reuben82

Our Dream House @ Jurong West

So many replies......thank you for the overwhelming responds...hahahaha...let me reply one by one

Dakota-Round-Basin.jpg

Thank you ossify. I think I will try to look one like this!

How about moving your fridge to the place beside ur sink where u are putting your oven now and have the storage and oven on the left wall, then u can extend your break fast table.

Can't move to that side because that side got BIG FAT HDB piping....hahahaha...

Maybe you could change the colour of the walls sightly to match with the tv console more... seems a bit off kilter?

Eh, sorry...bit blurr here....mind to be more specific?

IMHO.....................lol...

1. TV console side looks nice. The off-balance console is good, cause it actually balance the whole wall. If u have it fully extended or move TV to the centre of the console, thus it will look small and cramp.............:)

2. BUT if u take into account the KEF speakers, then it might spoil the look of what ur ID intended to do. If u are ceiling mount the front speakers, it might be right smack in the middle of the "black mirror" on the right. And ur centre speaker will be in the centre of the TV..........remember to let ur ID know about the speakers placement. :). Its also because u are using those ceiling PLC lights. Give the ID the pics and he will include it in the 3D...:)

3. The TV console seems to have sliding doors. Take note most remote control required unblock access, so u must take care of this as u cannot open up everything with a sliding door......unless u get IR transceivers...:)

4. A bit confuse on ur toilet design. U can move the toilet bowl position meh?.....the first pic has it on the right of the window and the second pic has it on the left?

5. IMHO....consider sacrificing ur breakfast table....more space is better........but then u cannot buy lith's lights liao....:(.....then maybe u can have the fridge positioned with its doors facing the hob/hood, easier to move things "from the freezer to the oven to the counter top" (ppl old enuff to know the Corning catch phrase will remember this...like ME)

1) Thank you very much!!!

2) Actually, already pass my ID everything on the KEF speakers stuff....she got something in her mind but haven't incorporate yet inside her 3D. So, I'm still waiting what's her updated living 3D with my KEF speakers set. And yea, wrote her a super detail email with all the photos, dimensions included. I think she know what to do just that don't have the time to prepare the new 3D revision when I visited her.

3) The TV console is either having sliding doors or flip up door. Yeah, she did ask me about all my gaming console wireless control. Told her I need it to be UNBLOCK! hahaha...then she asked me very specific question...which I can't really answer...."Just need it to be unblock at the front? or there is a specific unblock diameter around your gaming consoles??"....man, anyone know how to answer this?

4) Nolar. There are 2 toilets...1 MBR toilet 1 common toilet!

5) But I love the breakfast counter top leh.....sob sob....

wow reuben, great 3Ds! :D i aso find the kitchen a little congested...but hubby say very nice...hahaha

ur breakfast counter very squeezy leh, if u really want it mabe can change place with the fridge and do a L-shape along the wall? but might make it look more complicated too :unsure:

Hmm..........Actually quite good idea. Will ask her on the next meetup! Thank you samgirl!

Nice 3D~! Saw the 3D. Mean that you got no storeroom loh. I still purposely to built a storeroom. Hahaha...

Got storeroom. Put it inside the Bedroom 3 area. :)

Since there are so many comments on the kitchen, let me show you the first very early design of the kitchen with a normal fridge.

hweeboon9.jpg

Looks better right?

The problem right now is the fridge is those 2-sided doors fridge which ID need to cater space for those. This is the headache part! Maybe we need to call them and change the fridge if we want to have a nice looking breakfast top. lol...

Since there are so many comments on the kitchen, let me show you the first very early design of the kitchen with a normal fridge.

Looks better right?

The problem right now is the fridge is those 2-sided doors fridge which ID need to cater space for those. This is the headache part! Maybe we need to call them and change the fridge if we want to have a nice looking breakfast top. lol...

Hi rueben, nice look - it does makes your kitchen less cluttered. How breezy is your kitchen? Is it well ventilated? Just curious if you are going to grab breakfast in your kitchen, & its not very airy, you'll be soaking in your workshirt before you even leave your door ;) I presume on weekends if you are having breakfast at home, then it would be a more relaxed one either in the dining room / living room right?

Your gaming consoles (Xbox360 and PS3) do not need unblock front. Its the AV receivers, setup box etc that need it. Dats y when u have those consoles in closed-up cabinets, be careful do not press the controllers buttons or else it will be power on and u will never realized it..................:)

The hole is where the IR receiver is (u can normally tell by a little black rectangle on the front panel of the device. So sometimes, they will open up a little hole (for laminated doors) or unsprayed hole (for those coloured glass doors) to allow the remote to control. Maybe that is what they meant.

can u hack the kitchen wall away and have a open concept, then bfast top can be there. Better eating bfast facing living/dining area then washing machine...:)

lol...I remember my first reno on my HDB many many years ago. The in-thing then was to have a concealed bfast top in the kitchen.........:)...

Edited by wcseow

@Reuben... first things first... kudos of being a flat owner in SG!! Both you and wifey PR... Malaysians? I have read your reno journey and I must take my hat off to you for diligently updating it.

When I got my condo and reno... I registered in RT but somehow, my registration could not be validated... thus, my reno journey remained in photos only, complete with headaches and yipees!! (former more)... maybe I should start my reno T-blog (post reno) :)

If I may, let me start with your kitchen re my 2 cents :

It is easy for you to design everything from ground up, get the biggest fridge that you can afford (eventhough you do not need the space NOW). If you like the 2 doors variant... u need to leave adequate space on both sides so that the doors can be fully (or max.. 3/4 open). I would ditch the BF top if I were you... it's a nice thing to have (notice many modern Singaporean couples love it [together with this WIW thingy]).... more of a talking point. See how many who did it ACTUALLY sat there for BF/supper. Just have your BF at your dining table and free the space for your kitchen. But then again, your kitchen is big.... why not :) It's like many love to have a balcony... get nice furnitures... to have tea (like ang moh lah)... but once live in .... never open the sliding door ever..... warm and humid... get the drift?

Has your wife done any motion study in the kitchen? ie like she is ACTUALLY cooking a meal... take food from fridge, dump it on the kitchen top, take knife/chopping board... take plate... take pot... switch this on, switch that on... chop the veges... back to fridge for this and that... open the tong sampah... throw the onion skins... put the pan on the stove... start the fire... get the oil, on your hob....dump in the vege.... aiyah.... need to add in kicap.... need to take plate to put in the cooked vege... go over to the rice cooker.... see if rice is cooked.... go on and on... until.... "honey, Im home..." This will tell you ROUGHLY where you need to keep what... where.... and design your shelvings accordingly... the height of the shelves... etc

I said, your wife needs to do this as I presume she will be the MASTER of the kitchen.... let a guy do this and you will have TV...stereos.... low/high cabinets in all the wrong places, etc. Run through where you want to place your flat plates, deep plates, pots, small bowls, large bowls... once a while used pans... big ones, small ones.... then ensure you have enuf shelves in the kitchen cabinets. From experience, it's quite standard for the psf ID quite... they give you only 2 shelves and 3 for full height. Ask for more... so that you can adjust to save the dead space and have another shelving space. (I mis-calculated mine and now hav to get the original carpenter to redo a few shelves for me). Make sure you have enough switches at the RIGHT location for your electrical appliances. If you wanna save money... instal just one double 3-pin scoket at the location, then you can get the same thing and DIY beside it.... making it 4 plug points... saving on the price of installing a double 3-pin socket. (I will show you in my future blog). You being an engineering... this is surely SSS for you (sap-sap-sui) - very easy too as everything is on trunking, not concealed.

Get soft closing hinges/runners for ALL cabinet / drawers / etc... you will not regret it. Make sure the drawer can be pulled all the way out... something like the blum runners - you will be frustrated later that you cannot see what you have at the last 6-7 inches at the back of the drawer.

I read in earlier post whether to have the kitchen top all the way.... YES.... you can never have enough space in a kitchen!!

You going with gas or induction? Gas is much much cheaper..... and you have to ensure your current pots and pans able to be used for induction.... I have induction back in my KL condo and since gas burners are provided free in my SG condo, I leave it as it is. I have a portable induction cooker, and use it when I need to eat maggi mee.... FAST!! from opening of maggi mee packet to cooked maggin mee in mouth - less than 2-minutes!! .... REALLY! Using gas..... aiyoh.........

... until next time... :)

Edited by d'lotus

all so nice! I like ur bedroom. My aunt has the same layout like urs but the other way. The space between ur sink and breakfast table got enough space?

Edited by gals_mama

@Reuben... first things first... kudos of being a flat owner in SG!! Both you and wifey PR... Malaysians? I have read your reno journey and I must take my hat off to you for diligently updating it.

When I got my condo and reno... I registered in RT but somehow, my registration could not be validated... thus, my reno journey remained in photos only, complete with headaches and yipees!! (former more)... maybe I should start my reno T-blog (post reno) :)

It is easy for you to design everything from ground up, get the biggest fridge that you can afford (eventhough you do not need the space NOW). If you like the 2 doors variant... u need to leave adequate space on both sides so that the doors can be fully (or max.. 3/4 open). I would ditch the BF top if I were you... it's a nice thing to have (notice many modern Singaporean couples love it [together with this WIW thingy]).... more of a talking point. See how many who did it ACTUALLY sat there for BF/supper. Just have your BF at your dining table and free the space for your kitchen. But then again, your kitchen is big.... why not :) It's like many love to have a balcony... get nice furnitures... to have tea (like ang moh lah)... but once live in .... never open the sliding door ever..... warm and humid... get the drift?

Has your wife done any motion study in the kitchen? ie like she is ACTUALLY cooking a meal... take food from fridge, dump it on the kitchen top, take knife/chopping board... take plate... take pot... switch this on, switch that on... chop the veges... back to fridge for this and that... open the tong sampah... throw the onion skins... put the pan on the stove... start the fire... get the oil, on your hob....dump in the vege.... aiyah.... need to add in kicap.... need to take plate to put in the cooked vege... go over to the rice cooker.... see if rice is cooked.... go on and on... until.... "honey, Im home..." This will tell you ROUGHLY where you need to keep what... where.... and design your shelvings accordingly... the height of the shelves... etc

I said, your wife needs to do this as I presume she will be the MASTER of the kitchen.... let a guy do this and you will have TV...stereos.... low/high cabinets in all the wrong places, etc. Run through where you want to place your flat plates, deep plates, pots, small bowls, large bowls... once a while used pans... big ones, small ones.... then ensure you have enuf shelves in the kitchen cabinets. From experience, it's quite standard for the psf ID quite... they give you only 2 shelves and 3 for full height. Ask for more... so that you can adjust to save the dead space and have another shelving space. (I mis-calculated mine and now hav to get the original carpenter to redo a few shelves for me). Make sure you have enough switches at the RIGHT location for your electrical appliances. If you wanna save money... instal just one double 3-pin scoket at the location, then you can get the same thing and DIY beside it.... making it 4 plug points... saving on the price of installing a double 3-pin socket. (I will show you in my future blog). You being an engineering... this is surely SSS for you (sap-sap-sui) - very easy too as everything is on trunking, not concealed.

Get soft closing hinges/runners for ALL cabinet / drawers / etc... you will not regret it. Make sure the drawer can be pulled all the way out... something like the blum runners - you will be frustrated later that you cannot see what you have at the last 6-7 inches at the back of the drawer.

I read in earlier post whether to have the kitchen top all the way.... YES.... you can never have enough space in a kitchen!!

You going with gas or induction? Gas is much much cheaper..... and you have to ensure your current pots and pans able to be used for induction.... I have induction back in my KL condo and since gas burners are provided free in my SG condo, I leave it as it is. I have a portable induction cooker, and use it when I need to eat maggi mee.... FAST!! from opening of maggi mee packet to cooked maggin mee in mouth - less than 2-minutes!! .... REALLY! Using gas..... aiyoh.........

VERY WELL SAID!

Haha... this is the product of going through 4 renovations... 2 link houses and 2 condos :)

true true, i've gravitated towards new homes so no chance to redo kitchens... would love to do an overhaul one day!

hb6.jpg

hb8.jpg

hb10.jpg

hey there, congrats on your new dwelling ya! very very squarish and big!

my first appt was in late may, so I suppose our reno journey would be in tandem ya.

will be stalking your tblog..... ha

suppose you still have time to react to the house design right? strictly IMHO at 2 cents view too...

i do feel with the rest that the breakfast table in the kitchen is slightly cramped. more over, dimension wise, your fridge alone taking 894 mm in width (nt inclusive of the allowance), thus yr breakfast table has to extend beyond the wall and creating a narrow entrance to the laundry area i.e also cramped. meaning, do laundry may pose challenges (if you're getting washer dryer, then is fine). and maybe very stuffy if i may add.

i feel violently with very gd vibes that the wall behind where yr piano placement is can be well activated for use. too wasted living it bare.

and from living room, it can't be seen, best! of course, subjected to piping and sort.

also, infer from your floor plan, i noticed that the kitchen would be greeted upon entering the house, so perspective wise, seeing the fridge and partial breakfast table may not be the best visual. i will make use of the wall and hang a contemporary drawing and line up a slim long dining table near to the wall. gives your kitchen more depth too and gives it a bigger feeling i feel.

meaning living room may not need the dining area right. and since there's a piano there, i will make the right side of the living room my entertainment area with bean bags and rugs that sort

toilet wise, yea... better to look for round taps. a hard knock at the corner of the square basin sure gives you blue black definitely. trust me, i ganna before. no joke. haha.

Sorry sorry...been quite busy on my new job...hehehe....trying to reply as much as I can during my lunch hour!

Hi rueben, nice look - it does makes your kitchen less cluttered. How breezy is your kitchen? Is it well ventilated? Just curious if you are going to grab breakfast in your kitchen, & its not very airy, you'll be soaking in your workshirt before you even leave your door ;) I presume on weekends if you are having breakfast at home, then it would be a more relaxed one either in the dining room / living room right?

Well, to be honest, don't think that top will served as a breakfast top. Mostly, it will be used for other purpose like preparing dishes etc. We definitely will not sitting inside there to eat. Maybe I will stand there and eat something while "helping" my wife to cook...hehehehe

Your gaming consoles (Xbox360 and PS3) do not need unblock front. Its the AV receivers, setup box etc that need it. Dats y when u have those consoles in closed-up cabinets, be careful do not press the controllers buttons or else it will be power on and u will never realized it..................:)

The hole is where the IR receiver is (u can normally tell by a little black rectangle on the front panel of the device. So sometimes, they will open up a little hole (for laminated doors) or unsprayed hole (for those coloured glass doors) to allow the remote to control. Maybe that is what they meant.

can u hack the kitchen wall away and have a open concept, then bfast top can be there. Better eating bfast facing living/dining area then washing machine...:)

lol...I remember my first reno on my HDB many many years ago. The in-thing then was to have a concealed bfast top in the kitchen.........:)...

Firstly, to hack that idiot kitchen wall, need to go through alot of things....So, forget about it. Anyway, as I mentioned up there, after some discussion with my wife, most likely we won't put any chairs inside there. That so called "breakfast top" will be served as normal kitchen top for preparing stuff. We definitely won't sit inside there to have our meal.

Yeah....Both of us are Malaysians....:)

Well, actually, my initial planning is to have another length of bottom cabinets on the left hand side of the kitchen. Then the fridge will be located at the toilet wall (at the end of the bottom cabinets). With this design, I'm having some problems:

- Washing machine location

- Depth is quite shallow as the distance from the kitchen entrance to the left hand side wall is very near.

End up, my ID came out this idea and my wife love it so much as it is "special". At least different from others typical concept like 2 side cabinets or L-Shape cabinets. For me, my requirement is very simple. I need a lot kitchen top space to put stuff or prepare stuff. The "breakfast top" can be served for this purpose but it is quite short. Anyway, yet to find a new solution to suit both my wife and myself requirement.

Lastly, I'm having gas burners....maybe will grab 1 induction for some easy cooking....

Nice! look like hotel style

Thank you! :)

all so nice! I like ur bedroom. My aunt has the same layout like urs but the other way. The space between ur sink and breakfast table got enough space?

Yeap. More than enough. If I'm not mistaken, it is around 900mm apart.

where are the pipings? :P

Luckily, my MBR toilet dont have those straight piping! only got 2 small piping at the top. You can refer my pre-reno photos on it. The problem is the common toilet. You can see the 3D drawing as 1 straight pipe had been incorporated there as my ID told me there's no way for you to cover this. For the top part, it can be covered but we all understood that this is illegal and bla bla bla....yet to confirm...ha~~~

hey there, congrats on your new dwelling ya! very very squarish and big!

my first appt was in late may, so I suppose our reno journey would be in tandem ya.

will be stalking your tblog..... ha

suppose you still have time to react to the house design right? strictly IMHO at 2 cents view too...

i do feel with the rest that the breakfast table in the kitchen is slightly cramped. more over, dimension wise, your fridge alone taking 894 mm in width (nt inclusive of the allowance), thus yr breakfast table has to extend beyond the wall and creating a narrow entrance to the laundry area i.e also cramped. meaning, do laundry may pose challenges (if you're getting washer dryer, then is fine). and maybe very stuffy if i may add.

i feel violently with very gd vibes that the wall behind where yr piano placement is can be well activated for use. too wasted living it bare.

and from living room, it can't be seen, best! of course, subjected to piping and sort.

also, infer from your floor plan, i noticed that the kitchen would be greeted upon entering the house, so perspective wise, seeing the fridge and partial breakfast table may not be the best visual. i will make use of the wall and hang a contemporary drawing and line up a slim long dining table near to the wall. gives your kitchen more depth too and gives it a bigger feeling i feel.

meaning living room may not need the dining area right. and since there's a piano there, i will make the right side of the living room my entertainment area with bean bags and rugs that sort

toilet wise, yea... better to look for round taps. a hard knock at the corner of the square basin sure gives you blue black definitely. trust me, i ganna before. no joke. haha.

Firstly, thank you for all your valuable opinions!!! :D

For the "breakfast top" you can refer all my replies to other at the top...lol...lazy to type again...

The wall near my piano there, well, we got some special photos to be hang there....hahahaha....The photos yet to be confirmed but that location is very crucial as once you opened the main gate, you will see that wall. lol....So, I'm afraid to put my photo there later scared people off.....Ha~~

Actually, happened that previously, I forgot which ID did came out that idea for me on my dining room and I had the 3D drawing on that design as well. End up both my wife and myself don't really like it as

- The whole dining area seems like offset.......er....not sure how to describe but it seems like off balance from the center. Ha~~~anyway, this is personal preferences. Just that both of us don't really like it.

- The "cosy area" (that's what the ID mentioned), at first glance, we like it.......but after some deep thought, most of the time, we won't sit there at all! hahaha.....Firstly, the air cond is not there, there is no ceiling fan there and mostly, we will end up inside gaming room, sofa or bedroom. lol....maybe when we got children then maybe that area will be fully utilize by them...but definitely not right now.

Lastly, on the round basin. Yeah, I do agree 100% with you. Luckily I haven't bought the basin yet. Already mention to my ID changed to round type one! Save space and safer!

OK. Need some help on this.

Anyone know about the OpenNet installation? I had checked through their website and it is stating my area will only starting on December 2010.

Anyway my concern is the laying of fiber optic cable internally my house. Can it be done by my electrician or I need to ask OpenNet to do it for me first before their box installation which will be outside my house?

As far as I know, the OpenNet installation will be like 1 fiber optic cable to a box which will be installed outside of your house then from the box, there will be another fiber optic cable going inside the proper port. Therefore, I want them to help me do the internally part first to avoid any ugly trunking later. Can these be done?

OK. Need some help on this.

Anyone know about the OpenNet installation? I had checked through their website and it is stating my area will only starting on December 2010.

Anyway my concern is the laying of fiber optic cable internally my house. Can it be done by my electrician or I need to ask OpenNet to do it for me first before their box installation which will be outside my house?

As far as I know, the OpenNet installation will be like 1 fiber optic cable to a box which will be installed outside of your house then from the box, there will be another fiber optic cable going inside the proper port. Therefore, I want them to help me do the internally part first to avoid any ugly trunking later. Can these be done?

Just do a search on this favourite topic :)

In short - your electrician can do the internal trunking with a pull cable for the OpenNet ppl to pull thru the fibre optic cable in due course.