deldoc103

Bathroom Leakage

Hi everyone,

we have recently bought a resale HDB & found some leakage from the common bathroom door. there were some crystal deposits on the tiles below.

the HDB guy came & liased with the guy on the floor above.

what he said is that the floor above has not done any hacking or renovation of the floor. what he says that water proofing may have worn off as the flat are around 11 years old. he says that unlikely to be pipe leakage as there are no water pipes around the area from which the water seems to be coming.

our above floor neighbours have called in a guy who supposedly uses microcrystallisation technique , to do water proofing & it does not require hacking.

he give a guarantee for 1 year.

for 2 baths the cost will be 1200$, shared between 2 will be 600 each.

kinldy advise.

the name of the company is B4 water leakge specialist!

ur neighbour above has leaking floor due to waterproofing wearing off correct?

like that u need to split the cost with him? duh?!! doesn't sound right to me leh.

Tell that to HDB. :D

if thats the case, then i don't have to do my flooring works already? :P

wait for neighbour to complain, and then can subsidise me!

thats a dumb rule if you ask me...

Hi everyone,

we have recently bought a resale HDB & found some leakage from the common bathroom door. there were some crystal deposits on the tiles below.

the HDB guy came & liased with the guy on the floor above.

what he said is that the floor above has not done any hacking or renovation of the floor. what he says that water proofing may have worn off as the flat are around 11 years old. he says that unlikely to be pipe leakage as there are no water pipes around the area from which the water seems to be coming.

our above floor neighbours have called in a guy who supposedly uses microcrystallisation technique , to do water proofing & it does not require hacking.

he give a guarantee for 1 year.

for 2 baths the cost will be 1200$, shared between 2 will be 600 each.

kinldy advise.

the name of the company is B4 water leakge specialist!

Firstly, I think you are very lucky to met a very good neighbour.

I bought a resale flat and just did renovation in March. Contractor found master bedroom toilet ceiling leaking and we reported to HDB. HDB check my unit and also check above floor unit and shown above floor occupant the leak on my side. Per HDB neighbour said they will resolve with us.

Last Sat, I went up wanting to discuss to resolve the issue. I was met by hostile reactions from the male and female neighbour who first claim they are not legal owner, sister is legal owner who let them stay and sister is overseas dunnoe when come back.

Then female n'bour claimed my renovation caused vibration so great like shaking the block and caused her LCD tv to be damaged. Then she and husband claimed that no HDB officer came to inspect their unit. Then start to say their TV spoilt also neber claim damages from us, we neighbour shld give and take and dun leak water u complain HDB. The icing on the cake came when the male n'bour tells me, "you wana repair, you go ahead and repair urself la" in a hostile and bo chap tone. I did not become hostile throughout the conversations and told em since they said so i verified with HDB.

Getting HDB officer in charge is like more diff than calling Radio Station. Finally get in touch with HDB office in charge and ask him to send letter to the legal owner.

Can provide more details of the contractor tt did the rectifications? I wonder can they rectify just over on my side.

Regards

ziyter

Just received my bill for toilet leak = $172.56 ( 25% )

Just bought some cakes to thank them for being helpful.

Mine is the traditional approach, report to HDB, officer discuss to owner above,

both sides agree and contractor call in to repair the water proofing upstairs.

Also, must go to RC to apply for goodwill subsidy (50%) , standard procedure.

The contractor also offer to paint my ceiling. But, I refuse as I had just reno my toilet.

This way, at least everything is record in HDB.

In use your own contractor, HDB will says that the previous job was not done properly.

And they wash their hands. Besides, you also pay so much.... VERY MUCH !!!! $600

Mine is Tampines Area.

once my ex-colleague bought a resale flat and ceiling leak.

He approach HDB, HDB approach the neighbour upstair.

The owner has no problem to making the correction but the owner is a 80yrs old ah mah. No money.

In the end, he has no choice, pay for her