froggy 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 Hi I read that many of you got your furniture from S & C. Need some input here. My friend went down last week to 'select" her furniture but was surprised to find very little display products? As I have been telling her that that shop is highly recommended in RT, she thought she got the wrong place and left without even going in! Does S & C go by catalogue sales? Anyway, she is asking how selection is done? Is it something like Everjoint, where you quote any brand/model, and they will get the product for you? At a much cheaper rate since no big rental space for display etc? She was looking for brands like Cellini and Lorenzo. Does S & C "carry' those? Thanks for any input! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 Hi I read that many of you got your furniture from S & C. Need some input here. My friend went down last week to 'select" her furniture but was surprised to find very little display products? As I have been telling her that that shop is highly recommended in RT, she thought she got the wrong place and left without even going in! Does S & C go by catalogue sales? Anyway, she is asking how selection is done? Is it something like Everjoint, where you quote any brand/model, and they will get the product for you? At a much cheaper rate since no big rental space for display etc? She was looking for brands like Cellini and Lorenzo. Does S & C "carry' those? Thanks for any input! they do not carry cellini or lorenzo but u can show them the design u like and they might be able to source similar ones. Yes, they go by catalogue sales. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 they do not carry cellini or lorenzo but u can show them the design u like and they might be able to source similar ones. Yes, they go by catalogue sales. Hi Samgalz "similar" in terms of looks or quality? That's the pros and cons of catalogue sale - cheaper but don't know what to expect lor Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 Hi Samgalz "similar" in terms of looks or quality? That's the pros and cons of catalogue sale - cheaper but don't know what to expect lor if u are comfortable with catalogue sales then S&C is fine cos reviews has been pretty good so far. I have not got anything yet but is likely to buy something from them. If u are not, u are better off going to cellini or lorenzo. End of the day. both are serving a different market of people. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted May 6, 2010 if u are comfortable with catalogue sales then S&C is fine cos reviews has been pretty good so far. I have not got anything yet but is likely to buy something from them. If u are not, u are better off going to cellini or lorenzo. End of the day. both are serving a different market of people. I second that So far no bad comment on S and C as yet . So i assume their stuff should have certain standard. However u do can take a look at cellini . They have this promotion (i think 1 yr liao ...lol ) which is quite attractive too Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted May 6, 2010 I second that So far no bad comment on S and C as yet . So i assume their stuff should have certain standard. However u do can take a look at cellini . They have this promotion (i think 1 yr liao ...lol ) which is quite attractive too thanks Samgalz and Simon (btw i have been following your blogs silently and Simon, your baby is so adorable!) will pass the message to her. as for me, likely to get S & C lah, because very tight budget. thanks again Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted May 9, 2010 We also dropped by S & C to take a look abt a month earlier. The lady there is friendly. So we might be getting dining table + chairs, coffee table and bed frame from them. As for sofa, we still want to have a feel b4 buying so looking else where. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted May 9, 2010 Initially, we want to this furniture shop near AMK Courts. Saw 1 sofa, very nice but super expensive. Half-leather is $2999. The fella immediately give $600 off if we immediately put deposit of 40% of 2499. It seems a hard sell from them. I wrote down the item code to check with S&C but they are already closed. I guess I will try tomorrow. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted May 9, 2010 Initially, we want to this furniture shop near AMK Courts. Saw 1 sofa, very nice but super expensive. Half-leather is $2999. The fella immediately give $600 off if we immediately put deposit of 40% of 2499. It seems a hard sell from them. I wrote down the item code to check with S&C but they are already closed. I guess I will try tomorrow. Hi Ngundi So how? did you get to try at S&C today? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
budgetice 0 Report post Posted May 9, 2010 Initially, we want to this furniture shop near AMK Courts. Saw 1 sofa, very nice but super expensive. Half-leather is $2999. The fella immediately give $600 off if we immediately put deposit of 40% of 2499. It seems a hard sell from them. I wrote down the item code to check with S&C but they are already closed. I guess I will try tomorrow. If the shop u visited is funiture HQ.... then i suggest you dont call S&C since the deposit already paid... just enjoy your sofa when it arrives. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted May 10, 2010 Hi Ngundi So how? did you get to try at S&C today? You mean last night? They closed already. Usually they are also close on monday ... If the shop u visited is funiture HQ.... then i suggest you dont call S&C since the deposit already paid... just enjoy your sofa when it arrives. Yeah, it's the Furniture HQ. I didn't pay anything. not very comfortable in their deadline to immediately pay the deposit by that day. Then I have cooling period, etc. etc. Very hard sell tactic. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
budgetice 0 Report post Posted May 10, 2010 You mean last night? They closed already. Usually they are also close on monday ... Yeah, it's the Furniture HQ. I didn't pay anything. not very comfortable in their deadline to immediately pay the deposit by that day. Then I have cooling period, etc. etc. Very hard sell tactic. thats good news.. S&C should have the same model at cheaper price. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted May 10, 2010 S&C May told me the other time when I'm there tat they will be closed from 13 May to 20 plus May due to some construction outside their shop. So do not be alarm if u cannot find them during this period. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted May 11, 2010 S&C May told me the other time when I'm there tat they will be closed from 13 May to 20 plus May due to some construction outside their shop. So do not be alarm if u cannot find them during this period. I sms Melvin the owner the sofa code I'm looking for. Hopefully he can get a good price. At same time, we would be checking the sofa at Nova furnishing. Hope have any luck. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
libratiger 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 I ordered from S & C before. Advice to you: 1. If you need the furniture quickly, you had better try somewhere else. Delivery takes at least 3 weeks. Mine was delayed to close to 2 months. Melvin keep citing problems with China customs, shipment whatever. 2. What you see in the catalogue may not be what you get. They constantly get the wrong material, color. My sofa cushion changed 3 times, office chair wrong material, dining table turntable could not fit... etc. If you can stomach all these issues with a cheaper price option, go for it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites