matashi

Our Very Own Home

GUAI??? u haven see the irritating stuffs they did, especially the alaskan. i think of him my blood boil. :curse:

the black leather sofa you mean? that is from univonna, very comfy and high back but design i not so like. haha

ooh, scary master. hahaha. just like my pom-maltese mix la. always anyhow pee pee, smack also no use, scold also no use. give u big puppy eye look and his eyes tear a bit, wah lau, how to stay angry???

ohh, haha icic, tt's the one i bought lor, but in beige leather. den u have to continue looking liao.

ooh, scary master. hahaha. just like my pom-maltese mix la. always anyhow pee pee, smack also no use, scold also no use. give u big puppy eye look and his eyes tear a bit, wah lau, how to stay angry???

ohh, haha icic, tt's the one i bought lor, but in beige leather. den u have to continue looking liao.

lol also true about dogs they always give you the innocent look. mine even whines to make my father come to his rescue...... :bangwall:

that is a very nice sofa, wil buy that one if no other sofas work out for me. hope tonight will work something out :)

lol also true about dogs they always give you the innocent look. mine even whines to make my father come to his rescue...... :bangwall:

that is a very nice sofa, wil buy that one if no other sofas work out for me. hope tonight will work something out :)

haha, mine whines when not enough food or the other dogs dunwan to play with him. puppy ma, his energy like no end one, the rest all panting and exhausted, he's still hopping here and there.

hope u able to find a nice sofa! jia you!!

haha, mine whines when not enough food or the other dogs dunwan to play with him. puppy ma, his energy like no end one, the rest all panting and exhausted, he's still hopping here and there.

hope u able to find a nice sofa! jia you!!

wow i can still remember the puppy months, small little terror. :P

yeah hope tonight will work out something for the sofa. ;)

u r one fussy man....and to think i thought my hubby is the ultimate. ;)

lol, i wan to buy one i wun regret and dislike de mah :P

true true, hope u get ur true love soon...

Today i managed to sit down and look through revised bill for my reno.

Saw something(s) which i think is buay gam.

img9852j.jpg

I paid $1390 for doing L-box in my living room and MBR.

After Hong Tar came to install trunking, they mentioned that i have to make sure L-box is done in a way that the two aircon unit have space to fit in.

Aircon unit cannot be installed lower than the L-box as it will hinder the water flowing to drain.

already told Ronald about this and expect him to instruct workers to take note of the aircon units position.

yes he did a good job as to properly "siam" the positions of the aircons and charged to my account for another $80!

Called him and was told cos L-box siam here and there need more angled L-box boards or something like that.

my arguement is that i already told him to siam the aircon units before L-box installation took place.

is not like L-box is installed liao then i ask to change, if like that i LL have to pay.

but now is not lor. is like i paying more for doing less. :curse:

Second thing, after aircon guys installed the trunkings. i realise the trunking is not aligned with the top entrance of my doorway. asked the aircon guys on the spot and they showed me with the water leveller that their aircon trunkings are straight and is the entrance top not straight. Hence told Ronald about the entrance ceiling and he said will do some patching up there.

this time at my expense again. for another $150 cleverly split into two separate item in bill.

Bill states

1) to construct lintol above entrance of Walk-in-wardrobe --- $100

2) to construct plaster box up above entrance of walk-in-wardrobe --- $50

img9868x.jpg

img9867.jpg

if the entrance ceiling is straight and aligned with aircon trunking but with the aircon trunking protruding out, i would gladly pay for the mistake in calculations or should i say unexpected cost.

this entrance ceiling is already slanted and not aligned with the aircon trunking with the aircon trunking protruding out, Ronald already have to rectify this slanted ceiling no matter what.

but instead, this was billed to me at $150. and also, one whole big MBR false ceiling is $540. 1 small small slice of plaster box up cost $50, one small small lintol which may well be those disposed off small small piece cost $100.

quite ridiculous i would say.

called Ronald about this and argued to him. he say if i mind then take out lor. WHO DUN MIND???

Third thing, at first was thought that L-box in living room should be able to cover the citigas pipes running through living room to kitchen.

when installing L-box (i was not around), Ronald call me saying that L-box in living room gas pipe area need to lower a bit to hide the pipes.

say just a little bit, asking me if i was ok with the small protruding part. i say fine since bo bian mah, gas pipe block then what can i do other than lowering the L-box by a bit?

he did not tell me about charging on the phone, nor the day after L-box was fully done.

instead just conveniently list inside the bill again this time for $200

img9849f.jpg

then on another instance was calling me about the boxing up of the pipes in kitchen for the gas pipes.

he say can box up, look better. even suggest to me paint black look better. i was thinking "wah good service hor"

BUT was also charged to me for $150 :curse: :curse: :curse:

img9863.jpg

I mean if dun wan to do for free then kindly just mention that do this cost $ and ask if i am fine with it before proceeding. And also not to charge for something which is not my fault.

i will pay if things turn out to be my error in communicating.

For instance, i specifically told him that i wan to do networking in the house from living room to MBR at the very first meet-up.

I remembered very clearly i told him cos i need that badly as i need the networking, very certain that i did not miss that.

After L-box was up and i realise that LAN points was not set up. He say have to pay for $40 for cutting hole in L-box for cabling purpose.

At this time, i already was very sure he forgot about the cabling i told him in the very early stages. I just aiya ok lah, chin chai $40 pay liao dun wan argue so much.

BUT NOW IT SEEMS TO ME THAT I CHIN CHAI BUT HE KEEP JIA JIA JIA! :furious:

matashi...sorry to hear about your woes...

for us, every little thing we do we got ronald to give a quote first then proceed.

yours sounds like a miscomm and no agreement was reached before works are done...

think must request for discount la...at least give and take a bit...

but i must say box up kitchen in black is nice... :)

PS: unlike most contractors who package their service into a package and give people FOC items, ronald's quote has no FOC items at all, to me, its a plus since consumers can see the cost more clearly. :)

cool down my man, how are we going to carry on if you do not want to settle with me in private?

infact the price to you are very low liao this is standard market charging when you want your contractor to do work.

i did mentioned to you about extra charges every now & then when i want to do extra beside the original contract,

i'am sorry if you don't feel i have given you the lowest charge for these additional, but i have tried my best to do them

whenever they're necessary.

And for your Lan cable, true that i have forgotten about it, but what you have mentioned to me in the phone,

seems to me like it was an additional item, i'll have to charge a $40 very minimum cost for patching up, i believed

i did not over-charging you. And if you can remind me say you have mentioned about it, i will be very happy to bare the cost when the mistake was done by my side.

i'm quite sure till this point of time, i did nothing disappointing you, in term of my coordination, workmanship & service,

you have called me this afternoon about the above issue, i believed i have answered you nicely and have told you

that we both will sort it out when we are available later. Now that you have put it up to the public, it will somehow

spoil my reputation which i think this should not be happened.

Let's meet up again on site, let me at least have a chance to explain the charges face to face, and if you're still don't feel

satisfy, it wouldn't be too late to put it up again k.

Also to take note, my update of the additional charges are basically a proposal Charges and is not fixed yet, there are more then rooms for negotiation, and i believed i have done some for you during our conversation today already, right?

Today i managed to sit down and look through revised bill for my reno.

Saw something(s) which i think is buay gam.

img9852j.jpg

I paid $1390 for doing L-box in my living room and MBR.

After Hong Tar came to install trunking, they mentioned that i have to make sure L-box is done in a way that the two aircon unit have space to fit in.

Aircon unit cannot be installed lower than the L-box as it will hinder the water flowing to drain.

already told Ronald about this and expect him to instruct workers to take note of the aircon units position.

yes he did a good job as to properly "siam" the positions of the aircons and charged to my account for another $80!

Called him and was told cos L-box siam here and there need more angled L-box boards or something like that.

my arguement is that i already told him to siam the aircon units before L-box installation took place.

is not like L-box is installed liao then i ask to change, if like that i LL have to pay.

but now is not lor. is like i paying more for doing less. :curse:

Second thing, after aircon guys installed the trunkings. i realise the trunking is not aligned with the top entrance of my doorway. asked the aircon guys on the spot and they showed me with the water leveller that their aircon trunkings are straight and is the entrance top not straight. Hence told Ronald about the entrance ceiling and he said will do some patching up there.

this time at my expense again. for another $150 cleverly split into two separate item in bill.

Bill states

1) to construct lintol above entrance of Walk-in-wardrobe --- $100

2) to construct plaster box up above entrance of walk-in-wardrobe --- $50

img9868x.jpg

img9867.jpg

if the entrance ceiling is straight and aligned with aircon trunking but with the aircon trunking protruding out, i would gladly pay for the mistake in calculations or should i say unexpected cost.

this entrance ceiling is already slanted and not aligned with the aircon trunking with the aircon trunking protruding out, Ronald already have to rectify this slanted ceiling no matter what.

but instead, this was billed to me at $150. and also, one whole big MBR false ceiling is $540. 1 small small slice of plaster box up cost $50, one small small lintol which may well be those disposed off small small piece cost $100.

quite ridiculous i would say.

called Ronald about this and argued to him. he say if i mind then take out lor. WHO DUN MIND???

Third thing, at first was thought that L-box in living room should be able to cover the citigas pipes running through living room to kitchen.

when installing L-box (i was not around), Ronald call me saying that L-box in living room gas pipe area need to lower a bit to hide the pipes.

say just a little bit, asking me if i was ok with the small protruding part. i say fine since bo bian mah, gas pipe block then what can i do other than lowering the L-box by a bit?

he did not tell me about charging on the phone, nor the day after L-box was fully done.

instead just conveniently list inside the bill again this time for $200

img9849f.jpg

then on another instance was calling me about the boxing up of the pipes in kitchen for the gas pipes.

he say can box up, look better. even suggest to me paint black look better. i was thinking "wah good service hor"

BUT was also charged to me for $150 :curse: :curse: :curse:

img9863.jpg

I mean if dun wan to do for free then kindly just mention that do this cost $ and ask if i am fine with it before proceeding. And also not to charge for something which is not my fault.

i will pay if things turn out to be my error in communicating.

For instance, i specifically told him that i wan to do networking in the house from living room to MBR at the very first meet-up.

I remembered very clearly i told him cos i need that badly as i need the networking, very certain that i did not miss that.

After L-box was up and i realise that LAN points was not set up. He say have to pay for $40 for cutting hole in L-box for cabling purpose.

At this time, i already was very sure he forgot about the cabling i told him in the very early stages. I just aiya ok lah, chin chai $40 pay liao dun wan argue so much.

BUT NOW IT SEEMS TO ME THAT I CHIN CHAI BUT HE KEEP JIA JIA JIA! :furious:

i guess the reason he has to charge you may be because his profit margin is already very low so he is just trying to maintain his profit margin. calling a worker to do additional box-up or paint works doesn't come free :(

the living room has cove lighting right? why not just have it lowered to the gas pipe level instead of having cove and another drop? was your gas piping done after the cove lighting was up?

was aircon installation done by yourself or through contractor? generally, if you do yourself, it tends to get very messy because additional pipes needs to be laid last minute. eg. in my case, i had to make some changes (split water and gas) to my aircon piping because the trunkings are so thick. Good thing my drainage pipe is still run according to plan so that it can be hidden in my box-up.

Since you do so much box-up, why not box-up the aircon pipes in the WIW too?

Edited by ossify

Relax Bro, its just a mis-comm. Additional work also mean additional cost. That's is in my line of work, cos the worker don't come for free for additional work. Put profit aside, material, transport and labour all this need $ right?

Just talk nicely and clear all doubts and misunderstandings.

matashi...sorry to hear about your woes...

for us, every little thing we do we got ronald to give a quote first then proceed.

yours sounds like a miscomm and no agreement was reached before works are done...

think must request for discount la...at least give and take a bit...

but i must say box up kitchen in black is nice... :)

PS: unlike most contractors who package their service into a package and give people FOC items, ronald's quote has no FOC items at all, to me, its a plus since consumers can see the cost more clearly. :)

yes it's true that his quote got no FOC items at all. it's when the above things were told to me did not say that it cost money to do. those were more like alterations to not yet done works than add on works. but was charged and billed to me.

there was also some things he did say that need to pay. those he charged and i did not say a word.

yeah i understand the meaning of give and take, but i got a feeling that the line has been crossed more to my side.

i guess the reason he has to charge you may be because his profit margin is already very low so he is just trying to maintain his profit margin. calling a worker to do additional box-up or paint works doesn't come free :(

the living room has cove lighting right? why not just have it lowered to the gas pipe level instead of having cove and another drop? was your gas piping done after the cove lighting was up?

was aircon installation done by yourself or through contractor? generally, if you do yourself, it tends to get very messy because additional pipes needs to be laid last minute. eg. in my case, i had to make some changes (split water and gas) to my aircon piping because the trunkings are so thick. Good thing my drainage pipe is still run according to plan so that it can be hidden in my box-up.

Since you do so much box-up, why not box-up the aircon pipes in the WIW too?

Relax Bro, its just a mis-comm. Additional work also mean additional cost. That's is in my line of work, cos the worker don't come for free for additional work. Put profit aside, material, transport and labour all this need $ right?

Just talk nicely and clear all doubts and misunderstandings.

yes additional work i will pay but at a reasonable price. just calculating the price ratio to amount of works added compare to original work is a big diff.

but alterations to proposed work have to pay? is the same as asking electrician to change lighting point from A to B. also have to pay or same same just pay for a single lighting point although electrician will have to cut a few more casings to point B?

L-box in living room have no cove lighting. just normal plan L-box. gas pipes were done before L-box is up. the L-box guys should have seen the gas pipes were there and lowered the original L-box to cover the gas pipes. i already can accept the extra weird looking L-box without asking to redo the whole thing liao. i gave in chin chai but was charged $...

aircon trunking was there way before the floor tiling works were done.

it was even before L-box ppl came up to take measurements.

aircon trunking did not have much problem with the L-box, only the blowers does. which is also another example case of moving lighting point from A to B.

Edited by matashi

yes it's true that his quote got no FOC items at all. it's when the above things were told to me did not say that it cost money to do. those were more like alterations to not yet done works than add on works. but was charged and billed to me.

there was also some things he did say that need to pay. those he charged and i did not say a word.

yeah i understand the meaning of give and take, but i got a feeling that the line has been crossed more to my side.

:) still hope that things can be settled in an amicable way, so that both sides can be happy.

btw, works all completed ah..? can move in soon le?