lachesis 0 Report post Posted October 4, 2010 (edited) .. (dbl post) Edited October 4, 2010 by lachesis Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lachesis 0 Report post Posted October 4, 2010 Friday itself, there were ard 10 workers working at the same time....... TEN workers?!?!? Heh, that's a lot. No wonder I was in for such a pleasant surprised when I dropped by on Friday. Haven't been able to go up to the house much during the day (finish wotk at 6pm, rush there 7pm - already dark outside ) So much had been done! - Kitchen partition walls - DONE - Wall tiles for Common Bathroom - DONE - Kitchen wall tiles - almost 100% DONE - Waterproofing for bathrooms - DONE - False ceiling @ Living room - DONE Kitchen partition walls up.......yes...don't need to guess...we r doing highly dangerous work here...that why wearing helmet.. Citygas was also here to install the gas piping... Yeah! We both thought City Gas was coming later. Hmmm....The 'highly dangerous' work requires workmen to wear a motorcycle helmet? The last minute design in MBR Bathroom was also slowly taking shape. Heh heh. Can't wait to see the tiles go up! Think this the area I'm most excited about, thanks to some creative design thinking by Jaskel Oh, we dropped by on Sat also. There was one lonely working pouring water into the bathrooms to check the water proofing: As we were leaving, he was using a big brush to brush liquid cement onto the ktichen floor - that's the water proofing for the kitchen? Love the F1 Pace Jaskel - GO GO GO!!! Keep posting pix also! I look forward to seeing them, esp since I don't get to drop by so often in the day. Oh, and do remind the workers to help themselves to the water, H20 isotonic drinks and biscuits we bought for them. I told the guy we saw on Sat about it - he seemed very paiseh to take. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kor69 0 Report post Posted October 4, 2010 TEN workers?!?!? Heh, that's a lot. No wonder I was in for such a pleasant surprised when I dropped by on Friday. Haven't been able to go up to the house much during the day (finish wotk at 6pm, rush there 7pm - already dark outside ) So much had been done! Wah!! So many workers? Sounds like... Power sia! Good! Set! Deal! Worth paying for Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lachesis 0 Report post Posted October 4, 2010 Wah!! So many workers? Sounds like... Power sia! Good! Set! Deal! Worth paying for Hahah. I love that show. Not only does the home get a makeover, the family gets to go on a vacation while the house is being done. Hmm, don't think 10 workers is the norm - probably a once-off b'coz there were a few things going on at the same time. "I feel the need... the need for speed..." Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
titanax 0 Report post Posted October 4, 2010 Water proofing for this particular part of the wall normally is 300mm right? but in this instance you water-proofed my entire wall Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
titanax 0 Report post Posted October 4, 2010 becoz mine is hot on your heels... :P faster faster F1 speed is fine...but not at the expense of QC Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted October 4, 2010 normally is 300mm right? but in this instance you water-proofed my entire wall Normally is 150mm.....but no choice for your case. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted October 4, 2010 TEN workers?!?!? Heh, that's a lot. No wonder I was in for such a pleasant surprised when I dropped by on Friday. Haven't been able to go up to the house much during the day (finish wotk at 6pm, rush there 7pm - already dark outside ) So much had been done! - Kitchen partition walls - DONE - Wall tiles for Common Bathroom - DONE - Kitchen wall tiles - almost 100% DONE - Waterproofing for bathrooms - DONE - False ceiling @ Living room - DONE Yeah! We both thought City Gas was coming later. Hmmm....The 'highly dangerous' work requires workmen to wear a motorcycle helmet? The last minute design in MBR Bathroom was also slowly taking shape. Heh heh. Can't wait to see the tiles go up! Think this the area I'm most excited about, thanks to some creative design thinking by Jaskel Oh, we dropped by on Sat also. There was one lonely working pouring water into the bathrooms to check the water proofing: As we were leaving, he was using a big brush to brush liquid cement onto the ktichen floor - that's the water proofing for the kitchen? Love the F1 Pace Jaskel - GO GO GO!!! Keep posting pix also! I look forward to seeing them, esp since I don't get to drop by so often in the day. Oh, and do remind the workers to help themselves to the water, H20 isotonic drinks and biscuits we bought for them. I told the guy we saw on Sat about it - he seemed very paiseh to take. Hahaha...helmet.....time to go home liao....citygas came ard 5pm...quite late that day. Water proofing is ok...no leakage to your neighbour below..... Yap...either they use brush or roller to do water proofing. Our practice is doing it before going home cos next day it will dry up, so no time is wasted while waiting it to dry if doing it during the day. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted October 4, 2010 F1 speed is fine...but not at the expense of QC Don't worry about QCing....better to hear from the other forumers that I had completed their reno on the end product rather than I saying how good it is...cos I'm still the contractor...owners feedback is 1000 times better than I said it myself. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
titanax 0 Report post Posted October 5, 2010 (edited) Don't worry about QCing....better to hear from the other forumers that I had completed their reno on the end product rather than I saying how good it is...cos I'm still the contractor...owners feedback is 1000 times better than I said it myself. ya! so far so good, you can be the new Mark Webber but having said that sub-con are also human so there will always be error, what is important is the response & how the issue is rectified. so far its far from good...it has been excellent...keep it up my friend! also not forgetting the VA you have included along the way...that can only show at the end...good things must reveal at finale Edited October 5, 2010 by titanax Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted October 5, 2010 Wet work continues........ M.B flooring........ C.B. Kitchen....... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted October 5, 2010 Kitchen.......... Motar Base Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lachesis 0 Report post Posted October 6, 2010 Ooooh.. step down in common bath and MBR bath done.. Kitchen and common bath tiles are looking nice. Must say thanks to Jaskel for explaining Tiling 101 to us. Heh heh. I spy a mortar base - the beginnings of my kitchen cabinets, where the hubby and I are going to cook up a storm. Awesome! Going to see laminate samples this weekend.. after that it's GO GO GO for carpentry! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
titanax 0 Report post Posted October 6, 2010 (edited) we chose 30x60, but the end product was 60x60..pleasant surprise...I LIKE!!!! also learnt about the illusion power of grouting Edited October 6, 2010 by titanax Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted October 6, 2010 we chose 30x60, but the end product was 60x60..pleasant surprise...I LIKE!!!! also learnt about the illusion power of grouting Learnt it from David "Tilerfield" Share this post Link to post Share on other sites