reuben82

Our Dream House @ Jurong West

wait! wait! wait!!!

:fire::fire::fire: -> Angteko :horse:

aaahhhhhh...shiok! ;)

Y!?Y!?Y I always kanna all the shooting?? Alot bullet hole liao. :curse:

lol...here come all the shooting!!! :P

Sigh. It's boring to wait for IDs to respond. Sometimes, they are way too slow.......

Anyway, just realized that my HDB first inspection had passed! OMG! I didn't have the chance to talk to the TO to check if the toilet is leaking or not. Sigh. Now need to call them who is the TO in charge and if he can recall anything.

If they respond fast hor, means they dont have biz, that means not good also. haha

At least u knew when is your inspection date, I dont even know they had done it or not, even after my 2nd appt. haha

dun think he will rmb...cos they simply bo chap...for the house we sold, hubby say the TO jus went into the house anyhow look look see see then go liao.

I am the lucky one! The TO haven't go to do the inspect as the house owner is busy! hahahaha.....

I did inform him on the "suspected" leakage. He will take note on it for me! Actually, I found out he is super responsible as I called HDB yesterday, happened that he was not around. So I left my phone number to him and early morning today he called me back! Thumbs up for HDB service! lol.....

He did inform me that my house is pre-fab. The only wall that I can hacked off is the kitchen side (to widen the kitchen entrance) yet need to get the QC to do the checking etc. Sigh. No hope to do open concept toilet as per El Gor suggested! lol.

OK. Here come the 2nd quotation from Jeremy from Defong! Super fast respond. lol

DefongJeremy160410_Page_1.jpg

DefongJeremy160410_Page_2.jpg

DefongJeremy160410_Page_3.jpg

DefongJeremy160410_Page_4.jpg

DefongJeremy160410_Page_5.jpg

Anyone got experience reno work with Defong before? Good? Their pricing seems so much cheaper! hahahaha...too bad he didn't do the floorplan for me. Will talk to him later see if can arrange a discussion with him tomorrow night!

OK. Here come the 2nd quotation from Jeremy from Defong! Super fast respond. lol

Anyone got experience reno work with Defong before? Good? Their pricing seems so much cheaper! hahahaha...too bad he didn't do the floorplan for me. Will talk to him later see if can arrange a discussion with him tomorrow night!

probably you can ask this forumer who has engaged them.

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...=25259&st=0

some charges like install WC is high, around $80. Some shops where u get the WC can install for you. Labour costs for plumbing works are so high one?

Also, doors for bedroom seems expensive also.

But aluminium windows are cheap, same price as i get direct from window supplier. :)

other works like tiling, i didnt do much so cannot comment, :)

give and take a bit, i think price wise is pretty ok.

I know i am being anal, but as my motto goes, i am apacadl. :D

No electrical rewiring charge? so you have to separately have one?

The full height carboards are 210psfr and kitchen cabinets at 95psfr. Maybe you would want to check the laminates and the finishing and materials inside also.

The solid top is at 65 psfr, so most likely u will be getting the most basic standard type.

Matex is the matted plain paint. Better upgrade to better paints like wash and wear and such.

dun worry Zelly zelly...i think with the experiences and advises reuben gonna garner over here, he will eventually know what to do and counter the ID/contractor...:good:

when in doubt, just ask lor! :yamseng:

probably you can ask this forumer who has engaged them.

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...=25259&st=0

Thank you! Will go ask him/her on this.

Shower kerb should be FOC

The paint they use is not a good one. Should ope for Nippon or Dulux one. Nvr heard of matex though ..

Thank you for the advice! Shower kerb FOC. Good! Yeah, the paint brand i never hear before. Definitely need to change that.

I know i am being anal, but as my motto goes, i am apacadl. :D

No electrical rewiring charge? so you have to separately have one?

The full height carboards are 210psfr and kitchen cabinets at 95psfr. Maybe you would want to check the laminates and the finishing and materials inside also.

The solid top is at 65 psfr, so most likely u will be getting the most basic standard type.

Matex is the matted plain paint. Better upgrade to better paints like wash and wear and such.

I did ask for electrical rewiring. I think he forget to quote me. The cabinets price is too cheap? I haven't make the comparison. Maybe need to ask more when come into details with him later.

Did notice the solid top pricing. I think I will take everyone advice either go for granite or the LG SGD100 psft type. lol....

And for the paint, 100% going for either dulux or nippon!

dun worry Zelly zelly...i think with the experiences and advises reuben gonna garner over here, he will eventually know what to do and counter the ID/contractor...:good:

when in doubt, just ask lor! :yamseng:

This is the main point. Post quotation, gather advises, :fire: :fire: :fire: :fire: back the ID! hahahaha....Good thing about RT! :)

And hopefully, other newbies (like me) can have some reference on the Quotation as I didn't see much people posting quotation here. Mostly starting their blog after decided which ID to go for etc. I am way too kiasu.....lol..

So far for all the contractors/IDs i contacted, they told me beforehand that they won't quote for electrical work until they do site check. this is becos it's hard to decide the wiring, relocation of existing pointsetc at this point of time, and they don't want to anyhow quote.

Maybe you wanna ask your ID if that's the case :) another way is to ask them the unit price for each type of work (e.g. how much to relocate one tv point etc).

So far for all the contractors/IDs i contacted, they told me beforehand that they won't quote for electrical work until they do site check. this is becos it's hard to decide the wiring, relocation of existing pointsetc at this point of time, and they don't want to anyhow quote.

Maybe you wanna ask your ID if that's the case :) another way is to ask them the unit price for each type of work (e.g. how much to relocate one tv point etc).

If you already show the floor plan and choose to change all the wiring,

ussually contractor/ID can quote the default HDB standard.

I am sure the contractor/Id has a detail price list too.

You can ask about this detail price, because most of the reno will need to add some new "point" here and there. :)

Edited by Clementi_PR

Cant said that respond fast means no biz. maybe they are more interested compared to others lol.

This is really a super low quotation compared to what i used to have and the last one which you posted. the price stated is way too big diff. its better that you ask to view showflat if able. it will help alot. and also do ask for floop plan. once you are comfortable with them, remember to sign on the floor-plan too. it is very important.

solid surface $65 ok ok but have to check the range they are giving.

Paint you are right to change to a better paint.

cabinet price i feel ok but apple to apple you have to see for yourself.

kitchen cabinet is the real cheap one. the price show that its better you check what they are using

we dont post quotes up because like not very nice if the owner of the company knows that we show their price to the world or rather to other companies

you will be able to get the help you need from all the old timers lol. its about time we who gain from RT return a favor. Enjoy your renovation.

Some of the contractors Do, infact, i told all contractors to quote and said if they are not able to, quote to the unit price. Need to do your home work after to calculate the overall. Give and take 1 or 2 hundreds lah. But do note that most wiring points and installation are charged separately.

Cant said that respond fast means no biz. maybe they are more interested compared to others lol.

This is really a super low quotation compared to what i used to have and the last one which you posted. the price stated is way too big diff. its better that you ask to view showflat if able. it will help alot. and also do ask for floop plan. once you are comfortable with them, remember to sign on the floor-plan too. it is very important.

solid surface $65 ok ok but have to check the range they are giving.

Paint you are right to change to a better paint.

cabinet price i feel ok but apple to apple you have to see for yourself.

kitchen cabinet is the real cheap one. the price show that its better you check what they are using

we dont post quotes up because like not very nice if the owner of the company knows that we show their price to the world or rather to other companies

you will be able to get the help you need from all the old timers lol. its about time we who gain from RT return a favor. Enjoy your renovation.

The carboards are not exactly cheap or expensive. For example, you need to know if they are giving you pvc finish inside or others, the laminate used is of what thickness. (impt if u are going for glossy 1 tone colors). But if you got money go for fomica! :notti:

Kitchen cabinet can range around tat price as they are 1/2 height calculation bah.

Usually we dun post the quotes but email each other.. :P

Reuben, u got to compare apple to apple. Cant just look at the total $. :paint:

What defong given u are so much lesser than the prev ID.

If I rem correctly, this one only give u simple cornices whereas the prev one do false ceiling for whole house.

And I think cornices are outdated now?? :dunno:

Another thing is they didnt quote u MBR wardrobe, thats y cheaper also. ;)

In terms of carpentry, it is better for u to compare per sqft basis. So u can know which one cheaper. Of coz include those solid top as well.

Then u look at their layout and design to see which one u like best.

Get the one that u like, and proposed to the cheapest or the most comfortable ID for their quote.