gals_mama 0 Report post Posted June 23, 2010 oops! is it because of the "poison" I have been feeding? 'Ah...' 'Ah...' 'staggering and falling down'. Wo zhong du ler. i also want to get my hands on them Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted June 23, 2010 Went for our 1st appointment today. Now begins the loooong, looooooong, looooooooooong eight week wait till the 2nd appointment. Plus, we had agreed to give the sellers a 3-week extension to allow them to get their new place ready. It may not sound like a big deal, but to us it means - 3 weeks more of being 'homeless' and living out of boxes - 3 weeks extra for paid storage - 3 weeks 'delay' in starting reno. But since it was a condition in the sale, we said ok. Then today, they asked for 3 more days. Sounds trivial, but it means 3 more days of delay! Our agent had already forewarned their agent that the timing has to be arranged 'swee swee'. Plus, their agent cited 'stress' as one of the reasons for asking for the extension. Seriously??? What if 3 days becomes 4 days, becomes 5 days... grrr... Anyway, to cut a long story short, we'll get our keys in the 2nd week of Sep. Also went to the HDB Area office to sort out the issue of season parking. Boy it is complicated!! First we have to transfer our existing season parking to another carpark. The carpark of choice is a 'controlled' carpark (quota filled by residents), and there were no more lots of Jul or Aug. We have to take the next nearest carpark for those 2 months, then try our luck for Sep. And because it's such a complicated process, we can't do it online (yeah, you can transfer your season parking via the HDB website using your Singpass, so convenient!), which means two more trips to the Area Office. Luckily the lady who served us at the Area Office was very patient and nice, and even drew us a timeline. Lol. So, in the meantime, it's back to the hunt for furniture, sinks, sanitary ware, etc... Counting down the days till Sep... 8 weeks will pass soon. My buyer also gave me 45 days extension but still not enough. Thanks for the season parking tip, i didnt know that. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 (edited) you my kitchen goddess! wah, u be careful of the phrase hor, later ur wifey pull ur ear and come chasing me ah! haha, found good offers then i share lor, since i also benefited from the offer. the bigger poison comes from nguandi, he started talking abt the professional knives and i also zhong du ler. wasn't even thinking of getting german or jap knives until he started poisoning me. 'Ah...' 'Ah...' 'staggering and falling down'. Wo zhong du ler. i also want to get my hands on them haha then i also zhong du shen wang liao. cos of nguandi! i expect u shd be going this weekend bah! Edited June 24, 2010 by samgalz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
titanax 0 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 (edited) wah, u be careful of the phrase hor, later ur wifey pull ur ear and come chasing me ah! haha, found good offers then i share lor, since i also benefited from the offer. no worries, she's cool...else she won't be my missus mah lachesis likes to cook & bake & i want her to have a kitchen she can be proud of...its the least i can do coz she takes such good care of me (woot..score points ) the bigger poison comes from nguandi, he started talking abt the professional knives and i also zhong du ler. wasn't even thinking of getting german or jap knives until he started poisoning me. yes it was that thread that got me started: I started reviewing from Henckels International (Chiense steel) to the TWIN series. GLOBAL & MAC were close contenders but lachesis was concerned with the Global's tang & there were reviews that they tend to get a bit uncomfrotable after extended use. So the final close contenders were the TWIN CERMAX & WUSTHOF CLASSIC IKON Regrettably both agents do not carry these series in Singapore & even with the GSS sale, the Henchkel Pro S & Four Star II did not appear to be great buys for the price. HENKELS TWIN CERMAX: WUSTHOF CLASSIC IKON: The black beechwood knife-block exudes pure sexiness I love the way how in both series tang bends, & they both have logos stamped at the handle butt. And of course the all time winner that is out of my league & budget now SHUN ELITE Edited June 24, 2010 by titanax Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 (edited) the twin series that I bought has also the sex.y beechwood, that was the one that finally bought me over. cos was initially looking at the one man henckel $88 set and also they hv some box set that has either 2 pcs or 3 pcs set which is very cheap too. but i jus dun like the plasticky feel of the handle. the twin series one caught me right there with the sleek handle. tried my hand at the Shun jap knives too and loved it. but way to over my budget. so can only until they hv a good promo like Henckel Edited June 24, 2010 by samgalz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jeffcraze 0 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 All the talks abt knives is making me I wanna go shopping this weekend! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 All the talks abt knives is making me I wanna go shopping this weekend! so another one zhong du ler...welcome to the poison club.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
titanax 0 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 so another one zhong du ler...welcome to the poison club.... haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 haha if u like jap knives, do go to this site which nguandi recommended. the knives are like x100 http://www.japanesechefsknife.com Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 fellow knives experts, any review on Kai knives?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
titanax 0 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 fellow knives experts, any review on Kai knives?? if you're refering to KAI USA, then they are the makers of SHUN knives, which is what you might be referring to. i'd love to hear from fellow forumers who are using these as well Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 if you're refering to KAI USA, then they are the makers of SHUN knives, which is what you might be referring to. i'd love to hear from fellow forumers who are using these as well yup, tats the one i am referring to. contemplating to get this but so far haven seen any review on this? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 (edited) yup, tats the one i am referring to. contemplating to get this but so far haven seen any review on this? i saw those too and was thinking of getting that until nguandi's poison on german knives. KAI ones are the lower range of SHUN. looks good too but same thing, after u hold the shun knives, the KAI knives jus dun feel rite with the plasticky feeling. IMHO. u will hv a "ahhhh" feeling, that how i felt when i held SHUN knives. better check with nguandi, he's the knives expert in RT now. Edited June 24, 2010 by samgalz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lachesis 0 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 KAI ones are the lower range of SHUN. looks good too but same thing, after u hold the shun knives, the KAI knives jus dun feel rite with the plasticky feeling. IMHO. u will hv a "ahhhh" feeling, that how i felt when i held SHUN knives. Hey, this 'Aaaaaaahhh' feeling seems to be contagious! But you're right. Think the most important is the feel. Eh, titanax zhong du BIG time okay. He was still surfing the net on the knives past midnight last night... my eyes all droopy already lachesis likes to cook & bake & i want her to have a kitchen she can be proud of...its the least i can do coz she takes such good care of me (woot..score points ) Yup, points scored. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lachesis 0 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 8 weeks will pass soon. My buyer also gave me 45 days extension but still not enough. Thanks for the season parking tip, i didnt know that. Hee hee, yeah, I know - before you know it, the 8 weeks will have passed, then the 3 weeks extension. Waiting is just something most of us aren't very good at! Oh, what happened in your case - the extension wasn't enough? Hope it turned out okay! No prob on the season parking thingy. Was quite amused and amazed that it's so simple yet so complicated. Will be cursing and swearing during Jul and Aug when we have to park at the next carpark and walk back (cross one street, then cut across a few blocks), esp when its raining. Nevermind, the extra exercise will do us good. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites