembered the sales guy telling me inverter is the one which turns on and off, they have 2 motors. Once a certain temp is reached, one motor stops and the other will work to maintain the temp.

so inverter should be the turning on/off kind right?

curryqueen is referring to the fan coil unit :)

when desired temperature is reached, it stops venting cool air

Edited by ossify

if you use door as table, must make sure its all solid wood...many doors are hollow in the centre cannot take the weight...

Hollow door cannot ah? :( Pots of food shouldn't weigh that heavy bah?

Usually main door type of door not hollow rite?

I'm scratching my head over the cost of the stainless steel countertop for the kitchen..

1 contractor quoted me $1,800 for 15ft of stainless steel countertop. The other quoted me $950 for 14 ft. That means the first quote is abt $120 per ft while the other is only $68 per ft! :o

So is one too cheap or the other too expensive?

I'm scratching my head over the cost of the stainless steel countertop for the kitchen..

1 contractor quoted me $1,800 for 15ft of stainless steel countertop. The other quoted me $950 for 14 ft. That means the first quote is abt $120 per ft while the other is only $68 per ft! :o

i think stainless steel got different grades right? check on the quality/thickness?

check for stainless steel grade and if it is solid stainless steel or stainless steel laminate over wood.

or if you want me to get better price for you, can pm me :)